We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special meal in a very special setting”

Auberge de la grange du Cros
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Saillac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$37
Cuisines: International, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dans une vieille grange batie en pierre seche, a la lueur des nombreuses bougies,une cuisine simple mais soignee et inventive.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special meal in a very special setting”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our favourite place to eat , visited with our French neighbours, we keep coming back because the food is lovingly prepared with local quality ingredients by Rebecca and tastes delicious. It is a unique place to eat in the old restored barn and the ambience and hospitality created by Thierry and Rebecca is truly wonderful… we will return just a soon as we are back in France.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much, we'll do everything to keep your pleasure as you described it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    33
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castanet, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Love this homely, welcoming restaurant. The food is always excellent, beautifully prepared and served with quirky descriptions.
Have enjoyed some lovely evenings here with friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Homely and quirky, that's exactly me ! Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castanet, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service - and open in the Winter”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We eat at Thierry and Rebecca's wonderful restaurant as often as we can. The food is also freshly cooked and the menu is different to anywhere else in the locality. Thierry's great floor show explaining the menu and the fantastic cheese board on offer are highlights of the evening.

Unlike a lot of the local restaurants this one is open Friday and Saturday night and Sunday lunch times during the winter, giving us somewhere great to go and have a meal.

If you are expecting a great long choice of a menu, you will be disappointed, there are two choices for entree, main course and dessert but even my husband has always found something he loves. It is also very good value at €17 a head for 4 courses with 25cl of wine (red, white or rose) included.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CastanetAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Many thanks, I do agree on everything but the price you said. Even being good value I'll take you 24 euros for the menu....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villefranche-de-Rouergue, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A really charming and different restaurant”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have visited this restaurant a few times and it is always very good and 'querky'. The owners have established the restaurant in their own barn and this gives the restaurant real character and a lovely novelty value.

The food is always very good. The menu is a little restricted, but this is to be expected as it would be very hard to provide the quality food with too much choice. Additionally we have always found the menu choice interesting.

The restaurant has a lovely family atmosphere. The owner is full of life and energy and creates 'theatre' around the proceedings.

The cocktails are delicious with a potent 'kick' as is the guest beer! Try to make sure somebody else is driving!

There is not a children's menu, but the children are able to have a child's portion of the menu, which has always worked really well for us.

You will need to book to be sure of a table.

Very highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Taking someone for my advertising, surely will be you. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have bought a house two miles from this restaurant in the heart of the countryside and are looking forward to it becoming our "local".
Friends of ours took us for the first time this year and we were enchanted. We sat out in the garden drinking Thierry's cocktails and then listened to his description of the menu.
When Rebecca had prepared the food we moved into the barn and enjoyed a delicious meal. The usual rue of thumb of go to eat where the locals go does not apply here as many Brits come and enjoy.It does not detract in any way. Long may it continue

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhabidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks. It will continue as long as people like you and others enjoy our barn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge de la grange du Cros also viewed

 

Been to Auberge de la grange du Cros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing