We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Real Deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Judy's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

Judy's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

What can you say. This is American Entrepenuership at it's finest. The place is spotless clean, the food is served Hot and the staff actually give a nickle and seem to live what they love.
There should be a line to get in!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlevoix, Mi.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best locals breakfast spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This is the only place in Charlevoix to get a real breakfast and not get ripped off. Food is always good and the staff is fantastic. Its the only place I eat anymore

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Real Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Judy's Family Restaurants is one of a very few places in Charlevoix, MI that actually serve a cooked breakfast. Having walked up the main street on our first morning and just craving a cooked breakfast to start the day, I was disappointed to say the least, in not finding a cafe that served a proper breakfast.

What her place lacks in kerb appeal and ambience, it makes up for it's cleanliness, service and the wonderful cooked breakfasts. We later discovered that its the place that the locals go to, so one is very likely to be able to have a chat with a local whilst enjoying her delicious breakfasts!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cozy little breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

After a long night on the boat walk a block up the road and have a nice hot breakfast at Judy's! The food is great with generous portions, the place is always busy and the service is top notch. It's steps away from the marina, and only a short walk through town if your staying at the weathervane hotel or the edge water inn, or in any of the various condos and places around downtown. They have a basket of photos for sale taken by a local photographer that are beautiful! I love to look at them while I wait for my breakfast. Overall highly recommended little breakfast nook!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Makes it easy to stay local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I always prefer to eat local when we travel and Judy's did not disappoint. A small "diner" with a homey feel they can seat only about 30 to 40 people. No wait when we went in for a mid morning breakfast but it looked like it had been busy. Only two busy ladies seemed to be working there but we served fast and the kids were welcomed with a box of crayons and a coloring book. Food was good, not great, but good. My husband and I had biscuits and gravy and the gravy was good but the biscuits were a bit flat. My mom didn't care for her pancakes. A bit flat. Bacon and hash browns were good. Kids were served milk in fun sippy cups. Not the greatest food ever but I would pick it any day over a chain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Judy's Family Restaurant also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing