We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we'd hoped for.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giuseppe's Italian Grille - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giuseppe's Italian Grille
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not what we'd hoped for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Sevice was lacking, it appeared we won't the only ones with issues. For being an Italian Grille, the Lasagne was not what we expected in either portion or taste. Never got a refill on water after asking for one. Pizza looked good, if we go back we'd probably try that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KibbleGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Not sure why I haven't written this review sooner. Living in Charlevoix, I have eaten here many times. I'll be the first to admit that the service is not always stellar. Charlevoix is a tourist town and during the Summer it is extremely busy. Good, reliable help is NOT always easy to find. Visit during Venetian, over the 4th, etc. and it is understandable to expect minor delays. The town is overpopulated at that point and pushed to the maximum on all counts.

Having said that, Guiseppe's has always been a regular stop for food and I have never had a bad meal. Fresh and hot. The "build your own" pasta meal is particularly appealing if you are into pasta. You can chose from a wide variety of pastas, sauces, meat, seafood, etc. The burgers are also excellent and freshly made. Try the Swiss mushroom version.

I've only sat in the "dining room" area once when family was in town and it seemed a bit too crowded and a bit noisy. Since I typically eat at the bar anyway, I have not been back to the dining room. The bar is comfortable although a bit dark. A few additional lights would help. If "happy hours" are your thing stop in for the daily offering of afternoon drink specials and hot munchies. The times change a bit based on the season so call ahead.

All in all, a good place to stop and get good quality food. Additionally, since it is outside of downtown, it is much less hectic in the general area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebel-Miles-Photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Long hike, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Went with the TA review of a free birthday dinner, we were slipped at the City Marina. It was a bit of a hike, not helped by a chilly damp evening. FREE had turned into 50% off, wine selection was OK, although they were out of my first selection. Meals were reasonable sizes, marinara sauce and pesto pizza being the standouts. Otherwise, unremarkable food, tainted by below average service, in a not so busy time. Moderate prices kept this review from going lower. We will probably not be making a return visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GalleySlave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better to go hungry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Vies for 2nd or 3d worst Italian restaurant I have ever eaten at.
Mediocre service upstages the food by far.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank whophd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
313 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“It is all about quantity not quality!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The prices are very good and you receive a ton of food. You can build your own pasta- noodle, meat, sauce etc which is fun and the service is quick. There is a full bar. The food though is not bad just bland.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giuseppe's Italian Grille also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing