We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Grey Gables”
Review of Inn at Grey Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Grey Gables
Ranked #6 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay for one night and we went to Inn at Grey Gables just to see if we would like to stay there. NO WAY!!!! Smelled like smoke and dirty. We arrived at 5 pm to look at the rooms and the beds at this time we not made.

Thanks but no thanks.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if cleanliness is what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was such a disappointment from a stay just 2 years ago. Apparently the new management and staff (guest manager and cleaning staff) need a wake-up call. This inn has a fabulous location and has the potential to be wonderful... but the lack of attention and cleanliness is not acceptable.

Upon arrival, we noticed spider webs and lots of bugs on the house and porch which has cracking, worn and peeling paint. This is an old house... but these are things that need to be repaired. When we entered the "parlor" it smelled of cigarette smoke - the guest manager or "personal friends" of hers that happened to stop by had obviously been smoking in the house. She also appeared to be "tipsy" herself from the wine and cheese that was there for the guests.

When we went into the room (and we were reserving 3 rooms) we were DISGUSTED by the lack of attention: bugs in the windows, spider webs beside, above and behind the bed, mold on the carpet behind the sink, hair in the shower, dirty lines, cobwebs on the fan and even the carpet was dirty. This was ALL brought to the attention of the guest manager... she apologized, but did not have the means to address with the cleaning staff until then next day. The "kicker" was when we put on a robe the next AM - there were sugar packets in the pocket! So the robes were obviously NOT CLEANED!

We also had requested vegetarian options at breakfast, and what was served but sausage!!! Really!!!

Not only we will never stay there again, but hopefully no one else will.
The lack of cleanliness was appalling - we checked out early!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Second time in Charlevoix and after staying at the Edgewater (which was fine) on our first visit, we decided to stay at the Grey Gables based on a recommendation from friends who had stayed here last summer. After comparing our experience with our friends', it seems a lot has changed at the Inn. Bed was comfortable and rooms were sufficient, but did notice many bugs in the rooms...shower and windows and such. The place appeared to be clean, but upon further inspection, it seems to just be superficially cleaned for appearance.

People on TA said the Inn is falling apart, but we didn't expect a house built in the 1800s to be in fantastic shape. However, I think people mean the Inn is falling apart because of staffing. Some very odd occurrences happened with the woman overseeing our weekend stay, including a potential theft of a very expensive purse and wallet.

We also witnessed people who were not guests coming into the house, and the front door of the house was never locked, including when we returned from a wedding at 1am. Would never stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Recommended by a friend who had not stayed there but had heard from others, we made reservations with another couple to stay there during the course of a weekend visit to the Charlevoix/Mackinac Island area. While we loved our visit to the area, this B & B fell far short of expectations, especially given the prices that they charge. It is NOT owner-operated and the woman running the place was "chatty" in an obligatory and, frankly, annoying fashion. I think that the owner would be better served by different/additional staff. During the entire weekend, a paintbrush, rag and scraper were left on the front steps -- just one example. When she asked us what time we'd like our breakfasts we indicated 8:30 -- on both days, the food came 30 to 45 minutes late. Our friends had to use a bathroom on the second floor hallway -- with barely enough room to consider it functional (certainly not pleasant).

On the other hand, the beds were comfortable, the common areas (living and dining rooms) were pleasant enough and the location was convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband wanted to surprise me for my birthday. He ordered chilled wine and flowers to be in the room, he also had the manager make a reservation at a nice restaurant in town...none of theses things happened. The room and bathroom need a serious cleaning.
Too many other quirky things happened to put in a review-let's just say it was so bad it was funny!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Treelee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We came to town to celebrate our anniversary. What an anniversary celebration...we had never stayed at a B & B before. (I wish I'd read the reviews first.) We called and held the room on a credit card which was not to be run because we were paying cash. However, the innkeeper ran the card. We asked to have it refunded and finally (after a second request) did get the refund printout and did pay cash. The Rose Room was very small and the shower was VERY SMALL (don't drop the soap). The window AC was just that.... Not comfortable with it within two feet of the bed. The TV was a very small one. The itty bitty bathroom ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night. No extra roll was to be found! When I told Debbie about it, she just said, "Oh". No apology. For a no smoking facility there sure was a ton of smoke lingering in the parlor in the morning. The towels smelled of smoke, too.

The wine and cheese reception was a sad affair. The wine was cheap and the crackers and cheese were pretty much scoffed up in her hand by a friend who popped in. Breakfast was another disappointment. A menu sheet was slipped under the door for breakfast at 7 to 8:30 a.m. When we got to the dining room at 7:45, no one was around. We found the yogurt in the guest refrigerator, but no spoons, no water, cool coffee in the carafe. After about 30 or 40 minutes Debbie finally made her breakfast. I think she was waiting for the other couple to come.

The Inn was in poor shape and not worth the money we were charged. Outside the paint was peeling. The stairs were very steep with an open window at the top propped up by a stick and a screen that was in poor shape. ( I mention this because the window was so low and close to the floor. Don't lose your balance!) The restaurant with the same name but not the same owners was great!

I would never come back or refer others to this inn.

Room Tip: Check out opinions on the facility first. The pictures on line are like picking a book by its cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We love to visit Charlevoix for long weekends in the summer or fall, and have stayed at the Grey Gables each time, although it has been a few years since our last stay. This most recent visit was to celebrate our wedding anniversary, so we looked forward to staying in familiar accommodations.

We were disappointed to note that the facility has declined in several areas, most notably care-taking of the property itself. Whether due to neglect by an absentee owner or poor upkeep by the maintenance staff, the house appeared more old and tired than we remember it from our previous visits... natural aging and historic charm are one thing and something we desire in B&B's, but lack of basic upkeep is not... unkempt flower beds and shrubs, cracked and peeling paint, dirty and worn carpets and floors, cobwebby and dirty windows, etc. The newest innkeeper, Debbie, has only been in her job a matter of weeks and seemed eager to please, albeit a bit awkward and unsure of herself. Some good and bad points:

The good:
- Room we stayed in (the Pine, on rear of 1st floor) had a tight bedroom space but was clean, included a serviceable kitchenette area (we didn't use at all, so can't comment) and a private entrance, although the keyed deadbolt was balky and difficult to operate.
- Bedding was mostly plush and comfortable, but with very hard primary pillows (I slept on the decorative throw pillow instead).
- Shower stall was clean and roomy enough for two, and towels were clean, plush and plentiful.
- Ceiling fan over bed was silent and make for comfortable sleeping.
- Afternoon complimentary wine & cheese hour was nice... nothing fancy, but nice.
- Breakfast consisted of baked (not fried) cinnamon-apple French toast, sausage links, and fresh fruit, and cooked-to-order eggs were also offered... coffee was hot and good.

The bad:
- Wood floor in bedroom was dirty and in need of a stripping/waxing, and throw rugs were worn.
- Very few available outlets.
- In-room TV was advertised, but not present (we didn't care, had no plans to use it).
- A luggage stand or two would have been helpful (but many hotels neglect this, too).
- Water pressure and volume in shower was ridiculously low - just a light sprinkle - even though house was mostly unoccupied... we were tempted to remove the shower head just to be able to rinse off (don't municipalities requiring or properties using flow-restricting heads realize folks just run the water 3x-4x as long to compensate?).

Overall, our stay served its purpose, as the property is situated in a nice residential area nearby a gated club community, within easy walking distance of the main downtown area (Bridge St.), and was comfy enough for a night. The restaurant of the same name (but managed independently) located conveniently right next door is excellent, with many fine dishes, especially the whitefish... be sure to visit it no matter where you stay.

If you don't care about paying a bit more for older, so-so accommodations that are convenient to the town hub and harbor, you may be okay here... but we will likely be looking elsewhere on our next visit, or at least until we see some pride and investment instilled in restoring Grey Gables to its past and potential charm.

Room Tip: The Pine room includes a kitchenette and separate entrance, and may be a bit quiter as it's at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jchip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
0.9 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
818 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
87 reviews
7.8 mi away
Horton Creek Inn B&B
Horton Creek Inn B&B
#2 of 9 in Charlevoix
51 reviews
12.1 mi away
Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Grey Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Grey Gables

Address: 306 Belvedere Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1413
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range: £45 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Grey Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Grey Gables is a refurbished 1887 Bed and Breakfast located within easy walking distance of downtown Charlevoix. We have seven beautifully decorated rooms with King or Queen beds, private baths, plush towels, and luxurious amenities. Each morning enjoy a full hot breakfast made with fresh ingredients and a gourmet twist. We offer wine and cheese platters in the evening, and turndown service with homemade cookies before bedtime. Also available is free wireless internet, a guest refreshment center, and 1 pet-friendly room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Grey Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing