We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Change”
Review of Maple Leaf Motel

Maple Leaf Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlevoix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maple Leaf Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcome Change”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Maple Leaf and were pleasantly surprised. Given the very reasonable rate, we had not expected more fluffy white bath towels than we could use and a multitude if pillows. Neat and clean only begins to describe the spotless room and bathroom, carefully groomed grounds overflowing with brilliant flowers and neatly trimmed grass. The owner was friendly and helpful but the highllight of our stay was the "Dog Hostess", Gypsy. After meeting Gypsy,upon arrival, she greeted me each time I arrived with a different toy in her mouth. Playing fetch with Gypsy on the expansive green lawn behind the motel made me miss my dogs less and put a smile ony face. I highly recommend this Motel for anyone seeking a clean, cheerful and welcoming property and a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marymoo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Markleville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed at the Maple Leaf in Charlevoix at least one night a year for the last 15 years. We have always had a great experience. It is always clean, owners are friendly, and our two dogs love the big area out back for walking. The flowers are beautiful, the room is simple, yet sufficient, and the rates are affordable.

We don't think twice when it is time to make the reservation. We just call the Maple Leaf.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We recently had a christian conference and many of the men on our week-end needed an affordable hotel to lay their head. The hotel room was extremely clean, bathroom the same. In wall heater/air conditioner and sink/vanity in the room separate from the bath - which I liked. The bed was comfy and the television has many channels. Wifi free- a huge plus! We spoke with Cindy ahead of time and reserved the room. She was extremely nice and real helpful.

We received a church rate which couldn't be beat. All in all it was perfect for what we needed, which was a place to sleep. Didn't need a pool, spa, etc. Perfect fit!

PS: The only thing I would upgrade at this hotel would be the pillows. I always bring mine from home and I forgot!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a very simple motel, but the rates are moderate for the area, the rooms are clean and the owners couldn't be nicer. It is convenient to some restaurants within walking distance and you can even walk downtown if you don't mind a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RamblinRoseNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid-Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

After finding it difficult to book two nights in the same hotel in the Charlevoix/Petoskey area during a busy tourist weekend we decided to try this motel, sight unseen, based on a few positive online reviews and the fact that pets are welcome (with some caveats).

The motel turned out to be tucked between a gas station and a restaurant at the non-scenic "burger row" south end of the city of Charlevoix, and across from the municipal airport. We passed it once, actually, trying to find it. But then after being thumped by our GPS for missing it, we turned around and spotted the sign. Ugh, I thought -- I made a mistake.

But we were pleasantly surprised by this place. First of all, it's very nicely landscaped with flowers and tasteful garden art, so it doesn't really feel like it belongs in its surroundings. (There's also a nice grassy buffer behind the motel that our dogs appreciated.)

The rooms are also very nice -- they've all been recently redone, so unlike a lot of independent motels everything is new and in in excellent repair. We were a little to find a rather spendy, fashionable comforter on the bed and matching cloth shower curtain in the bathrom; again, a step up from our expectations. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Everything was spanking clean. The TV is relatively small...but seriously, when you're in Charlevoix you're not going to be spending much time watching TV in a hotel room.

Other nice amenities for travelers include free wi-fi access and access to a nice breakfast/lunch spot (Juilleret's) right across the parking lot. Oh...and homemade cookies in the motel office. The owners are friendly and helpful.

Caveats: Pets are welcome but not allowed on the beds (considering the bedding, this makes sense) -- so if your dog can't abide by that rule you'll want to bring a crate. The rooms are small, by today's chain-motel standards.

The only thing we really disliked about the motel were the fundamentalist religious tracts placed conspicuously in the bathroom and the open Bible placed on the bedstand. We're Christian -- I'm a commissioned lay minister, actually -- but we found this pointed display rather pushy and intrusive, and we kept waiting for one of the owners to approach us and try to "close the deal," so to speak; so that anxiety detracted from our enjoyment of the motel and even kept us from being friendlier with the owners than we usually are with people with whom we lodge; we just didn't want to have that dreaded conversation.

Would we recommend this motel? If you're single or a couple, and want to spend your money sightseeing/recreating in "up north" Michigan rather than spending it on lodging -- and if you can tolerate the religious hard-sell -- the Maple Leaf is a good deal, and is convenient to downtown Charlevoix and surrounds. If you want your lodging to be part of the recreation factor of your vacation, you may prefer a chain hotel, B and B or one of the downtown/mainstreet Charlevoix lodging options.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Michigandress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.6 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
114 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Motel

Property: Maple Leaf Motel
Address: 1414 Bridge St, Charlevoix, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing