We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lesson learned- Read the reviews” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Lansing, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lesson learned- Read the reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

20 family members traveled to Copper Harbor to help my son celebrate his 30th birthday and booked 3 cabins and 2 hotel rooms for the occasion (without reading the reviews- Big mistake!). We were the ONLY ONES registered at the resort besides 2 campers in the campground. Our son, his girlfriend and my nephew stayed at Fort Wilkins campground. There was no cell phone service so we would travel back and forth to get together between the resort and thier campground to make plans for the day. On the second day we had a cookout and had the 3 campers over for supper when the owner approached us and came unglued about them being over and wanted paid for not only that day but also the day before when they stopped by to see what the plans were for the day. If she would have come over and been civil about things there would have been no problem with paying the $4 apiece for that day but to pay her for the short time they stopped by the day before was ridiculous. My daughter paid them for that day and the day before and after paying her was told they had to be out of there by 9:00. It was 8:50. Again, we were the only one's there! She also was asking why they didn't stay at her campground. We travel alot and I don't have a problem with rules and have never had an issue like this before but this lady has absolutly no clue how to deal with people. This could have easily been resolved without all the hard feelings if she would have approached things differently. Afterwords we asked our son why he didn't stay in the same campground. He said "I read their reviews". Had to laugh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    4
    8
    13
See reviews for
35
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We traveled to Copper Harbor to help our son celebrate his 30th birthday. We had 20 family members travel to Copper Harbor for the occasion. Of the 20 people only 3 did not stay at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground. Since there is no cell phone service in Copper Harbor the 3 family members who did not stay at Fanny Hooe had to stop in from time to time to see what everyones plans were for the day etc. The second day we were there the owners came unglued and were yelling at us about those 3 not being registered as a guest, etc. The owners were SO rude and absolutely unreasonable. After spending over $2000 to stay at their resort, between 4 families staying there, they were worried about a mere $36. Pretty sure they would not have had those 3 cabins and 2 motel rooms rented had we not been there. I would NEVER stay at their resort again and recommend to anyone I know that travels to Copper Harbor to stay away as well. Unless they like to be treated like dirt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Genette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

An otherwise fine campground ruined by rude owners; after booking our two night stay we were chastised for being visited by friends staying at different accommodations in Copper Harbor. Apparently each visitor is required to pay a $3 fee and be off the property by 9 pm (which seems a little stringent as it isn't even dark by 9 pm). To make matters worse, we confused the checkout time with our last campground (we were at two this weekend) and were confronted by the owner as he yelled at us from the cab of his truck.

Overall we were made to feel like they were going out of their way to even rent us a site; we won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WoodOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Lake Fanny Hooe resort in August with my brother and sister-in-law. We brought our ATV's to ride in the 'bush', and check out some of the places off from the beaten path.

The motel was dated but clean. We slept comfortably and had a beautyful view up the lake. The location of the motel is perfect for a base to explore the Keewenaw.

The office staff made us feel like criminals because we had ATV's. We were all Yoopers, born and raised, and know the frustration of disrespectfull people on motorized recreational transportation. We did not deserve to be made out to be bad guys before we even turned a wheel. After reading some of the reviews for this place we see we were not alone.

Maybe next time we will try the Keewenaw Mountain Lodge, or someother place that will allow us to show that we are respectful people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A62chv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Have been to Copper Harbor many times, but this was my lst stay at Lake Fanny Hooe. There were 3 in our party, so we stayed in one of their 3 cabins (#3), which had 2 bdrms with full bed in each. I slept on the sofa as I had 2 small dogs with me, which was okay for me as I am only 5' 3". If you are large, you probably would not enjoy the tiny bathroom & kitchen, but they were clean & well-equipped. Towels were new and the shower was a step-in. Our biggest complaint was lack of a microwave. Mgt said they tried to install them in the past, but lacked enough power & blew fuses. Also a rail on the 2-3 steps to the back of the cabin would be safer as I had my 84 y.o. mother with me. Otherwise, we loved it here and would definitely return. Be sure to eat at the Harbor Haus restaurant for German-American cuisine overlooking Lake Superior and just 5 min. away. Also check out the Laughing Loon gift shop for some great art. Fanny Hooe also has a small lakeside motel unit, which we will probably try out next time as it is quite a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraEscanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Wood paneling on the wall? Fake wooden bed frames? Threadbare towels? Single use shampoo packets that I could not get open despite multiple trys? Faint smell of smoke in a nonsmoking room? All this for $104.95 plus tax AFTER Labor Day? Never again...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrangerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rue, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I and our dog Fred,love this place.We have been coming up to Copper Harbor
for the last 30 years.The passed 2 years we have enjoyed Lake Fanny Hooe camp ground.We stay for 3 full weeks every year.It is so peaceful here and quite.The management are very good
people.And the restrooms and showers are very clean,also I like it because you can do your laundry right there.The grounds are keep clean,and they even have a playground for children.
Also a club house where you can relax in,that is very nice and clean too.So if you want a peaceful clean and enjoyable place to stay while you are in Copper Harbor,this is the place,Lake Fanny Hooe Resort.

Betty & David Musolf
La Rue Ohio

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground

Property: Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground
Address: 505 Second Street, Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal resort with two-bedroom cottages and lakefront motel with kitchenettes and individual balconies on historic Lake Fanny Hooe and bordering 250,000 acres of northern wilderness. Modern campground with water/electric and full hook-up sites for tents and RVs. Centrally located and walking distance to most of Copper Harbor's shops and restaurants. Great fishing spot with many nearby attractions such as Ft. Wilkins State Park, Copper Harbor Lighthouse, Brockway Mountain, Isle Royale National Park,and Lake Superior. Resort amenities include clubhouse with hot showers and clean bathrooms, indoor fireplace, game & snack room, sandy swimming beach, outdoor fire pits, picnic tables, grills, gift shop/camp store, LP gas, dump station, laundromat, playground, and boat rentals on premise. Direct access to hiking, biking and ATV trails. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing