We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Northern gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keweenaw Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you love the feel of log cabins, serenity and a wood burning fireplace..this is for you! The cabins are nestled in the woods and the lodge is a short walk up a trail. The golf course onsite adds to the make this a great place to stay..the view from the course is amazing( Brockway Mountain ) The service at restaurant at the main lodge was top notch..so was the food! Even though there is a free continental breakfast here with your cabin/room..go for the weekend breakfast buffet..it is top notch and extremely reasonable. The chef has a great history and we found the choices amazing.This resort is at the top of the Keweenaw peninsula..Lake Superior is a short jaunt..one mile..there are first class bike trails, a great place for kayaking, hiking , and exploring the rugged shores of Lake Superior. A great get-a-way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seni0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

Got to the Lodge above Copper Harbor during our trip around Lake Superior. Checked into the front desk and was given a fly swatter without asking for one. The flys in the room and the lodge's dining room were horrendous. Apparently this happens every year for a month or so and we just happened to be there at the right time.
We didn't reserve a cabin but went to the motel area and the room we had was fair but the decor and furniture is in drastic need of an update. I wouldn't be surprised if everything is from the 1970s or very early 1980s. It's comfortable but drastically different from the well furnished main lodge which is a shame.
There is wifi available which was spotty at times. There is also a fitness area at the basement of the Lodge which is very small with a few dead weights, a treadmill and a couple other items.
In the Lodge, the dining room was very nice and spacious with plenty of windows to give ample natural lighting but once again the flys coming in through the broken screen windows was a big annoyance during dinner. The free morning breakfast is full of fresh fruits and cold cereal. Good enough to get you going on your day.
The bar on the other side of the Lodge is fairly well stocked with ample seating and the main entrance area has a fireplace and a few comfortable chairs/couches available if you want to sit and read.
The one oddity of the Lodge was there is no cell phone service but down the hill in Copper Harbor there is.
It is a very nice place to stay in the area and would be exceptional with some effort put into minor fixes in the screen windows and updating the rooms. There is obvious effort that has been put in to the main lodge building which was built in the 1930s but I was disappointed that it hadn't been extended yet to the other buildings. If staying here again I will probably reserve a cabin instead. My minor annoyances with the decor are not enough to deter my from visiting again if I find myself in the area again at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I have stayed at the Lodge a few times and love it each time. The setting is amazing, and only a short distance to Copper Harbor and the beauty of Lake Superior. I have only stayed in the cabins near their golf course. The cabins are great, especially with the big stone fireplaces on a cool, or cold evening. The main lodge, built during the 1930's, is beautiful and the food is excellent. If my wife and I are visiting the Keweenaw area, we will always stay at the Lodge and in one of their cabins. The surrounding towns and sites are all within a short driving time. Always love the experience!

Room Tip: Check their website...cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I went on a longish camping trip and had decided to stay one night in hotel just so we could shower and reorganize. I had the reservation in advance as I had stayed there some years back but he had never been to the lodge or the western U.P before.
We had gotten to Copper Harbor a little to check in so we decided to see the town first. My husband immediately loved the area and we decided we'd stay at the tip of the peninsula an extra night in our tent.
When we got to the lodge and got into our cabin, with it's own wood burning fire place (wood provided, as well as kindling) we turned right around a booked another night in the lodge!
Great services, friendly people, amazing vistas. what's not to love!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We traveled to Copper Harbor MI and stayed at Keweenaw Mountain Lodge, reserving a "rustic cabin", which looked quaint and cozy on the website. The cabins are split in duplex style. I was advised the cabins had just been renovated and redecorated. Our cabin appeared to have a relatively new loveseat and chair, but the rest of the furnishings looked as though they came from a garage sale or second hand store specializing in old junk. The bed was the worst I have ever slept in and the bathroom was a wreck. I originally reserved two nights, but immediately called the front desk to cancel the second. The round of golf was phenomenal, which made the overnight stay at least tolerable. Continental breakfast was forgettable, but the main lodge itself was very nice.

Room Tip: We didn't check out the motel rooms off the main lodge, which might be an idea if we ever return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is truly a Inn that has all the charm of early mountain vacation grand days with modern necessities included. We had a charming cabin, fireplace, clean room, clean bathroom, plenty of heat on a frosty evening. The dining room is perfect atmosphere for the mountain "resort", food good, charming bar/lounge, professional staff. We wished we had stayed longer, very charming place. The scenery around the golf course is stunning, great place to walk and explore.

Room Tip: The cabins are very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Located about as far north in Michigan as you can go, the lodge was built in the 1930's by the WPA. There are about a dozen cabins, one, two or three bedroom, each with a fireplace and living room. Plenty of room to relax with friends and family. There are also a few motel type rooms. No kitchen facilities, but the restaurant at the lodge is outstanding. There are several other restaurants nearby as well. The lodge is just a few miles from Lake Superior. The scenery is awesome. There is also a 9 - hole golf course on the grounds.
We were there for our son's wedding, and were simply blown away by the service that the staff provided. Couple this with the scenery, and it was a fantastic day for the young couple.

Room Tip: Cabins are definitely more spacious than the motel rooms. There is no refrigerator, but you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Keweenaw Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keweenaw Mountain Lodge

Address: US Highway 41, Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Copper Harbor
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Keweenaw Mountain Hotel Copper Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing