We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Covert-South Haven KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely PERFECT!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What incredibly nice folks. They provide the best customer service that you could ask for. Prices were VERY reasonable. They do not gouge for things like ice, water, and firewood. They helped me (at no charge) with a flat tire. Clean and fun!

Room Tip: The Beach Castle quarters was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here the week before Memorial Day weekend.
It was pretty quite with only a few other campers staying there.
We noticed it is a very well kept campground. The family that runs it has a knack for detail.
The deluxe RV sites are very nice. The site we stayed at had a very large concrete pad a fire pit, patio furniture and a full size gas grill.
Each deluxe site was nicely landscaped. They were very busy getting ready for the up coming holiday weekend while we were there.
But were always available if we had a request or a question.
The only negative thing I can honestly say about this campground is the WIFI is so weak they should not even advertise it in there ads.
It was terribly slow.
Others than that we were very satisfied with our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer Glen, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We are new comers to the RV world and we stayed at Coverts KOA to try our hand out in camping, Even though it was a cold and rainy weekend the staff at Coverts did their best to make our accommodations pleasurable. The showers and rest rooms where very clean. The whole facilities where well maintained and had fun things to do for the kids.
We definitely would go back.

J&K
Homer Glen IL

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to a KOA. It will be hard to top this place. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The grounds are very clean and well maintained. The bathroom and shower facilities are clean although some new shower heads would be nice, and maybe consider a larger, family type bathroom with shower to help with kid clean up after playing at all the activities.

There is fun stuff for the kids on the grounds, some for a nominal fee. There is a jumping pillow, pool, fishing, field golf, a couple of playgrounds, crafts and bingo. They have a kids movie on the lawn or in activity center on Saturday. They had an all you can eat pancake breakfast on Sunday ($5.00). There is a game room with limited arcade games. They have a dog playground that is enclosed for Rover to play also.

They have ice cream and pizza; pizza is delivered to your campsite. They also deliver your purchased firewood and ice to your campsite.

You are only a couple miles from Lake Michigan beach and South Haven where there is always stuff going on. There are wineries all around.

Some suggestions are to hide the junk yard that is on the southwest side of the property, it is an eye sore to an otherwise beautiful setting. Eliminate the visitor fee for those who are only visiting family or friends and not staying (wristband system is effective in identifying register guest to avoid unauthorized use and all other stuff is fee based).

You won't be disappointed at KOA Covert South Haven. Great job DeRosa Family!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishrover1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We planned to stay in Covert 2 days ,but due to an r.v. problem we were there 5. It is a good camping spot with plenty of woods at the edges of the property . Office staff will answer any questions , but are not willing to chat. They were unable to help get a computer reservation for our next koa destination , stating computer ignorance , suggested we do it via our cell phone.

Room Tip: centr of campground is totally open........watch out for afternoon sun and no shady spots
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nana1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Covert-South Haven KOA, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are so sorry to hear you had a problem with your rig during a recent stay with us and that your experience as not as great as it should have been. We aren't typically able to make internet reservations at other KOA Campgrounds as our computer systems are not linked together but we are more than happy to provide phone numbers or any other means to assist you in making those reservations on your own. We also offer a wide variety of sites to please all our campers including some in the shade and some in the sun. Many people prefer open areas for satellite reception. We hope you'll come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just got back from a weekend to see the fall colors up in Michigan. When we arrived at the campground they were so nice and efficient. They asked if we needed wood and then someone showed us to the site, helped us back in our trailer and delivered the wood! The site was perfect and secluded.
The kids loved the jumping pillows and all of the other activities that were offered. The adults loved the quietness and the super clean showers and bathrooms.
We are sure to come back again next year as this was one of the best weekends we had all year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Covert-South Haven KOA, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our campground. The fall colors are absolutely breathtaking in this part of Michigan and we often have many campers visit us specifically during this time of year to see them. Our activities are one of the things that sets us apart from everyone else and we'll continue to offer them as much as possible. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our family has gone to the Covert KOA on more than one occasion now and we have enjoyed the property and seasonal activities offered. The grounds were well maintained throughout. We stayed in the cabins, and each time they were clean and in good shape. The owners also seem friendly enough, however when checking in this year they charged us an extra fee for each of our kids to stay! This was not indicated on the website cabin pricing and I would say is misleading. If you're positioning yourself as a family campground then why are children considered extras??

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Covert-South Haven KOA, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback and that you've been a loyal camper with us several different times. We wanted to address your concerns directly with regards to the 'extra fees'. We are a very family friendly campground and pride ourselves on the numerous activities and amenities we provide for the entire family. In order to help us maintain those we do apply a small modest fee for each person who camps with us over the age of 5 who uses those amenities. These extra resources go towards providing an even better experience next year. We hope you will give us another chance next season and we'll look into making our cabin pricing clearer on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covert
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
9.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
6.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
331 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
142 reviews
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covert-South Haven KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covert-South Haven KOA

Property: Covert-South Haven KOA
Address: 39397 M 140 Hwy, Covert, MI 49043-8711
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Covert
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Covert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Covert / South Haven KOA has everything you need to enjoy a relaxing vacation in the great outdoors. Enjoy our beautiful location just a few miles from Lake Michigan as well as all the amenities we have on the campground including a jumping pillow, heated swimming pool, planned activities and much more. Campers will love our spacious RV sites, shaded tent sites or two different types of cozy cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Covert-South Haven KOA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing