We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique view and enjoyable experience”
Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Edgewater Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
West Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique view and enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights at this unique condo hotel. It's in the downtown but on Round Lake, a small like with a channel & drawbridge for boats to enter Lake Michigan on one end. The other end has a channel for boats to enter Lake Charlevoix. From our balcony we could see part of the channels, a bit of Lake Charlevoix and mostly harbor, and a bit of the city street. Some rooms have a channel view and can see the drawbridge and more of the town. Separate bedroom, pretty kitchen area with nice applicances. Nice decor.
A very relaxing & pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Choose whether you want to watch boats on the harbor (the small lake) or a view of the drawbridge &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
44
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

You can stay someplace cheaper but as they say you get what you pay for, and with the Edgewater you get a combination of great accommodations and great location. Every suite has either a deck or porch overlooking the Round Lake and the marina. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites on the 3rd floor near the drawbridge. From therre you can easily spend a day just sitting and watching the boats go by. But you're also just a short walk from downtown Charlevoix and its shops and restaurants, and from the beach on Lake Michigan. Or just go downstairs and enjoy the pool, hot tub, and sauna. The attached Edgewater Bistro restaurant isn't part of the hotel, but if you feel like eating en suite you can get food delivered to your room, or get it 'to go'. Our daughter highly recommends the sushi. We will definitely be stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The room we were in wasn't very modern, but was clean and functional. The best part about this hotel is the location and the view. The views of Round Lake and the marina are fantastic and we spent one evening just relaxing on the balcony watching the boats go by. The location is perfect for walking around town and down to the Lake Michigan beach. The staff was friendly and housekeeping did a great job every day. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landen, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We are driving home from our stay. The location could not have been better but our room was not great. It had mirrored walls, track lighting, a green couch and pink carpets. The bed was small and uncomfortable. We asked about switching but were told other guests had requested other available units. This property has so much potential but needs some attention.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gretchbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a first floor 1 bedroom condo on the harbor side. The living area was very bright and appeared to be recently updated but the bedroom and bathroom were both very dark, especially so since there is no window in the bedroom. And the bedroom did not have a lot of room to move around the king size bed. I was a little disappointed that it was not easy to actually walk out from the patio like the units on the channel side. But other than that, we enjoyed our stay and hope to have a family reunion here next year. We won't know until late this year once the owners have their picks in whether there will be enough units to accommodate our family but we hope so.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom condos are on the top floor. The first floor or supposed to be walkouts, but the harb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My family and I have been staying at the Edgewater for a number of years now and coming up to Charlevoix for the summer even longer! We were very excited to have a larger room this time, it was in fact the largest room I believe. The room was a wonderful size, VERY blue and VERY nautical, but a nice size for us all. The staff informed us at check in that the one toilet was broken and should be getting looked at the next day, I am not sure that it ever was fixed since they then called on the second day saying hopefully the third day someone would be by... Otherwise everything was fine until they also were trying to settle our room account two days before we were leaving! They called to tell us the toilet was going to get looked at and that they needed a credit card from us for the rest of the charge long before we were leaving and after they had at least half of the payment already.

To me this was just a bit tacky considering our room was not fully useable based on what was sold to us and what we got and also due to the fact that we have been staying there for years and plan(ned) to continue that trend.

Location wise it is still wonderful but with the cost and all it would also be nice if the pool was just a LITTLE heated at least...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mathewns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here while on a motorcycle trip around Lake Huron. Charlevoix is charming with wonderful little shops and restaurants. The Harbour is beautiful as is the lakeshore.

The inn is made up of privately owned condos which are rented. We were fortunate and stayed in one that was modern and well kept up. The view of the lake, marina and boat bridge was perfect. The location of the inn is smack dab in the middle of things.

The condo (2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, 2 floor) was $350/night so no cheap but for what you got, reasonable. The condo would very comfortably sleep 2 couples or 2 couples and 2 kids in a pinch (pull out sofa in living room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rucksack-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Property: The Edgewater Inn
Address: 100 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1803
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix
Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing