We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new tradition”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new tradition”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had been trying to come up with a new and fun way to celebrate Valentine's Day. Nothing seemed to sound very exciting. Then friends suggested a road trip to Chelsea... have dinner at the Common Grill, take in the play at the Purple Rose Theater and spend the night at the Chelsea House. Sounded great so we made our reservations and secured the tickets. Dinner was yummy, the play was enjoyable as well as thought provoking, and the overnight accommodations were absolutely superb!!!! We cannot say enough positive things about the beautiful Chelsea House as well as the innkeepers, Jim and Kim. We have decided that this will be our Valentine's Day tradition. In fact, we already booked our room for 2014!!! Can't wait!!! Don't miss experiencing this Michigan treasure!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
It is very rewarding to know you had a great time, but it is extraordinary to know that you are planing to return before you've left. That's the ultimate compliment and result for us. As a small historic Inn it energizes us more than you know. We love that you felt your Valentines Day was the best, and we look forward to seeing you next year. We are so appreciative of your comments and that you took time to share how you felt about your stay. It truly matters to us: Jim & Kim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
94
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Spent a night of our anniversary weekend at the Chelsea House.........went to the Purple Rose for the 3:00 play performance, and of course The Common Grill for dinner.....this was our second stay here and it was very nice.....don't miss the Common Grill. Hope to be back next year!

Room Tip: Stayed in two rooms and each was equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Absolutely nothing to complain about. House was spot on perfect, and you can clearly see Jim's hard work put into every detail of renovation. Come to enjoy the luxury and comfort of this Victorian style home. Nothing says Pure Michigan like a stay here after a visit to Common Grille and the Purple Rose.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We hosted a holiday get-together in the Carriage House. Our friends had rooms in the main house. Perfect set up. Great breakfasts. The topper was the Jeff Daniels show at The Purple Rose. Jim Myles facitated our purchase of the tickets. Jim and Kim attended to all of our needs with great friendliness. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We are quite delayed in responding to your comments but we want to sincerely thank you for selecting Chelsea House as the location for beginning your new year. With Kim's surgery recovery continuing during your stay, we were so grateful to have your group here for two nights to enjoy all the activities Chelsea has to offer and we're glad to know that you had a good time too. We appreciate your feedback and hope that 2013 has gotten off to a great start for all of you. Its hard to believe our hyacinths are already pushing through the mulch!!! Come by sometime and see the gardens in summer, plus the Barbeque 52 Restaurant is opened and the Ale House. Fondest regards and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We had a great stay here with one caveat: don't ask for the owner to accommodate food allergy requests! We had someone with us who is lactose intolerant and asked ahead of time if they could provide dairy-free breakfast options. Unfortunately, they forgot about the request and became very confused when we tried to explain that we needed something WITHOUT yogurt, milk, butter, or cheese.

I'd also highly recommend the nearby restaurant Back to the Roots. It's a neat cafe with excellent coffee, a Fair Trade gift shop, and a locavore/vegetarian-friendly menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We cannot express adequately, our regret for our mistake the morning of your stay. While you have every reason to think differently, we do know and respect that our guests food restrictions are important to their comfort and satisfaction during their stay with us. We always ask everyone at multiple stages: booking & arrival about any food limitations they have and we failed to fulfill that for you. Yes, the mistake should not have happened. Once a mistake like this one occurs the only thing we can do is offer to fix it immediately, which we did. Our offer was turned down and not to be argumentative but we do want to explain and apologize again. Jim was working with no help that morning due to Kim's spinal fusion surgery in November. She was still recovering and we are a 2 man shop: Jim & Kim. Normally she assists with keeping all the breakfast deviations straight and we fell short that day being one man shy in the kitchen. While she made an appearance, her contribution was limited to just that: an appearance. The greatest challenge for a small local business is rolling with staff shortages: when two people run the show and you are one person short, that's when things derail. We wanted to explain why/how it happened. We sincerely apologize for your experience and thank you for your honest feedback. We hope this helps explain, and assure you its atypical that it happened. We can only ask forgiveness, and the chance to make up for it. Our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My experience with Chelsea House Victorian Inn has been from a meeting perspective. I have scheduled several meetings over the years at Chelsea House Victorian Inn. Jim and Kim Myles always go out of their way to make sure a meeting runs smoothly, equipment required is available, and that all details are taken care of. In all of the years of using this location, we have never had one negative comment from our attendees. In fact, when our attendees become aware of this location, they are very eager to attend. Kim's homebaked surprises are phenomenal and always a great treat for our attendees. Also, a great location and within walking distance to the Common Grill. This is a wonderful meeting space for anyone who appreciates the personal touch for their meeting needs.

Kitty Adkins
ProQuest

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a great weekend staying with Jim and Kim in this lovingly restored victorian home. It is located perfectly between The Common Grill and the Purple Rose. We felt right at home. The accommodations are a perfect blend of vintage and modern convenience. It was wonderful to stay in this great old home that Jim and Kim have saved from demolition and returned honorably to the condition it deserves. As if that isn't enough, breakfast is magnificent!!! Bravo all around.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansenk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Chelsea
104 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
11.9 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#11 of 35 in Ann Arbor
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Best Western of Whitmore Lake
Best Western of Whitmore Lake
#1 of 1 in Whitmore Lake
198 reviews
15.6 mi away
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Courtyard Ann Arbor
#17 of 35 in Ann Arbor
245 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 35 in Ann Arbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Victorian Inn

Property: Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Address: 118 E Middle St, Chelsea, MI 48118-1033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Trip Advisor Circle of Excellence Award winner & the only lodging located in downtown Chelsea, blends historic charm & elegance with modern amenities essential to travelers: private baths, Free WIFI, AC, Cable TV, parking, premium room amenities and hearty breakfast, within walking distance to all cultural activities, The Purple Rose Theatre & Common Grill Restaurant. Cyclist friendly. Minutes to Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing