We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Riviera on Lake Michigan called Charlevoix”
Review of Pointes North Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pointes North Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“French Riviera on Lake Michigan called Charlevoix”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Charlevoix Michigan is a real nice place where Pointes North Inn invites guests with a clean loft bedroom, a balcony overlooking an harbor,
a real nice kitchen/dining area and plenty of room for sleeping. A Continental Breakfast will start your day. Indoor/outdoor pool will cool your tired body after a day of shopping in little boutiques. After a five and a half hour drive from a Chicago suburb, Jaccuzzi was a great addition to soothe your tired body. Other quaint towns are close by if you wish to drive along Lake Michigan.
Only drawback was the ringing of the alarm
every time the bridge had to go up for tall ships going by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dziunka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
33
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Perhaps I should have read the other reviews more closely but I was extremely disappointed with this place.

The location is good as well as bad. it is right next to the drawbridge in the middle of town (good) but the windows to the main rooms face out onto the main road through town with no real wall/ hedge of any sort between you and the walkway. This results in you having to have the blinds drawn most of the time and the living room being extremely noisy. This is the one room with any light or view whatsoever (the weathervane is next door and most of the rooms have balconies that are raised up with views of the town).

The main sleeping area is located at the rear of the property with a corridor and entrance hallway behind it! This makes it impossible to sleep at night as people are coming and going all the time slamming doors. In fact the bedrooms have a window to the corridor which is extremely odd, can't imagine anyone wanting to have their window blinds open with people being able to see directly into the room. If the people in the corridor outside were not bad enough the air con unit for the bedroom itself is awfully loud making it impossible to sleep anyway.

The pool area is dirty and tired, part of the pool is in the property and part outside with a small tunnel to swim through between them. The wood around this tunnel has rotted away. In addition the outside are is basically next to the road and the walkway so if you are sitting outside people are constantly walking right by you.

They also advertise the place as having jacuzzis in every suite but this is not true as they have converted some to disabled which is basically a massive dark wet room with a shower. Whatever you do, dont have any of the suites numbered from 1-4 as these are right next to the entrance door.

Really awful time here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Concernedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn Heights, MI
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at this condo through our exchange program. pleasantly surprised. Room was clean, nice kitchenette, king sized bed and gas fireplace. Nice patio, but due to winter didn't use, nice wall of windows to look out at the snow!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvisfan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was an excellent place to stay. My daughter and I planned a short trip (2 nights) to Charlevoix in the winter. We found this location to be perfect and it met our requirements. Although many of the shops are closed until spring, we were still able to visit some of our favorite spots. Our room was large, clean and very warmly furnished. This room had a mini-kitchen which was stocked with enough pots, pans and cooking utensils to make it possible to eat-in. Although we didn't take advantage of it, there was a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There is also an inside pool. The only downside to the pool was that it was only available during office hours. Once the office was closed, you didn't have access to the pool. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We found this place on the Internet, but were not actually looking to go anywhere at the time. We are so glad we did! Our check-in was smooth. This is a two-story building, but it does have an elevator. We were in room 212 - the furthest room to the back of the building on the 2nd floor. It was very quiet and was right next door to the coin-operated laundry room (a plus). Our unit was very clean and very comfortable - separate bedroom, full kitchen with adjoining living room. It had a large bathroom with a jetted tub, separate toilet room & a shower stall. There were plenty of towels for our one week stay, however there were NO towel bars or anywhere to put them once they were wet (if you wanted to use them again). Our only complaints are the lack of towel bars and no direct light over the kitchen area. There is a very large light fixture in the center of the living area, but it does not light the kitchen very well. We loved the granite counters and the very large counter with stove top and four large bar stool height chairs. This was January, so we couldn't use the lovely balcony that looked toward downtown & the bridge, but it was still nice to be able to look out from the living room. It was right next to a busy street, but for us, that was no problem. The bedroom had a king-sized bed and a nice size closet. The only problem was that there was no "dresser" space - we had to keep all but our "hang-ups" in our suitcases. There also was a nice (especially in the winter) electric fireplace. The living room also had a nice flat-screen TV with DVD player, and the bedroom also had a flat screen TV on the wall. There also was an indoor/outdoor pool that we did not have a chance to use. We had a wonderful time and would definitely look forward to staying here again! Forgot to mention - the location is fabulous!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 123Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomfiled hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

After a fun filled getaway in Traverse City for New Years, my wife and I decided to travel north to Charleviox MI. We did not have to be back at work for a week and didn't want the trip to end. We stumbled upon Pointes North Inn after driving through the city. We also drove through Petosky and decided to stay at Pointes North Inn right by the Bay.

This is not a common hotel chain, far from it. Each room (condo) are privatley owned and have a flare unique to the specific owner. Almost a full kitchen with a large living area separate from the bedroom are perfect for a family or like us...two people that want to get away but still feel at home. The bathroom has a 4 jet- two person ;) tub and separte shower. The two bedroom units have two full baths with the jetted tub in the loft bedroom. The staff keeps the rooms immaculatley clean and are very small town friendly. A pleasure to be around but nonintrusive.

We plan on bringing the the kids back up during the summer as there is much more to do being surrounded by water and 3 public beaches.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units have more ammenities with the same square footage on the lower level. The lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed over the Christmas holiday and the office staff was great about accommodating our holiday check in. Our kitchenette was a great convenience. Our biggest issue was with the ants that were in various locations throughout the room. Ants traps were in the kitchen so we were immediately aware that there had been a problem. They were most obvious on the white tile floor in the bathroom. When i spoke with the desk staff they were aware that there had been a problem and had even had the "bug guys" in the previous week. They were surprised that there was still an issue. As our visit continued the ants were found in our bed and our luggage. We even had one make it home with us. I again told the office staff when I checked out and was told that the owner would be notified. But as a customer I had expected more of a response. Quite disappointed. Ants in December and in my bed and luggage.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
445 reviews
15.3 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
648 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Inn

Property: Pointes North Inn
Address: 101 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pointes North Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pointes North Inn condominium hotel suites are conveniently located in charming Downtown Charlevoix just north of the drawbridge and just steps away from shopping, restaurants and beaches. Whether your stay is for a night, a week or more, Pointes North Inn condominium suites will make it that much sweeter. Pointes North Inn offers: One bedroom condominium suite with private screened in patio porch. Two bedroom condominium suite with loft and private balcony Jacuzzi and sofa beds in every hotel room Kitchenette or full kitchen Fireplace and wide screen TV and VCR/DVD Indoor / Outdoor heated pool Daily & weekly condominium hotel suite rentals Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pointes North Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing