We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice coffee shop”
Review of Cafe Esperance

Cafe Esperance
Ranked #21 of 53 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice coffee shop”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stopped in for a mid-morning coffee and a snack. There are a few tables available for seating indoors and they have an extensive drink menu. The bakery selection is good and includes some nice treats. Service was a bit slow as there were only two people working behind the counter and it was a cool day (many people looking to warm up). Pricing seemed in-line with comparable shops.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rjh8115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The setting is intimate- few tables and there is only one seating for the evening so don't be in a rush. There were three of us- my wife, father in law and myself. We started with a perfectly made Rum Daiquiri, Absolut and a glass of excellent Chardonnay. The Amuse Bouche was delicious. We all enjoyed the Gazpacho with Shrimp. Two of us ordered the lamb but unfortunately there was only one order available, even though we arrived at 6:30. I switched to the Luna pasta and my wife had the chicken. All were done perfectly. Our desserts were delicious and the red wine chosen by Kyle was very good. The service could not have been better. It is an expensive restaurant- entrees run $39 to $59 but we feel it is the best restaurant Up North and well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences in Northern Michigan”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have spent part or all of our thirty-some-odd summers in Harbor Springs, and for whatever reason never had (or took) the opportunity to dine at Esperance. We are very grateful to summer neighbors of ours who took us to Esperance a few nights ago. From the moment we walked in and were warmly greater by the owner, Pram, and expertly served by one of his sons, and then finished a most delicious meal prepared by Pram's wife, Suzanne, we were more than impressed. This is first-rate food (French inspired), extremely fresh (much of it locally grown, raised, or fished), and presented beautifully in an understated yet elegant way. Their wine cellar is on par with the food, and has something terrific by the glass or for the most specific of oenophiles. Do not miss this opportunity. Esperance is on the top of our list and we highly recommend the experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dining at its finest!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Suzanne Acharya is a master whose meals are stunning in presentation and taste and Pram Acharya makes everyone feel welcome and works with you to select wine to make meals perfection! This is a lovely place to take someone very special and to enjoy fresh and amazing food. Everyone is friendly and professional. I cannot say enough good about Esperance for dining (and purchasing wine and other wonderful foods). You can also stop in for a glass of wine or a drink, and the garden outside is so beautiful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent dinner yet again at cafe esperance”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We attended a wine tasting dinner at Esperance recently and once again the food and wine were exceptional. Suzanne (chef owner) always has an innovative menu and the food is awesome. Nothing is ever second best. The wait staff are friendly and professional. As far as the wine - well Esperance is also a wine shop and Pram (owner) is the ultimate wine guide. When we are in the area Esperance is always on our must go to list. I would highly recommend Esperance to anyone who enjoys great food and wine.

K M Clarkston MI

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Esperance also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Cafe Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing