We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Birthday Suprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband surprised me with a stay at this lovely Inn in Chelsea Michigan. The comfort and attention to detailed made this a wonderful stay. The location is premium, close to all the activities he had planned. Dinner at the "Common Grill", and a show at the "Purple Rose Theater". Jim was very informative and gracious. Breakfast was well presented and filling. We will surely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
88
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Superlatives for qualities appreciated by lovers of elegance and finery. The facility built in early 1880s has all the ambience of its age and all the convenience of modern electric, plumbing and hvac. Noteworthy is the gracious host greeting and presence. Breakfast is over the top. You'll be in the center of town with walking access to restaurants and the Purple Rose Theatre
We'll return to this proud town! Mary and Arthur Sugarman

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

For most of 2013 I was a guest at the Chelsea House Victorian Inn in Chelsea Michigan. The Inn is well located in the beautiful town of Chelsea just steps from great restaurants (including The Common Grille one of the best cafes in SE Michigan) and Jeff Daniels Purple Rose Theater. It is also close to the Waterloo State Recreation Area which has trails for hiking and lakes for boating. There are also lots of local routes for cycling in the area.

The Inn has 5 great rooms including a one bedroom apartment complete with kitchen in the Carriage House (great for families with small children), a huge tower room with sitting and study areas that would also be great for a family with children and three large second floor rooms each with a sitting area and an attached bath. All the rooms in the main house are wonderfully appointed with Victorian era furniture to complement the fantastic job Jim and Kym Myles have done returning the Inn to its original beauty. The beds are great after a long day of work or play.

The common rooms of the Inn are also wonderfully appointed in the Victorian style filled with comfortable chairs providing a great atmosphere for conversation.

The breakfasts at the Chelsea House are wonderful. While Jim can cater to almost any requirements, his standard fare starting with his signature fruit crepes is wonderful and filling. I was particularly taken with his sausage and egg casserole and his fantastic apple French toast. Both helped me start a work day energetic and well nourished.

Since I was a guest for almost a year, I got to know Jim and Kym well. They are wonderful Innkeepers always ready to help visitors with their local activities or just to supply good conversation. Watch out for the two masters of the house, cats Millie and Buddy. they lend a certain charm to the Inn if you are lucky enough to meet them.

I would encourage business travelers to SE Michigan to consider staying at the Chelsea Inn instead of a standard motel. The accommodations are better and the company at the Inn is much more interesting than the people you encounter at a chain motel. Its a great place to stay for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband surprised me with a surprise Christmas gift by making plans for us to stay in at the Inn on January 16, 2014, in the Glazier Suite. The room had was spotless, spacious, and included a fireplace, sitting room and a large bathroom. The Victorian decor was beautiful and our Hosts, Kim and Jim, seemed to anticipate our every need. They also offered to assist my husband in securing tickets to the Purple Rose Theater and dining reservations at The Common Grill; both venues were excellent. In the morning, Jim made us a delicious homemade breakfast of crepes, an apple cinnamon french toast casserole, cantaloupe and coffee. And, although it was snowing, we were able to walk to each of our destinations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to make this an annual trip for the two of us. We highly recommend the Chelsea House Victorian Inn for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda_Knights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We appreciate the surprise of your review. We try hard to help in planning surprises and we've not given one away yet! We've even helped with specifics about what to pack for spouses who did the packing and had the suitcase in the car when they surprised their significant other. Your husband made the best choice for January on his own: The Glazier Suite. Its just a great room and extraordinarily nice to come back to during these cold winter months with the nice warm fireplace. We are thrilled that you were surprised, had a great time, and enjoyed your unique hot breakfast. We hope you can return sometime when you can take in the outside too: the gazebo and gardens are a fair substitute when the extra warmth of the Fireplace is no longer needed.

Thank you so much for taking time and extending the kindness of a review that will help other travelers. The specifics you shared are invaluable to someone deciding on a place to stay. Thanks again and stay safe and warm during these brutally cold days & nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Chelsea House and will certainly go back again. The inn is beautifully restored and furnished with many fine period antiques. We stayed in the Holmes room this January and although it was below zero outside our room was cozy and comfortably warm. The Holmes room is one of the smaller rooms in the house but it was just right for us as the house itself offers many areas outside of one's room to just sit and socialize or to relax with a good book in front of a fireplace. We spent our two evenings in the living room in front of a Christmas tree and a fire chitchatting and reading and loved this. Also, when you enter the home there are two small chairs positioned near a fireplace in the foyer and every morning before breakfast I'd sit there and read while I was surrounded by the wonderful scents of our morning meal being prepared. When we were there, Jim, our host, offered a different crepe specialty every morning along with fresh juice, coffee, tea and an egg/sausage omelet with fresh fruit and a stuffed french toast with fresh fruit and sausage. Speaking with Jim is just like reconnecting with an old friend. He loves this Inn as he was the one who spent many hours and years restoring it and he also loves the sweet town of Chelsea. Chelsea has some great places to get a meal. When we were there we ate at a BBQ place, the brewery in town and a fine dining restaurant. The town has some interesting shops in it and is very walkable. It is also located quite close to Ann Arbor. It was a fabulous get-away and we would highly recommend the Chelsea House Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We'd love to have you back and we appreciate how much you enjoyed the front room and the holiday decorations. Creating a relaxing warm atmosphere is paramount, but second only to the cleanliness of your room, and your satisfaction with breakfast. Many people enjoy the Alehouse and BBQ 52 which are our newest places to eat here in town and we are fortunate to have so many places to eat within 1-2 blocks both standard bearers and new comers alike. There is plenty of variety and something for everyone. We are in our 14th year of business and The Common Grill has been consistently superior in all of those years. As finer dining goes, in all our world travels The Common Grill can stand toe to toe with our favorites anywhere, without a required jacket or tie. Then, starting in June we have all the fun of Sounds & Sights on Thursday nights and the front porch gives you a place to enjoy the performance, with your favorite adult beverage, cheese, crackers or any other snack you may want while you relax and enjoy. Its a fair substitute for the fireplace in the front parlor in winter. Book reading is usually done in the Gazebo but you may already know all that but either way, we sure appreciate the kindness of your comments and the time you took to share them with other travelers. All the best to you both in 2014 and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband, mother and I spent one night at he Chelsea House Victorian b&b. We stayed in the apartment over the garage. There are quite a few steps to get into the apartment but it's really nice. It has its own separate entry, a big living room with two sofas, one is a pull out bed. There is a nice dining area and fully stocked kitchen (oven, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, silverware, pots, pans, dishes, utensils, everything). There is a good sized bedroom and a full bathroom off the kitchen. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub and shampoo, conditioner, eye makeup remover, soap, etc. There is also a washer and dryer. When you arrive at the b&b they take your order for then extra day's breakfast and ask what time you want it. If you are in the apartment breakfast is delivered to you. My husband and I stayed on the sofa bed. It has a blow up mattress top on it. It was not as comfortable as a normal bed but it was fine for a night. My mother stayed in the bedroom and said the bed was very comfortable. There is parking on site and the location was perfect for us because it was right downtown. The breakfast the next day was very good. The owners are pleasant and really helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are so glad that your family was able to spend an important & special time together during the Holidays here at Chelsea House, when family memories are so important: both honoring the old memories and creating new ones as life moves on and honored that you selected to spend that time here. We are thrilled that your family felt as though they found a place here, where they could enjoy family time away from home, and still feel at home. Thank you for taking time to share with others your thoughts about your experience here. Sharing that the space was clean, food was good and the stay was too short will encourage others to stay with us too, and give us a chance to earn their business. We hope that your wish to stay longer will translate into a return visit. and again, our we appreciate the special kindness these reviews represent to our small local business. Happy New Year to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I recently spent one night at Chelsea House and I cannot wait to return! I stayed in the lovely Glazier Suite with a fireplace and sitting area. The Inn keepers are lovely people. The breakfast was fabulous. Next time I will make it 2 nights and see a Purple Rose show and have a lovely dinner out and it'll be a fabulous mini-vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your breakfast and our town enough to be convinced your next stay must be for 2 nights. Starting in June, every Thursday night there are performance artists of all kinds on 6-8 different corners all around town: one band stand is a viewable distance from our front porch. Between the gazebo,& gardens in the back of the house for quiet relaxation and the front porch for people watching, its really nice to try a visit in the spring, summer & fall. There are plenty of outdoor activities and things to see and do in addition to the Purple Rose Theatre, Common Grill Restaurant and Jiffy Mix, to fill a two night stay. We will gladly help with planning and arrangement of it all.

But we digress. We really just wanted to thank you for being generous with your time in providing this review, and for the type of kindness your feedback represents to us and others who gain confidence from guest reviews when making a decision about a place to stay. Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Chelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
11.9 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Victorian Inn

Property: Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Address: 118 E Middle St, Chelsea, MI 48118-1033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Trip Advisor Circle of Excellence Award winner & the only lodging located in downtown Chelsea, blends historic charm & elegance with modern amenities essential to travelers: private baths, Free WIFI, AC, Cable TV, parking, premium room amenities and hearty breakfast, within walking distance to all cultural activities, The Purple Rose Theatre & Common Grill Restaurant. Cyclist friendly. Minutes to Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing