We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was a Great place to stay in Charlevoix. We got there a little early and were able to check in. Got a nice room on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the water aways away. Had a nice lunch and every half hour the bridge would open up to let the big boats through. That was neat to see. The lunch was very very good. The wait staff was nice. The hotel staff was really nice and accommodating as well. The Inn was close to all the shops and water. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, even if you don't have a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol2012_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Carol2012-06,

Thank you for your great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites on Tripadvisor. It sounds like you had a great stay and enjoyed the nearby views, restaurants, shops, and sights of Charlevoix. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    102
    52
    25
    23
See reviews for
122
205
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay. Staff was nice and room was clean. Had a great view of Lake Michigan from our room. Room could have used some updating but didn't see any dirty areas as some people have reviewed. Would stay again if in area and recommend checking out if in area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steveinmich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Steveinmich1,

Thank you for the recommendation of our hotel and your great review on Tripadvisor! I hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Traveling with my family, including children ages 9 and 6, I needed a room to sleep four and I didn't want to spend hundreds. I found a nice Groupon that offered a deep discount at this property. When I called to book, they were full. However, Jane was nice enough to offer to call me if there was a cancellation. I was in luck! I got a call from Jane and booked the last room they had left - a Jacuzzi room with a King bed and a sleeper sofa. The room is clearly designed with couples in mind (Jacuzzi access from the bathroom and the bedroom *ahem*), but we managed nicely with the free air mattress provided by the helpful front desk staff. The double glass door access to the balcony kept out any outside noise. Much of the room's interior was rather dated, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment of the stay. The hotel's location was amazing - an easy short walk to the main shopping and dining areas of Charlevoix. Don't miss Stafford's restaurant right next door. Excellent food! The heated pool is outdoors and is located adjacent to the office and breakfast area. There is also an eight-person hot tub on the third floor... turn left off the elevator to find it. Breakfast was good with two waffle makers and many choices of cereals and breakfast breads. Overall it was a very pleasant stay with the family.

Room Tip: A select few south-facing rooms on the second floor will overlook the pool and the channel / drawbri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Edward P,

Thank you for your great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you. From your review I see that you were able to enjoy a number of our amenities…. Pool, hot tub, complimentary continental breakfast, being across the street from a great restaurant, etc…. I hope that you will be able to come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. We were part of a wedding block so we got a pretty good price. The room was spacious and comfortable. Older furniture but clean. Overall, pretty nice place with good location close to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Joanna F,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. Charlevoix is a great wedding location and I am glad you were able to stay with us while you were in town. I hope that you will be able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Weathervane very much! The room that we stayed in was very nice, with lots of room and it had a patio. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the pier and lighthouse and all of the shops downtown. The employee's there are very friendly and were great from the time we pulled in to the parking lot. One of the gentlemen(Randy) was giving us advice on where to fish and gave us a map of where to go! Very friendly!! The ladies at the front desk were very nice and very helpful! Enjoyed our stay immensely! They even have a wonderful breakfast area that had cereal, waffles, fruit, muffins, and some very delicious oatmeal with trimmings! All in all..... I would love to head that way again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Traci1017,

Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in the sites of Charlevoix just walking distance from the hotel. I would also love to have you head this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a Lake Michigan Suite, which was in the three story building toward the back of the hotel site. The view of the lake is not a selling point, since it is not full frontal, and suffers as one moves from left to right (lower to higher numbers -- 1st floor is 40-50, second is 51-61 and third is 62-72).
Our room had a very small bedroom, with not terribly comfortable queen mattress, a "jack and jill" bathroom, a living room with sofa bed and kitchenette, plus small balcony/deck. The carpet in our room was new. The bathroom was a touch small, but adequate. Shower water pressure could have been better, but was OK. The sofa bed would not be good for an adult, IMHO, because it would be uncomfortable.

Downtown restaurants and shops are just across the drawbridge from the hotel, making this a short walk. The lake is a very short walk and all is within easy reach. The bridge goes up on the hour and half hour, which backs up traffic on the main road in both directions.

Simple continental breakfast is offered in a cheery space by the pool and the lobby in the morning. Cereal, some fruit and waffles are available.

Despite being busy, there was little noise in the hotel during our stay and we were located near an entrance to the larges building. Some guests smoked on their balconies, both cigarettes and cigars, and this smoke made its way to our balcony while we were there. Not sure if this is OK or not with the management.

I don't know anything about other properties in the area, but this one is an easy choice for location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear OttoSchwartz,

Thank you for your great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites on Tripadvisor. Your information regarding the downtown and lake is also very helpful for guests looking to stay in the downtown Charlevoix area. I am sorry about the smoke on the balcony. We try to keep our rooms smoke free. I am also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast and the view of the pool and bridge area from that room. I hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Charlevoix the Beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Suite room overlooked Lake Michigan and was great size. Older hotel with outdated bathrooms and showers but very clean and we'll maintained. Staff is super nice and super close to harbor and shopping and dining. Our price for a week paid in advance was a good deal. Nice pool and breakfast room,

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RELUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H, General Manager at Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear RELUSA,

Thank you for your great review of the Weathervane Terrace Inn & Suites on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the close how close we are to Lake Michigan, and the downtown shopping and dining. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Property: Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Address: 111 Pine River Ln, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1818
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Terrace Hotel Charlevoix
Weathervane Terrace Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing