We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a lovely town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in a lovely town”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in the Carriage House Suite because we needed space for our daughter and ourselves. The separate bedroom in the suite was perfect. The décor and accommodations are excellent overall. The mattress on our bed was very nice; the sofa bed mattress was typical for a sofa bed. Kim and Jim are wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts are delicious and filling. Our reason for staying in Chelsea was to attend parent's orientation at the University of Michigan and to move our daughter into her dorm. Chelsea is well-located for a visit to U of M, and we have already booked a return stay in a smaller room for Parent's weekend. We found we should have done so earlier (probably months ago), but fortunately there was still availability for Thursday night (since only the Friday activities were highly interesting to us; we are not Michigan alumni...).
We ate dinner at the Common Grill one evening, and it fully lived up to its excellent reviews and our expectations. We will be back there, too! Zou Zou's and the 52 Barbecue were also delicious.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in one room so far; the Carriage House suite has ample space and all we needed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
91
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this Inn. We had the attic room.Wow James had done so much work into the Inn and this room is huge. Very comfortable. James wears many hats, butler, chef etc. He is such a lovely man with a smile for us all the time. He goes out of his way to be helpful to us out of towners. We missed the play at the Purple Rose Theater, told by other guests it was funny, very entertaining. The inn is so close to the theater and a few steps from downtown. Inn was very clean, large yummy breakfasts. A must stay if you want to stay in the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Recently we had the opportunity to stay at the Chelsea House Victorian Inn. This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and it was much more than we expected. Jim and Kim Myles are the perfect hosts. We felt at home as soon as we had a seat on the front porch. We stayed in the Carriage House, that has a separate entrance from the main house. A delicious homemade breakfast was delivered to us each morning, always including the Inn's signature crepes. We enjoyed our first evening relaxing in the gazebo in the back yard and gardens.

For a perfect get away, see a play at the Purple Rose Theater, have dinner at the Common Grill and spend the night at this very special Inn. We look forward to a return trip soon.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is a private apartment, including a full kitchen. The decor is more modern than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay in this beautifully restored B&B on a trip to visit family and friends. It has been meticulously and lovingly renovated, so that you feel like you're back in Victorian times, but with the convenience of modern, well-designed bathrooms. My room was charming and very comfortable. Jim, the owner, is extremely hospitable and prepares a wonderful full breakfast. The inn is just off the main street so it is extremely convenient to restaurants and shopping. My daughter-in-law made this reservation for me because she thought it would be a special treat for me -- boy was she right!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. Right in town and across from The Common Grill, it is a unique little gem. The rooms are quaint with beautiful craftsmanship all around the house. Jim, the owner, was friendly and we ate the best breakfast! Apple Cinnamon French Toast. Yummy! If you want the experience of staying downtown and enjoying the natives and the local spots then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Congdon room. Very comfortable and pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We attended the Chelsea Summerfest and had an opportunity to make our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast. Wow! We didn't know what we were missing. If they are all like the Chelsea House B&B's are certainly the way to go.We stayed in the Carriage House with its private entrance and wonderful décor. Were greeted enthusiastically by owner Jim. Great individual with terrific sense of humor. Had a wonderful breakfast delivered to our room. Will definitely make an attempt to schedule a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Chelsea House Victorian Inn for two days to celebrate my parent's 60th anniversary. The Victorian Inn was impeccably decorated and the breakfasts were superb. Kim and Jim are extraordinary hosts which made the whole experience that much more amazing. We have traveled extensively and would rate this B & B above and beyond all others. We absolutely did not want to leave! We're planning on staying there again for another special occasion.

Room Tip: While in Chelsea we ate at The Common Grill and saw a play at The Purple Rose Theater. We also tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb42412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Chelsea
104 reviews
11.9 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
381 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#8 of 34 in Ann Arbor
423 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
14.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Victorian Inn

Property: Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Address: 118 E Middle St, Chelsea, MI 48118-1033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Trip Advisor Circle of Excellence Award winner & the only lodging located in downtown Chelsea, blends historic charm & elegance with modern amenities essential to travelers: private baths, Free WIFI, AC, Cable TV, parking, premium room amenities and hearty breakfast, within walking distance to all cultural activities, The Purple Rose Theatre & Common Grill Restaurant. Cyclist friendly. Minutes to Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing