We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chelsea House is not only beautiful, but the owners Jim and Kim were great. If you every want a great place to stay, this is”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The Chelsea House is not only beautiful, but the owners Jim and Kim were great. If you every want a great place to stay, this is”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a weekend for Mothers day and we stayed at the Chelsea House. This B&B was fantastic. We stayed in the tower room which was great. It's a large room with a private bath. Every night the owners Jim and Kim would turn down our bed while we are out and leave a chocolate on our pillow. The rooms are very clean and the house itself is something to see. The town is a quiet but a quaint place too visit. Several shops and great dining. The Common grill has awesome sea food and desserts and Clearys pub is a great bar and grill with entertainment. If you like the theater than the Purple Rose Theater is awesome. Not a bad seat in the house. Jeff Daniels did a great job when he created this place and every thing is within walking distance. So if your ever looking for a great little get-a-way weekend check out Chelsea Mich and stay at the Chelsea House Victoria Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emery8iam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
91
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The Chelsea House is a charming and extraordinarily well maintained historical B & B that you will not soon forget. You will be greeted by Jim, one-half of the husband and wife Innkeeper team, whose genuine pride for his Inn and interest in his guests will give you instant reassurance that you have just made a great decision to stay here. And it only gets better from here!

The rooms (we have stayed in nearly all) are well appointed with appropriate historical pieces that never seem cluttered or bloated--and they are immaculately clean. The common space has a lovely coal-burning fireplace (think Dickens) that will draw you near for a read or to chat with your fellow guests. My wife and I find that the best B & B's have such appealing rooms outside those in which you sleep. Lastly the food. The crepes (Jim's signature dish) are consistently perfect. The quiche, a combination of delicate spices and vegetables is haunting. Don't worry you will not need to decide--you may have both! A continuous flow of freshly brewed coffee is a given.

The only downside to staying at the Chelsea house is that if it is your first experience at a B & B, you may find that all others pale by comparison!

Michael and Tanya Guerra (Plymouth, MI)

Room Tip: We love the master bedroom with the fireplace and spacious bath--it is a BIG, attractive and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morgantown, wv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

if you are planning a trip to ann arbor, your home away from home is chelsea house victorian inn. a lovely, historic, and very interesting bed & breakfast with terrific hosts. everything about the inn is charming and very welcoming.

chelsea is a great place to visit on its own-- spend a day shopping & have dinner & go to a play-- just the best !! a very friendly town indeed...

the only negative, i would have loved to have seen the other rooms throughout the inn. the 3 of the 5 viewed were amazing!! next visit hopefully we can see the other 2 rooms. it is such a great restoration.... love when these old buildings are saved & full of life.

stay here stay here-- you will just love it !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavis-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gowanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A charming place to stay with a host who pays attention to every detail. The breakfasts are so bountiful, they fill you for the day. Lovely rooms in beautiful suroundings. Truly an extraordinary experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanCTGowanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed here twice, both times in the Carriage House. Both experiences were really great, and Jim is the consummate host! We like the carriage house because it has a little more privacy, with a separate entrance from the rest of the house. It's like a little apartment, with a full kitchen and a nice whirlpool tub. Overall, just a really nice place with very friendly hosts. I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefarmingtonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Charming B&B. Jim and Kim Myles have a lovely bed and breakfast and are great hosts. The rooms are decorated in turn of the century style, with accoutrements to match. Very clean, very quiet, and a delicious breakfast. Best place to stay in Chelsea, especially while taking in a performance at Purple Rose and dinner at Common Grill. Definitely recommend, and will return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2011

First time here at the Chelsea House. Jim (the owner) set us up in the Carriage suite. It is a hidden little secret from the main house with a living room, dining area and full service kitchen. If you are looking for the true bed and breakfast experience, stay in the beautiful restored main house. If you are looking for a little privacy with the bed and breakfast amenities, the Carriage Suite is the place for you. Jim thought of everything from preseting the coffee to be ready when we woke up, plate of homemade cookies at the bedside, access to the internet but most of all, the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The suite is where we are served breakfast privetly. Was not sure what to expect at a bed and breakfast, but this was such a great experience that offered so many thoughtful amenities that you don't get at a hotel. We are coming back!

Room Tip: The Common grill was a great restaurant for seafood and steaks and was withing walking distance. Pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Chelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
11.9 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Victorian Inn

Property: Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Address: 118 E Middle St, Chelsea, MI 48118-1033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Trip Advisor Circle of Excellence Award winner & the only lodging located in downtown Chelsea, blends historic charm & elegance with modern amenities essential to travelers: private baths, Free WIFI, AC, Cable TV, parking, premium room amenities and hearty breakfast, within walking distance to all cultural activities, The Purple Rose Theatre & Common Grill Restaurant. Cyclist friendly. Minutes to Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing