We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tu Tu Thai still sparkles after all these years”

The Churchill Arms with Tutu's Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$46
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Churchill Arms is a thriving establishment incorporating a traditional English Country Pub and authentic Thai Restaurant. You can find us in the delightful village of Long Crendon on the Bucks / Oxon border, just two miles from the market town of Thame.We offer a fine selection of real ales and quality wines, served in comfortable and relaxed surroundings decorated with local and Churchillian memorabilia. The welcoming atmosphere of the pub attracts locals as well as discerning customers from further afield. During the daytime the mood is relaxed with local business people enjoying a bite to eat and reading the free newspapers. Food is available Tuesday - Sunday 12 - 3pm and 6 - 10.30pm.During the evening the Churchill is always bustling with a good mix of customers enjoying the friendly atmosphere, wonderful Thai food and live sporting events.
Whitchurch
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tu Tu Thai still sparkles after all these years”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Located in a frequently featured Midsomer Murders location the high st Long Crendon, this is a very old meandering English Pub with a surprising spicy twist. Tu Tu hosts the Thai Restaurant which after a dozen years maintains high standard of sparkling Thai food. Friendly rambling building with a nice garden and a well designed outside area for smokers this remains a local pub with all the accentricity of clientelle that implies..
The Thai food is the star of the show and of a consistantly high standard. The service can be a little shambolic and the decor looks tired and could really do with freshening up. It/s the only Thai food worth travelling 20 miles to enjoy which we do regularly

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamiedf76, Owner at The Churchill Arms with Tutu's Thai, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our Thai food and pub. We have been enjoying some lovely days in our beautiful garden and we are constantly refreshing things regarding the decor as it is very easy for our busy pub to get tired. In fact over the last few weeks we have redecorated the Gents and replaced the decking outside, but we have more to come over the next few months.

We hope you will see some nice improvements when you visit us again and please let us know if our service standards are not up to scratch so we can help us and our staff improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food...on my doorstep!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I have to declare an interest! I live close enough to the Churchill to be able to eat and more importantly drink there without having to worry about having to drive! That said, even if I had to drive there I would. Thai food used to be a bit of a mystery to start with but now I am able to distinguish my red curries from the green ones and realising that pad thai is not the latest gadget from Apple, then I am much more confident about ordering. The food is always well cooked, the welcome always warm. If we ever get a Summer then simply sitting in the garden with a pint and a snack is an excellent way to pass the time. More power to your elbow Gentlemen long may you continue to flourish!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamiedf76, Owner at The Churchill Arms with Tutu's Thai, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoy our hospitality and food. We have requested an extra warm and dry summer just for you, so you can enjoy many pints in our beautiful beer garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Thai food served in congenial atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I have lunched here many times and the service has always been friendly and helpful. If you like Thai food it doesn't get much better than this. They also have a special lunch menu which is good value. The garden is lovely and well cared for so oudoor eating is a pleasure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 586cammie586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamiedf76, Owner at The Churchill Arms with Tutu's Thai, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoy our food and garden, hopefully we get many more chances to use the garden this year. Bring on the Sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Thai delight!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Recommended by friends, never new it was there! There is a wide range of options, the staff are very friendly and helpful. A Thai chef ensures authenticity. Booking may be necessary in peak times. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I had lunch at the Churchill Arms and enjoyed it very much. There is both a Thai menu and an English one. We had the pad thai and green chicken curry, and both were excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Churchill Arms with Tutu's Thai also viewed

Long Crendon, Aylesbury Vale
Long Crendon, Aylesbury Vale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing