We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the Future” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitehouse Restaurant

Whitehouse Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Clare
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Back to the Future”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

On our way through Clare, we were searching on the internet for a good restaurant and this one got our attention. It is unlike any restaurant we have previously encountered both from the inside appearance and the 2 staff (elderly women who are definitely in control and pull no punches) who were serving and cooking. They are friendly and refreshingly assertive. Honestly, it reminded me of being in a time-warp in the most wonderful way. If you read other reviews, you will learn that this is an exceptionally small joint: maybe 6 small (and I mean very small) booths which are close to the grill. Since it is summer, we decided to sit outside and marvel at what was inside. Our meals were basic but really, really good. I enjoyed one of the best cheese burgers I've had in long time and my husband had a "hamburger steak" dinner. We loved it and will return on our way through Clare as we go Up North!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SleepingBear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely slow and so-so food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 7:15 and left at 9pm. They were very apologetic and said they had to call someone in to help, but given there are only 4 or 5 tables inside (we sat at 1 of 2 outside tables) it still didn't add up. The food was fine. Good omelettes, large pancakes, decent burger. The wait to get the food was completely inexcusable and certainly not worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Locals are not going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

As new resident we made the obligatory visit to the White House. It's a funky old little 3 or 4 table house. I noticed the typical grub menu seemed a little pricey. There's not much overhead here! Anyway the waitress was inattentive (yes with 4 customers) and the food was completely unremarkable. Later I've talked with others in the area and they have all had bad experiences and are not going back. Quite unfortunate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We came across this great little diner as we were driving through Clare, Michigan on our way to Traverse City, Michigan. It has been there since the 1930's. Very small, only 6 booths, so you shouldn't be in a rush when you eat there. The grill and cook are right there in the diner and it is all family and friends working there. In one of the booths there was a man sitting there when a couple came in. He invited them to sit with him and they had a wonderful conversation. This man left and when another couple came in, and there were no empty booths, this couple invited them to sit with them. Again, not knowing one another, they also had a nice conversation. Our breakfast was great. Just a home town kind of place. We will be stopping in again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Now I'm not going to say that the food is outstanding, new and exciting. What I will say is if you are in the mood for comfort food this is the place to go in Clare. They serve breakfast all day, which is a major plus in my book! Now, the food is a bit greasy. But if you are looking for a good burger and fries, grease is to be expected. They have a lot of different items on their menu. So it's easy to please your whole family. If you have a hankering for something delicious, and possibly fattening, you've come to the right place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kailyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehouse Restaurant also viewed

Clare, Clare County
Clare, Clare County
 
Clare, Clare County
 

Been to Whitehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing