We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrapbooking”

Swan Inn Motel & Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Inn Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comstock Park
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My BFF & I stayed here for convience and price...we were both pleasantly surprised, the setting was very nice, the room was very clean and comfortable...the room smelled clean, no smoking smell issues thankfully, no blow dryer or shampoo of which I forgot both...lol Not their fault, but both I believe they should have in the rooms...decor older, but well kept and clean, I slept like a rock, I don't remember waking up all night which is the norm for me... Outside the entrance was also clean and web free. Would stay there again...

Room Tip: Prefer the setting of the rooms in h back bldg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackiO63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Overall, the place is quite good.

Restaurant:
I enjoyed the big ol' Alpine burger. I definitely recommend it to burger fans. The ranch chips and onion rings were also quite good.

Motel:
The best part is that the motel appears to be very clean and well maintained. Cleanliness should be a "given" at any hotel, but unfortunately, it's not. "Clean freaks" can be assured that they will get clean rooms here. The furnishings and fixtures are a bit dated, but in very good condition. My only issue was that the "non-smoking" room smelled as though it was a "smoking" room. Being a non-smoker, I thought that maybe I was just being overly sensitive to it, but my travel buddy (who smokes) agreed with me. I considered asking for a different room but had the apparent false impression from the website that I used to book, that the motel was nearly full.
Given the overall impression of the place, I'm sure they would have happily accommodated me.
I thought the price was just a tad high, as there was no microwave, refrigerator, coffee (available at the office) or iron in the room, but if you just want a good, clean, basic room, with a good, on-site restaurant, this place will certainly satisfy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusterB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Great place to stay and eat!! we arrived late the room was clean and fresh, pool awesome, it was nice to have the restaurant and motel in one!! the food is excellent. nice and quite slept well. the only - was the pillows need to be updated,

Room Tip: bring your own pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We eat at Swan Inn at least a couple of times a month. Excellent breakfast, good perch sandwich, and a wide variety of choices. I happen to like the liver and onions dinner which I know is not for everyone but it's good home cooking. I love the pecan waffle and they will modify your food to your liking. Friendly staff, too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I was scared going there after reviewing other places. My first impression on entering the room was that it was CLEAN!!! It smelled clean. The carpet was clean. The bathroom was clean. The bed was clean and felt very new and firm. The outside was clean and well kept. It was an older hotel, but that made it charming. The pillow as small though. As I remember there was not much in the bathroom with regards to shampoo. I would stay there again and advise others to also. This is my first review, that is how much I was impressed by it. I have stayed in Las Vegas and many other hotels at 2-3x's as much that were not as nice as this. It reminded me of a 4star hotel I stayed in once, other than the bathroom shampoo, (as I remember it was).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is a little bit dated in its decor but is meticulously maintained. Extremely neat and clean. Very clean pool. Huge room, We had 1 queen bed, good size table with 2 chairs and there was a ton of space for all of suitcases, bags, cooler, etc. Shower had fantastic water pressure which is rare these days.

There is a restaurant attached run by the same owner. Very good breakfast. Large selection, portions ans very reasonable prices. At the back of the restaurant, facing the parking lot and back building is a small ice cream shop. Again great value! Lots of hard packed choices ans 24 soft serve flavors. Low prices.

We really enjoyed our stay. We didn't want to spend $150+ a night as we were traveling for 5 days and really trying to keep the costs down.

If you don't mind a non chain hotel I would highly recommend the Swan Inn Motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVCMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a wonderful little mom & pop motel with a restaurant on the property & also an ice cream shop. They also have an outdoor pool (seasonal). It is only 10 minutes to downtown Grand Rapids and so much cheaper than the chain motels!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cinnilouwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comstock Park
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids North
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
4.4 mi away
The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids N/Walker
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Inn Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Inn Motel & Restaurant

Address: 5182 Alpine Ave NW, Comstock Park, MI 49321-9794
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Comstock Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comstock Park
Price Range: £60 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swan Inn Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Swan Inn Motel and Restaurant. Our motel features free hi-speed wireless internet access, cable TV, outdoor swimming pool and on site restaurant. We are perfect for business and leisure travelers because we have something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Swan Inn Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing