We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bridge Street Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Charlevoix B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

This inn was very disappointing. We have stayed in many B and B's and this one was not up to standard. The carpet going up the stairs and in both hallways was very old, very worn, and quite dirty. What a turnoff!! The walls going up the stairs had many cracks and poor attempts at fixing them. Our room also had many cracks in the walls. The bathroom linoleum floor was discolerd , especially black looking around the shower. The outside of the shower showed a lot of corrosion. The sink was very, very old. It had separate faucets for hot and cold. The long wrap around porch needed to have the railing painted. It was quite chipped up. It doesn't appear that anyone is caring for this place. It is in need of lots of TLC. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, breakfast good and the cookies at bedtime were a nice touch. Tripadvisor state rates are $50 to $115. Their online sight says $99 to $199. Were we're charged $149 for a mediocre, small room. Would definately not stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nappanee, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years...they are the best way to travel and get personal insight into an area. This is not the case with this B&B. Our innkeeper was cordial upon arrival our first night but indifferent the next morning at breakfast. The Inn is definitely in need of some good cleaning and TLC. The stairway and hall carpeting is so worn and dirty and the wrap around porch is most uninviting. An old ceiling leak in our room left the ceiling tiles hanging. Breakfast was mediocre. It was not worth the money we paid. We enjoyed Charlevoix immensely but would definitely not return to The Bridge Street Inn.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innkeeper94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlevoix hotels

Oxford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Very Cute Inn. Very clean and comfortable. We had a sitting room off of our bed room--made for a very nice suite. Bed had a feather pillow topper that was great. Good location, right in downtown Charlevoix. They laid out cookies for us with the bed turn down. That was a nice touch. Also had a wine and cheese reception when we arrived. I would definitely stay there again. David and Elizabeth were lovely hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debkre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The home is old with a few cracks, but lots of character. Our room was small but adequate; shower has water pressure issues. With that said--we still enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent both mornings and nice wine and cheese welcome. Great location - midway between town and beach (both only a few steps away). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NvilleSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have been to a couple bed and breakfasts before and have come to expect a certain level of quality, and this bed and breakfast was very disappointing. Our room, the Bridge Room, was extremely small, had creaky floors and many cracks in the walls. There were also flies in the room. The door to the bathroom did not close, the sink was rusted and I saw sparks from the plug when plugging in my cell phone. We did not feel like we had any privacy since the walls were paper thin and there were no "Do Not Disturb" signs to put on the door, as is typical at most hotels and bed and breakfasts.

When we stayed, there were only a couple other rooms booked and it was nowhere near capacity. I am not surprised why. We had to leave a night early because of a family emergency, and the inkeepers refused to refund our money for the second night, even though I gave them 24 hours notice that we were checking out early and they could have re-rented the room.

Last time we were in the area, we stayed at the Perry Hotel in Petoskey and it is a much better value for the money. A night and day difference.

I recommend avoiding this bed and breakfast and seeking accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grecianadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I am from the area originally and came back for a high school reunion. My husband and I had not stayed at a bed-n-breakfast previously and thought it would be a fun experience. It definitely was! The Bridge Street Inn is about a football field's length from the bridge and so convenient to walking downtown and along the Pine River Channel to Lake Michigan. Elizabeth and David will serve you an delectable "from-scratch" big breakfast and Elizabeth makes fresh cookies which you will find in your room every night. Would we stay again? Yes, we would!
This is our very first bed-n-breakfast visit so I do not have an barometer as to how it compares with others. We sure enjoyed it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage room which is above the street. You do have to use the bath down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortonville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The home is beautiful, and the hosts are very accomodating. The breakfast was minimally adequate. It might not have been enough for a hearty appetite. The inn is extremely well located for town activites and bike trails.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlevoix
1.0 mi away
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
Charlevoix Inn & Suites
#1 of 9 in Charlevoix
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weathervane Terrace Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Inn
Pointes North Inn
#3 of 9 in Charlevoix
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Charlevoix
109 reviews
15.3 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
648 reviews
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Street Inn

Property: The Bridge Street Inn
Address: 113 Michigan Ave, Charlevoix, MI 49720-1819
Region: United States > Michigan > Charlevoix County > Charlevoix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Charlevoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bridge Street Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge Street Inn is a three story, historic Colonial Revival home located in downtown Charlevoix, just steps from access to Lake Michigan. View gorgeous sunsets from our wrap-around front porch each evening as you enjoy our wine and cheese service. Inside, find our eight guest rooms with private baths comfortably appointed with period antiques, plush beds, and modern amenities. Start off the morning with a full hot breakfast featuring seasonal fruit and homemade muffins. Our atmosphere is comfortable yet elegant, and we are committed to making your stay a pleasure in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bridge Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing