We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Stay”
Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Edgewater Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Leonard, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gem of a Stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I thought that we had booked a hotel stay at an Inn. Our suite was actually a small condo (privately owned with guest book) right on the river. It was beautiful - updated with granite counter tops, leather furniture, and all the amenities. A perfect location and a beautiful, relaxing stay. Top notch in every way!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    34
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
44
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 5 year wedding anniversary and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Edgewater Inn. The lodging was actually priced under others in the area and it was a one bedroom / one bath condo unit complete with kitchen and sitting area (that also had a pull out sofa couch). The condo unit we stayed in was recently renovated in 2012 and still had that brand new feel to it. The decor and finishes were top notch yet practical and inviting. The unit was extremely clean and the king bed, ultra comfy.

The location is ideal too as it is within walking distance of downtown just on the other side of the drawbridge. And although some reviewers pointed out having issues with the noise from the drawbridge, we did not experience any problems at all. It only operates between 6am - 10pm on the hour and half hour at the requests of boats that need it to raise up - so it's not really a nuisance or anything of the sort and isn't going up and down constantly. It was actually pretty awesome to sit on our balcony and watch the different boats go by.

Pool Area - There is a pool that is both indoor / outdoor and there's an indoor jacuzzi and sauna too. The actual deck of the outdoor section to the pool is a little cramped though with the lounge chairs so if you want to sunbathe, I'd recommend just heading to the nearby beach - fantastic sunsets there too.

Overall, the Edgewater Inn definitely exceeded our expectations and we'll be back next year! By the way, if you're also looking for great dining - check out Terry's in downtown Charlevoix...simply amazing - even for non-seafood eaters like my wife and I.

Room Tip: Here's a few useful tips - request a recently renovated unit; bring your own pillows if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erikwithak3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We rented this condo hotel with some of our friends. It had two bedrooms and a mini kitchen. Out
side the livingroom were frenchdoors which opened out, and you had a view of Lake Charlevoix. We saw the ferry leave every morning and watched it go thru the divided bridge. That was pretty cool, but the sunsets were breathtaking! There was a full moon, and the sun didn't set till very late. I got some fantastic pictures from that window. The downside was there was a humidifier in the livingroom which ran continuously, and it was very loud. It did have a very nice pool and spa. It was also walking distance to the main drag. Overall we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUDINGTON, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nothing I didn't like about this Inn! Our stay (sister and I) was terrific. We had a two bedroom suite on the third floor with a great view of the water. Everything was clean and neat and domestic help spruced up every morning. Staff was very accommodating in response to our requests. Their location is perfect for getting around. It was a pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TINA1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wonderful place, everything you need for a relaxing time. Very clean and neat. Staff helpful and friendly. Had a little trouble with TV and Micki (I am ashamed to say I most likely am getting the name wrong) came right away and fixed the issue, she was so sweet and didn't mind at all helping two seniors who have no tech knowledge ( still have a flip phone and have issues with that). I do not think you will be disappointed staying here. Lovely view of Round Lake. Parking is easy and very close to all the shops and restaurants. I will return next spring. Hope I do better with the TV.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
424 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our 2nd time staying here. We opted for a 2nd floor 1BR unit to get the fireplace and better view. I was shocked to see that the fireplace was not a gas unit. You get the logs from the front desk. Unfortunately, since we checked in so late, we didn't get to use it but we will on our next visit. The room has a separate bed room with a king size bed. There is a small kitchen area with refrigerator, 2 burner stove, microwave, coffee pot. The cupboards have plates, bowls, glasses, and cups plus silverware in the drawers. The bistro moved to the country club but we went there too. (Separate review). The staff here are top notch and we will be back for a 3rd visit soon. Some of the rooms are a little dated but still a great place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
190 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent the weekend in our favorite spot in Northern Michigan. Always clean and comfortable. The view is always stunning and we just love to sit on the balcony and relax! Best spot in Charlevoix for sure. We took a stroll around town and did some shopping and dined out at the local restaurants. We were surprised to hear that the Edgewater Bistro was moving to a different location. Hopefully something new moved into their spot soon! Will be back in a month or so! Cant wait!

Room Tip: Each room is different due to the fact that this is a condominium style hotel. Each unit is owned by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
433 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
15.3 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Property: The Edgewater Inn
Address: 100 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1803
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix
Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing