We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Inn at Grey Gables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Grey Gables
Ranked #5 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

as all B&B you know you are not getting a 5 star hotel; however in this case the hostess made the entire stay a great one, as she did everything she could to make our stay a memorable one.
The locations is great as it is a few blocks from downtown and easy to walk

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jperezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    15
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
12
59
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first stay at a bed & breakfast, and I must say I will be planning another stay in my future! Jennifer made everything so easy! She was very friendly and personable! She made us a huge, delicious breakfast! It was great to find a B&B that didn't require a minimum 2 night stay. The place was so beautiful in my opinion, I love aged houses that have history! The location was great as well! Our room was very comfortable. I enjoyed reading some of the books available (facts about Michigan & the personality test were the best though!)! I recommend this place to any wanting to stay in Charlevoix and surrounding area! Thanks for the wonderful stay Jennifer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The attraction to Bed And Breakfasts are the unique ambience of each. Unfortunately Gray Gables lacks this. No homey touches and indeed needs quite a bit of maintenance. Peeling paint, buggy exterior, cracked interior walls, wine stains on the bedding, etc... Steep stairs to bedrooms.
Breakfast was on the skimpy side, not even enough bacon strips for one each, not enough o.j. for all, etc... On the plus side, it is in a nice location for walking. Probably won't be back and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is the best accommodation I've had in Charlevoix after several years of staying in different hotels and B&Bs. The location is fabulous-on a lovely residential street but in the heart of Charlevoix near everything-only steps from the main street, shops, restaurants, the lake, beaches and the Marina. Rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. Innkeeper Debby is caring, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are delicious in the charming dining room, wonderful coffee and breakfast selections you wish you had all year round. You will feel like you are staying with your favorite family who are also gourmet cooks. I moved there after a disappointing stay at the Weathervane in a room full of bugs and short on cleanliness. What a delight this turned out to be. I will definitely come back every year from now on and I already look forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had a wonderful time! A perfect place to spend our first anniversary. Debby, our dear hostess, fed us deliciously and steered us to some great finds; the General Store; Esperance to name a few. Her only failure is that she allowed it to rain; albeit only a drizzle or two:). Bedsides the Inn is next to the best restaurant in Charlevoix, incidentally of the same name, whose bartender, Matt, was a perfect complement to Debby's gracious nature!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaplan, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay for one night and we went to Inn at Grey Gables just to see if we would like to stay there. NO WAY!!!! Smelled like smoke and dirty. We arrived at 5 pm to look at the rooms and the beds at this time we not made.

Thanks but no thanks.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if cleanliness is what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was such a disappointment from a stay just 2 years ago. Apparently the new management and staff (guest manager and cleaning staff) need a wake-up call. This inn has a fabulous location and has the potential to be wonderful... but the lack of attention and cleanliness is not acceptable.

Upon arrival, we noticed spider webs and lots of bugs on the house and porch which has cracking, worn and peeling paint. This is an old house... but these are things that need to be repaired. When we entered the "parlor" it smelled of cigarette smoke - the guest manager or "personal friends" of hers that happened to stop by had obviously been smoking in the house. She also appeared to be "tipsy" herself from the wine and cheese that was there for the guests.

When we went into the room (and we were reserving 3 rooms) we were DISGUSTED by the lack of attention: bugs in the windows, spider webs beside, above and behind the bed, mold on the carpet behind the sink, hair in the shower, dirty lines, cobwebs on the fan and even the carpet was dirty. This was ALL brought to the attention of the guest manager... she apologized, but did not have the means to address with the cleaning staff until then next day. The "kicker" was when we put on a robe the next AM - there were sugar packets in the pocket! So the robes were obviously NOT CLEANED!

We also had requested vegetarian options at breakfast, and what was served but sausage!!! Really!!!

Not only we will never stay there again, but hopefully no one else will.
The lack of cleanliness was appalling - we checked out early!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
0.9 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#4 of 9 in Charlevoix
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
114 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
451 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Grey Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Grey Gables

Property: Inn at Grey Gables
Address: 306 Belvedere Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1413
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Grey Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Grey Gables is a refurbished 1887 Bed and Breakfast located within easy walking distance of downtown Charlevoix. We have seven beautifully decorated rooms with King or Queen beds, private baths, plush towels, and luxurious amenities. Each morning enjoy a full hot breakfast made with fresh ingredients and a gourmet twist. We offer wine and cheese platters in the evening, and turndown service with homemade cookies before bedtime. Also available is free wireless internet, a guest refreshment center, and 1 pet-friendly room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Grey Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing