We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch Stop”
Review of Smoke On The Water

Smoke On The Water
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Charlevoix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Smoke on the Water a BBQ joint. We slow-smoke our meats with various fruit woods and maple wood in our smoker that sits right outside the restaurant. We pride ourselves in serving made-from-scratch food, including our own Challah bread used in our Drunken French Toast. We deliver to all downtown businesses and the marina. We are located next to Hoffman Park which overlooks the channel and bridge.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Stop”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We sat outside on a beautiful day. Very good barbecue, pork sandwiches and a portobello mushroom sandwich--great for our vegetarian! The service was pretty good; however, we could hear the staff complaining at length about people asking if they had a bathroom, when obviously we all should know that (through screen window). They were young and seemed to miss the fact that perhaps people were just asking to be directed to the restrooms versus displaying ignorance :) . Also, it appeared that it was "an order and seat yourself place," but it is a "check in and be seated by staff restaurant," so that was confusing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at Smoke On The Water, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed and happy to see this review. Unless we hear it from folks like you, we would never know that this was going on. I had a talk with my entire staff. It is a small place and it is easy for anyone to hear our conversations. And I agree with you about them not really understanding it wasn't a question, they were looking for direction. Also, thank you for not marking us down for this unfortunate incident! We would love to buy you lunch if you come back in, just ask for Julie or Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    39
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great gem to find”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The chicken salad sandwich was AMAZING and there was a lot (you get a lot for your money). It was obvious from how good the food was almost everything is homemade. They're only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at Smoke On The Water, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so happy you enjoyed the food as we do make most everything from scratch, including the challah bread your chicken salad sandwich was made on. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudenvile, mi 48651
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's True!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Our server was very upbeat and attentive! We enjoyed the brisket, lunch and pulled pork sandwich. The cole slaw, and Mac and cheese were homemade. All food hot and fresh. Bathroom spotless. Oh yeah, and the pickle was ridiculous.

Helpful?
Thank Upnorthhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at Smoke On The Water, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the great review all the way around! So happy you came in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We tried this spot based on tripadvisor reviews and are we glad! We stopped by for lunch and loved everything. I had brisket and my partner had the pork sand wish. The barbecue sauces are wonderful as is the homemade ketchup! I also loved the broccoli salad and the mac'n cheese. Then we bought a loaf of their homemade challah to take with us and it was fabulous! Wish we got to this part of the country more often so we could go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginacat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at Smoke On The Water, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are so glad you found us too. Thank you for the amazing review, we really appreciate it.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I followed my nose”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in town by boat. I could smell the barbeque and followed my nose till we found the big smoker working hard. The brisket was excellent and the servings were large. Had leftovers.
Not a fancy place but great barbeque.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at Smoke On The Water, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Well we are glad you followed your nose, our best advertising. Thanks for the great review. Hope you visit us again when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoke On The Water also viewed

Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
Charlevoix, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Smoke On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing