We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice refurbishment.”

The Banningham Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Banningham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A 17th Century timbered inn in the rural village of Banningham.Log fires in Winter and sheltered patio and gardens in Summer.Located opposite historic church and village green.Run by the same family since 1991.5 ***** Food safety rating. Camra Good Beer Guide Listed. Cask Marque accredited.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice refurbishment.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First visit since The Crown was closed earlier in the year for some building work. Which has been very tastefully done. Completely in keeping with the original property. Excellent food and service as always. Varied menu, something for everyone, and if you can manage 3 course, you are a better person than any one in our party. It was a busy Saturday evening and my only grip is that with the larger dining area, when it is busy it is also very noisy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are so pleased you appreciated our recent refurbishment. The new restaurant can be very lively and busy in front of the servery but if you require a quiet table please let us know and we will endeavour to book a table for you on one of our quieter tables.
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    126
    44
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best steak pudding !!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wow what a lovely place, food was excellent , as for the steak pudding it out done my husband he just couldnt finish , which he has had many in the past well done The Crown carry on

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastbourneNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We have been making our steak and kidney puddings for over 20 years and are so pleased you enjoyed them. Thank you for your excellent review
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Return visit.......”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I made a phone call today to ask if they did a ploughman's lunch, the sun was out and I just fancied a pint and a nice ploughman's, and I was not dissapointed, as ever the staff were so so friendly and very professional making us very welcome.
The food arrived and I was very impressed, I jest not I must have had about a pound of cheese in four big chunks ! And the salad was fresh and delicious, the only tiny improvement could have been some traditional apple with the ploughman's but thats just me being fussy. My Mrs had the club sandwich which was fantastic.
As before everything was perfect, the welcome, service, food and general atmosphere is well worth a visit I cant recommend this place enough.
Im looking forward to our next visit already.

Thank you to all the staff, seen and unseen you have a real treasure of a place here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you SO MUCH for this wonderful review. It is greatly appreciated by the whole team both seen and unseen. The words a real treasure of a place are greatly appreciated by everyone who works here. Thank you.
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great staff, homely feel food a little tint bit underwhelming”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Oh we turned up with no table booked. The staff were fab and found us a table, the menu was local and full of homely hearty food. I had great noises from other people about the crown. I have to say the food was good but not great, left feeling underwhelmed. The venue is lovely in the old bar area, sadly the 'extension' feels like a garden centre cafe. I would definitely go again maybe in the winter for its open fires and very warm welcome. Dogs are welcome here so it does envelope visitors with a big hug. Totally suitable for couples, families and children.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f1n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
I am sorry our recent refurbishment did not appeal to your personal taste. Our menu offers traditional hearty English food made from local produce with great quality at good value. Thank you for the comments regarding our overall hospitality.We hope you return in theWinter
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Light lunch”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place this is it has been refurbished to a very high standard. Nice to be greeted by smiling faces the gardener was very friendly too. Food is very good we just had baguettes steak and onion and chicken and chorizo both came with a side salad and crisps. Staff checked food was ok for us and if we needed anything else. It was nice that iced water came without asking for it. Can't wait to go here again restaurant is lovely and nice that you can see your food being prepared. We actually sat outside but was told we could look in the restaurant and kitchen . The garden room is also very nice and has an old water pump in I think this was part of the outside garden originally. Hadn't been here for several years it is really lovely now.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanieFeneron, Owner at The Banningham Crown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
So pleased you appreciate our recent refurbishment and friendly team. The water pump was located outside in the garden and rather than lose such a wonderful feature we built the Garden Room around it. So pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Jeanette Feneron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Banningham Crown also viewed

 
Southrepps, Norfolk
 

Been to The Banningham Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing