We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the bomb !! this place is wonderful......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea House Victorian Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
morgantown, wv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“the bomb !! this place is wonderful......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

if you are planning a trip to ann arbor, your home away from home is chelsea house victorian inn. a lovely, historic, and very interesting bed & breakfast with terrific hosts. everything about the inn is charming and very welcoming.

chelsea is a great place to visit on its own-- spend a day shopping & have dinner & go to a play-- just the best !! a very friendly town indeed...

the only negative, i would have loved to have seen the other rooms throughout the inn. the 3 of the 5 viewed were amazing!! next visit hopefully we can see the other 2 rooms. it is such a great restoration.... love when these old buildings are saved & full of life.

stay here stay here-- you will just love it !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavis-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
86
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gowanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A charming place to stay with a host who pays attention to every detail. The breakfasts are so bountiful, they fill you for the day. Lovely rooms in beautiful suroundings. Truly an extraordinary experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanCTGowanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed here twice, both times in the Carriage House. Both experiences were really great, and Jim is the consummate host! We like the carriage house because it has a little more privacy, with a separate entrance from the rest of the house. It's like a little apartment, with a full kitchen and a nice whirlpool tub. Overall, just a really nice place with very friendly hosts. I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefarmingtonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Charming B&B. Jim and Kim Myles have a lovely bed and breakfast and are great hosts. The rooms are decorated in turn of the century style, with accoutrements to match. Very clean, very quiet, and a delicious breakfast. Best place to stay in Chelsea, especially while taking in a performance at Purple Rose and dinner at Common Grill. Definitely recommend, and will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

First time here at the Chelsea House. Jim (the owner) set us up in the Carriage suite. It is a hidden little secret from the main house with a living room, dining area and full service kitchen. If you are looking for the true bed and breakfast experience, stay in the beautiful restored main house. If you are looking for a little privacy with the bed and breakfast amenities, the Carriage Suite is the place for you. Jim thought of everything from preseting the coffee to be ready when we woke up, plate of homemade cookies at the bedside, access to the internet but most of all, the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The suite is where we are served breakfast privetly. Was not sure what to expect at a bed and breakfast, but this was such a great experience that offered so many thoughtful amenities that you don't get at a hotel. We are coming back!

Room Tip: The Common grill was a great restaurant for seafood and steaks and was withing walking distance. Pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have had the opportunity to stay at a number of different Bed & Breakfast Inns around the state and I have to say this is one of if not the nicest that we have stayed at. From the moment you step in the door, you are greeted with a smile and from that point on it is pure comfort and relaxation. The breakfast is wonderful, and Jim and Kim are great hosts. Thanks again Jim & Kim for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Jim and Kim are great hosts and will ensure you have a wonderful stay. Dinner at The Common Grill was excellent and a short 5 minute walk from our room. Very convenient to both U of Michigan and Michigan State campuses. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linolakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
18.0 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Chelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.9 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
15.3 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Victorian Inn

Property: Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Address: 118 E Middle St, Chelsea, MI 48118-1033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Trip Advisor Circle of Excellence Award winner & the only lodging located in downtown Chelsea, blends historic charm & elegance with modern amenities essential to travelers: private baths, Free WIFI, AC, Cable TV, parking, premium room amenities and hearty breakfast, within walking distance to all cultural activities, The Purple Rose Theatre & Common Grill Restaurant. Cyclist friendly. Minutes to Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing