We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best kept secret”

Shepherd's Hollow Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Clarkston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shepherd's Hollow has been recognized as one of the Top 100 Public Golf Club's in the United States by Golf Digest. Set on more than 350 rolling acres, at one of the highest elevations in Oakland County, Shepherd's Hollow is among the most unique golfing experiences in the state of Michigan. 27 Holes tucked into a towering forest of pine and oak offers the golfer a natural setting that provides a sense of tranquility. Shepherd's Hollow is a true destination course. The golf is only part of the story. Our secluded club house offers beautiful surroundings with complete dining facilities. Our relaxing open air veranda and pine covered terrace allow each diner to enjoy the splendor of nature with a wide variety of expertly prepared culinary delights. We think you'll agree that dinner here is more than a meal, it's a unique dining experience.
Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

OK - i did not play golf/ haven't for years, but when a friend recommended the food (exec chef) i bit - and I keep coming back for more bites.
excellent service - great food (I mean anything on the menu tastes great) and the tall pines outside the large windows set the scene.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clasic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The course is beautiful. The course is surrounded by pine trees. No houses are in sight. The location is very convenient. It is equipped with full driving range, pro shop and clubhouse. Food is good and the price is reasonable, especially the price of wine. There are many elevation changes. The fairways are wide open. But due to the elevation changes It is easy to loose balls, especially for
long distance hitter. When I play there, I feel like to have some obligation to fit in the course.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Haehyun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful but slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a beautiful, challenging golf course. The staff are friendly and the food is good as well. Not many places you get home made fries to go with you on the cart. Having said that - we were on the course for over 6 hours and that is way too long for 18 holes of golf and by the end it takes the shine off of the experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular course took forever to play”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This course has three nines, designed by Arthur Hills. We played the second and third nines (holes 10-27). This is an amazing property with many terrific views and no homes in sight. There are a lot of elevation changes, some more than forty feet on a hole, and many uneven lies. No two holes are alike. The fairways were in great shape, despite no divot mix on the carts. The greens were very challenging but not crazy, and the speeds were above average. There was new sand in all of the greenside bunkers. There are a couple of blind tee shots, but the laminated hole guide on the cart was very helpful. These two nines were great.

Now the problems.

There is no GPS on the carts and the flagsticks do not have laser reflectors. So be sure to bring a preloaded course GPS device or a phone with a golf course GPS app. We had a Saturday tee time on the 10th hole at 9:12 and the 19th hole at 11:28. So, the pace of play is supposed to be four and a half hours. The first tee went in the ground at 9:18. We finished the first nine holes at 11:50 and waited on almost every shot. At the turn, the starter told us that there was a problem with the third and fourth group ahead of us and that they had been warned and told to pick up the pace of play. That didn't happen because we waited on every shot on the back nine and finished the round at 2:55. That was an inexcusable five hours and thirty five minutes to play eighteen holes. We did not see a ranger or a beverage cart on the course all day.

For an $80 green fee, the course is overpriced, given the missing services. And the pace of play ruined the day. The rating is five stars for the course and one star for the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A golf treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Like playing a resort course in S.E. Michigan. Every fairway and green were absolutely perfect. A treat!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rf2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shepherd's Hollow Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Shepherd's Hollow Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing