We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location-Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Location-Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2006

Could park the car at Weathervane and leisurely walk over the channel bridge between Round Lake and Lake Michigan, shop the town, visit the beach, walk the pier, and enjoy some great restaurants. Standard Room was clean and fresh with fridge, microwave, ironing board, dryer, coffee--and the free breakfast was a treat with more variety than I've had in other places and a great view from the breakfast room. It's definitely on my list for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    101
    51
    25
    22
See reviews for
121
204
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2006

If you are planning a trip north, you should include a stay at the Weathervane Terrace. The location is the best in the area -- on the channel, but with a view of Lake Michigan. Easy walk to downtown and restaurants. Accomodations reflect the Northern Michigan charm...and we found the staff friendly and helpful.
Enjoy!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2005

Loved my visit. No matter what the weather this is place can't be beat. Been there 5 times this year. Wonderful friendly staff. Great upgrades - wireless Iternet, in room coffee, fantastic breakfast. Room renovations are in process - carpet, drapes, and beadspreads - and will only improve this place. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daltonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

Staying at the Weathervane was a wonderful experience, the moment we walk through the door people where greeting us, and they were very nice and respectful...we stayed in a Lake Michigan suite and it was beautiful the view of the lake and the room was spotless, I will always recommend people to stay here and i will be coming back..

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2005

We stayed at the Weathervane Terrace Inn for two nights in early September, 2005. We had a Harbor Suite on the 2nd floor, which had a balcony facing the harbor. The view was absolutely spectacular. We were right in front of the harbor drawbridge and were able to see boats coming in and going out. Fascinating! Ask for harbor view rooms, not lake view ones! You can't really see the lake from the hotel. The view was, by far, the best part about this hotel, and I honestly am not sure it would be worth it to stay in any other room. The hotel is also only a block or so from the lake, and we were able to walk down there to watch the sunset.

The room was great at first glance. The two-room suite had a kitchenette (complete with plates, glasses, and some basic utensils), a small potbelly stove, a large balcony with two chairs and a small table, a tv in the bedroom and living room, and a large jacuzzi tub. It definitely needs updating, but it seemed fine. On further inspection, though, you could tell the room was DIRTY. The bathroom in particular was really gross. It looked like they hadn't even cleaned the tub at all as there were hairs in it. I hated having to take a shower in there! The rest of the place was a bit cleaner, though I don't think they really spent much time cleaning.

If it wasn't for the view, I would give this place a "terrible". That view was so breathtaking, however. To get another similar view would have been a LOT more expensive (we paid only $80 a night).

Helpful?
3 Thank nobigdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2005

I was skeptical when I made our reservations for the Weathervane...the price just seemed to be too good to be true (with our AARP discount and an on-line coupon, it came to just $62!) But my concerns were unwarranted. What a charming hotel! We had a large one-bedroom suite with a nice bathroom and small kitchen. The furnishings were a tad dated, but the million dollar view overlooking Lake Charlevoix was "to die for"! There's a nice continental breakfast in a lovely dining room overlooking the water and the downtown location is terrific. This hotel also has an interesting history, having been built by Earl Young who also built some unusual stone houses in Charlevoix (brochures in the lobby provide directions to these homes). We loved this quirky "motor inn" style accomodation and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. BTW.....I made reservations well in advance and requested a "room with a view". We were in #32 and it had to be the best view in the house.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2005

We have stayed recently (end of July '05) in both the Michigan Room and the Jacuzzi Room. Each was comfortable, very clean, and excellently appointed, with a nice view of the lake from a large doorwall which steps out onto a small balcony. The kitchenettes were well stocked with necessary utensils, plates, cups, and glasses. The beds were very firm and provided a good night’s sleep. The location ‘can’t be beat’, as the hotel is only a minute’s walk from the drawbridge, the Beaver Island ferry, and the ‘old town’ of Charlevoix. The one negative is that the staff at the reception desk needs a remedial course at charm school: they’re brusque and impatient when they get around to waiting on you but are often tied up on the phone booking reservations or answering questions, while guests needing to check in or check out are left cooling their heels. Even so, accommodations at the hotel are clearly superior to those of its rivals in the immediate location.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
15.4 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites

Property: Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Address: 111 Pine River Ln, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1818
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Terrace Hotel Charlevoix
Weathervane Terrace Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing