We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always delightful”
Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Edgewater Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always delightful”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was sorry and saddened to see some negative reviews about the Edgewater Inn. We are headed back soon again this year and am happy to say this has become an annual event for us. This time even more special because we will be celebrating 50 years of Marriage...Phew!!!

Do your homework...it's a great place and Chris and Craig are the best at answering questions and accommodating your needs. These are mostly individually owned units so each unit is decorated differently and the lay out may be different.

You will receive hotel amenities while enjoying comfortable Condo living. Daily cleaning service, comfy furnishings, A GREAT RESTAURANT and walk anywhere. Every unit has an awesome view.

As long as God allows we will continue to make this part of our annual vacation travel. Perfection!!!

Room Tip: Read the reviews and 'communicate' questions to those who know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsA48307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
44
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I am FURIOUS as we had family traveling in from over 10 hours away, we called to get them a room and got one right away for that night. UNFORTUNATELY they ended up calling us back telling us they had to cancel the room due to pipes breaking. AS much as I understand they were NOT AT ALL willing to help, or compensate us in any way! THEY WERE NOT WILLING TO EVEN APOLIGIZE!!! I asked if there was anything they could do, swap out rooms, ect.. and they flat out told me no!!! AND NO OTHER HOTELS IN THE AREA HAVE VACNCY!!!!! AT LEAST APOLIGIZE AND HELP US FIND SOMETHING!! WILL NEVER RECOMEND ANYONE TO DEAL WITH THIS HOTEL, I WILL NEVER DEAL WITH THE MANAGER AGAIN! WORST THING THAT COULD OF EVER HAPPENED!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proudmommyof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Each unit is individually owned. The unit we were in was good sized. Ours had new carpet, sofa and chair but needed to have the bathroom and kitchenette area redone (think the 70's). The kitchenette really could not be used to cook dinner as there was only a 2-burner "cook top" and no oven. We did not see others to compare. Housekeeping was not consistent as carpets were not vacuumed daily. When we showed the head of housekeeping the brown liquid left in our tea kettle, she did not seem to care. Front desk staff did not know the area nor when the restaurant on site (now managed by the Weathervane folk from across the street) might be open or even when. We also had the unfortunate phone call telling us we were being moved, the day before we were departing, due to another angry guest (we were told we were not the problem). When we were not reacting positively to the surprise move, we were told never mind. We hope our experience was not typical as we do have friends who have stayed previously and spoke highly. As I travel a lot, we do understand these things happen.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I thought that we had booked a hotel stay at an Inn. Our suite was actually a small condo (privately owned with guest book) right on the river. It was beautiful - updated with granite counter tops, leather furniture, and all the amenities. A perfect location and a beautiful, relaxing stay. Top notch in every way!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 5 year wedding anniversary and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Edgewater Inn. The lodging was actually priced under others in the area and it was a one bedroom / one bath condo unit complete with kitchen and sitting area (that also had a pull out sofa couch). The condo unit we stayed in was recently renovated in 2012 and still had that brand new feel to it. The decor and finishes were top notch yet practical and inviting. The unit was extremely clean and the king bed, ultra comfy.

The location is ideal too as it is within walking distance of downtown just on the other side of the drawbridge. And although some reviewers pointed out having issues with the noise from the drawbridge, we did not experience any problems at all. It only operates between 6am - 10pm on the hour and half hour at the requests of boats that need it to raise up - so it's not really a nuisance or anything of the sort and isn't going up and down constantly. It was actually pretty awesome to sit on our balcony and watch the different boats go by.

Pool Area - There is a pool that is both indoor / outdoor and there's an indoor jacuzzi and sauna too. The actual deck of the outdoor section to the pool is a little cramped though with the lounge chairs so if you want to sunbathe, I'd recommend just heading to the nearby beach - fantastic sunsets there too.

Overall, the Edgewater Inn definitely exceeded our expectations and we'll be back next year! By the way, if you're also looking for great dining - check out Terry's in downtown Charlevoix...simply amazing - even for non-seafood eaters like my wife and I.

Room Tip: Here's a few useful tips - request a recently renovated unit; bring your own pillows if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erikwithak3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We rented this condo hotel with some of our friends. It had two bedrooms and a mini kitchen. Out
side the livingroom were frenchdoors which opened out, and you had a view of Lake Charlevoix. We saw the ferry leave every morning and watched it go thru the divided bridge. That was pretty cool, but the sunsets were breathtaking! There was a full moon, and the sun didn't set till very late. I got some fantastic pictures from that window. The downside was there was a humidifier in the livingroom which ran continuously, and it was very loud. It did have a very nice pool and spa. It was also walking distance to the main drag. Overall we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUDINGTON, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nothing I didn't like about this Inn! Our stay (sister and I) was terrific. We had a two bedroom suite on the third floor with a great view of the water. Everything was clean and neat and domestic help spruced up every morning. Staff was very accommodating in response to our requests. Their location is perfect for getting around. It was a pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TINA1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
433 reviews
15.3 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
623 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Property: The Edgewater Inn
Address: 100 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1803
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix
Edgewater Hotel Charlevoix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing