We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to a romantic place in time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelsea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Chelsea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Escape to a romantic place in time”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, lovingly restored historic home shared with us lucky guests. Cozy fires in the fireplaces and cushy luxurious beds. A charming town with terrific restaurants all within walking distance...and it sounds like I MUST see a play at the Purple Rose! Jim is a charming and accommodating host. And I need to mention the yummy breakfast and the fruit crepes. Looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KathieandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
94
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have to concur with all the good reports. Second time here, great hosts, basically next door to the Purple Rose, and everything downtown Chelsea. Recommend you call them first, before you call the restaurant, the Purple Rose, etc. I did it the hard way the first time, they can help put it all together for you. Last call the cell phone, forget the door bell, when you get there, it is cold in Michigan in the winter, Thereby you know where to park, and door will be opened for you . Great time for my wife and I. Great hosts. I would come back...I already did...Oh breakfast!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swampweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
You are a great Trip Advisor user!!! Thanks for our review, but also sharing how we are uniquely right next to all the good food & theatre plus, we are ready to be your "Concierge" putting it all together. Your suggestion about calling on the way here was genius: it does help guests with information like, where to park and we can be ready at the door to let them in. Just pick Chelsea, we do everything else to ensure our guests have a great stay. We have been too slow to write our thank you but its no less sincere. We appreciate your kindness and hope your summer is great so far, even though it seemed long in coming. Fond Regards. Jim & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our winter weekend started with a thoughtful upgrade to a suite by Jim, one of our hosts. The welcome extended to a really interesting tour of the Inn including photos before and after its complete restoration. The time and conversation shared by our host almost gave us the impression we were his and Kim's only guests. However later we met six charming ladies, repeat guests who also gave high praise to the Inn, our hosts and the delicious breakfast. We will definitely visit the Inn again this spring.
Herm and Darlene

Room Tip: See the virtual tour on the Inn's website. All the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband surprised me with a stay at this lovely Inn in Chelsea Michigan. The comfort and attention to detailed made this a wonderful stay. The location is premium, close to all the activities he had planned. Dinner at the "Common Grill", and a show at the "Purple Rose Theater". Jim was very informative and gracious. Breakfast was well presented and filling. We will surely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Superlatives for qualities appreciated by lovers of elegance and finery. The facility built in early 1880s has all the ambience of its age and all the convenience of modern electric, plumbing and hvac. Noteworthy is the gracious host greeting and presence. Breakfast is over the top. You'll be in the center of town with walking access to restaurants and the Purple Rose Theatre
We'll return to this proud town! Mary and Arthur Sugarman

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

For most of 2013 I was a guest at the Chelsea House Victorian Inn in Chelsea Michigan. The Inn is well located in the beautiful town of Chelsea just steps from great restaurants (including The Common Grille one of the best cafes in SE Michigan) and Jeff Daniels Purple Rose Theater. It is also close to the Waterloo State Recreation Area which has trails for hiking and lakes for boating. There are also lots of local routes for cycling in the area.

The Inn has 5 great rooms including a one bedroom apartment complete with kitchen in the Carriage House (great for families with small children), a huge tower room with sitting and study areas that would also be great for a family with children and three large second floor rooms each with a sitting area and an attached bath. All the rooms in the main house are wonderfully appointed with Victorian era furniture to complement the fantastic job Jim and Kym Myles have done returning the Inn to its original beauty. The beds are great after a long day of work or play.

The common rooms of the Inn are also wonderfully appointed in the Victorian style filled with comfortable chairs providing a great atmosphere for conversation.

The breakfasts at the Chelsea House are wonderful. While Jim can cater to almost any requirements, his standard fare starting with his signature fruit crepes is wonderful and filling. I was particularly taken with his sausage and egg casserole and his fantastic apple French toast. Both helped me start a work day energetic and well nourished.

Since I was a guest for almost a year, I got to know Jim and Kym well. They are wonderful Innkeepers always ready to help visitors with their local activities or just to supply good conversation. Watch out for the two masters of the house, cats Millie and Buddy. they lend a certain charm to the Inn if you are lucky enough to meet them.

I would encourage business travelers to SE Michigan to consider staying at the Chelsea Inn instead of a standard motel. The accommodations are better and the company at the Inn is much more interesting than the people you encounter at a chain motel. Its a great place to stay for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband surprised me with a surprise Christmas gift by making plans for us to stay in at the Inn on January 16, 2014, in the Glazier Suite. The room had was spotless, spacious, and included a fireplace, sitting room and a large bathroom. The Victorian decor was beautiful and our Hosts, Kim and Jim, seemed to anticipate our every need. They also offered to assist my husband in securing tickets to the Purple Rose Theater and dining reservations at The Common Grill; both venues were excellent. In the morning, Jim made us a delicious homemade breakfast of crepes, an apple cinnamon french toast casserole, cantaloupe and coffee. And, although it was snowing, we were able to walk to each of our destinations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to make this an annual trip for the two of us. We highly recommend the Chelsea House Victorian Inn for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda_Knights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chvictorian, Owner at Chelsea House Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We appreciate the surprise of your review. We try hard to help in planning surprises and we've not given one away yet! We've even helped with specifics about what to pack for spouses who did the packing and had the suitcase in the car when they surprised their significant other. Your husband made the best choice for January on his own: The Glazier Suite. Its just a great room and extraordinarily nice to come back to during these cold winter months with the nice warm fireplace. We are thrilled that you were surprised, had a great time, and enjoyed your unique hot breakfast. We hope you can return sometime when you can take in the outside too: the gazebo and gardens are a fair substitute when the extra warmth of the Fireplace is no longer needed.

Thank you so much for taking time and extending the kindness of a review that will help other travelers. The specifics you shared are invaluable to someone deciding on a place to stay. Thanks again and stay safe and warm during these brutally cold days & nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelsea
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Chelsea
104 reviews
11.9 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
392 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
14.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
705 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Victorian Inn

Property: Chelsea House Victorian Inn
Address: 118 E Middle St, Chelsea, MI 48118-1033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Chelsea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Trip Advisor Circle of Excellence Award winner & the only lodging located in downtown Chelsea, blends historic charm & elegance with modern amenities essential to travelers: private baths, Free WIFI, AC, Cable TV, parking, premium room amenities and hearty breakfast, within walking distance to all cultural activities, The Purple Rose Theatre & Common Grill Restaurant. Cyclist friendly. Minutes to Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing