We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a favourite restaurant, but a favourite place”

Auberge de la grange du Cros
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Saillac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Dans une vieille grange batie en pierre seche, a la lueur des nombreuses bougies,une cuisine simple mais soignee et inventive.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not just a favourite restaurant, but a favourite place”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We are lucky enough to have a holiday home in the next village to Le Cros and having been coming to this wonderful gem of a restaurant for the last 10 years. We book from the UK so that we can be sure of getting a table. A holiday without Thierry and Rebecca and their wonderful food would be unthinkable. In warm weather it's lovely to sit outside in the garden and have an aperitif whilst Thierry explains how each course is cooked with all the ingredients. He speaks excellent English. We love to take all our guests here and they all fall under its spell.

There are two or three choices for each meal and my husband and I try to choose different ones so that we can have a taste of everything. Unless it's guinea fowl and we both have to have that!

You can take your time in the atmospheric barn with its lovely twinkly night lights and there is always somehow a little sense of regret when the meal is finally over.

We have, however, booked for July! Please do go, we know you will love it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fonzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca-Thierry, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
British ladie knigths fighting for our well on the web ! I also do fall under spell to say thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    34
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parisot, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very rewarding out of the way experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

For the past 10 or so years or so my wife and I have been going to this very agreeable and authentic French restaurant. Every evening during the Summer there is a fixed price menu with two choices of starter and two choices of main course, a cheese basket and usually 3 choices for desert.

The menu is constantly changing and the changes are always imaginative and interesting with influences from around the world.

If the weather is nice, as it usually is during the summer, you may stay outside and enjoy the sunset with a glass of wine or a cocktail before going into the Grange, the stone barn. Once inside this sometimes fairyland like space, tea lights in niches in the wall are like stars, you are directed to your table by your host and the menu is explained either in French or in English.

Rebecca is the chef and her husband Thierry is your host and entertaining guide.

Service is prompt and very amiable. 25 cl of wine in included per person along with as much bread as you like The cost is a very modest 25 or so Euro, Aperitif and coffee are extra.

Reservations should be made especially during the Summer. Dinner is served Tuesday through Saturday and lunch on Sunday, closed Mondays.

Telephone: 05-65-24-77-13

Try it we are sure you will like it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
So many thanks for long describing advice. It's allways a pleasure to have guests taking time to help us being well known. We'll keep on improving and hope that your next visit migth deserve an advice of excellency....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A culinary experience like no other!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming here for seven years. Thierry and Rebecca have created the most wonderful ambience and eating experience in this little out of the ' throng' hamlet. The food is a delight every time and we have yet to have the same thing twice! We took friends
who only eat fish and veg, " no problem" said Thierry and Rebecca produced an excellent fish starter and veg main course for them. It is truly a brilliant restaurant....winter or summer ( very unusual in rural France).
We love it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many thanks Lorraine. We're just doing our job and it's a real pleasure to have feedback like yours. See you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional ambience and food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

At the entry to this wonderful restaurant, you pull back the curtain which reveals the interior of an old barn defined by stone walls and massive overhead ancient hand-carved beams of oak. The interior was lit up with dozens of tea candles embedded in the crannies and crevices of the rock walls and atop the beams. Other than the candles, the room was lit only by soft indirect lighting bouncing off a high ceiling. The floor was poured concrete embedded with pea gravel, rounding out an inescapably organic vibe that emanated from every element of the restaurant. Fifteen tables were set on the floor, many of them already with seated guests in the middle of their meals. White table clothes hosted more candles in small hurricane lamps and sent reflections into the clear glass of wine glasses at every table and accentuated the faces of the diners already experiencing the nirvana of La Grange cuisine. It was as romantic as any restaurant setting I have ever seen. Magical and full of promise that the cuisine would live up to the ambience. It did.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
An advice from L.A. ! How smart for our little barn lost in the french country side ! Many thanks for your wonderful description.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special meal in a very special setting”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our favourite place to eat , visited with our French neighbours, we keep coming back because the food is lovingly prepared with local quality ingredients by Rebecca and tastes delicious. It is a unique place to eat in the old restored barn and the ambience and hospitality created by Thierry and Rebecca is truly wonderful… we will return just a soon as we are back in France.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierry4602, Propriétaire at Auberge de la grange du Cros, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you very much, we'll do everything to keep your pleasure as you described it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge de la grange du Cros also viewed

 
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
Caylus, Tarn-et-Garonne
 

Been to Auberge de la grange du Cros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing