We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"What a Gem"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"What a Gem"”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

In great need of a relaxing break, we recently spent four fabulous nights at Hazel Bank. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home by Gary and Donna. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A beautiful hotel with extremely comfortable rooms, stunning views and many unexpected touches. Gary's front of house hospitality was first class and Donna's cooking was not only exceptional but inspirational. We were very sorry to leave Hazel Bank but will most definitely be back. Thank you Gary and Donna for a marvellous few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham1200247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review ,as a local born couple it is always a pleasure to greet guests and show them the very best of what Borrowdale has to offer, It is always satisfying to know that our visitors have enjoyed our Country house and we look forward to welcoming both again soon ...Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
221
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at this delightful Country House Hotel. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the patron, Garry, to the moment we departed, the warmth and concern for our experience was always apparent. The rooms are very comfortable, and the food prepared by Donna is first class. The Hotel has the comfort of a 5* hotel but without some of the stuffiness that you often find, resulting in a very relaxed environment.
We will certainly return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drtease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Bank Coun... B, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us here,What makes it all worthwhile is the enjoyment of our guests and the experience they take away from Borrowdale....without doubt the most beautiful valley in the Lake District....
We hope you visit again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Everything about Hazel Bank oozed charm and elegance. The setting is beautiful and the rooms (including the lounge and dining room) comfortably and tastefully furnished. So much thought has gone into making this such a pleasant place to stay. Breakfast and evening meals were exquisite and well worth the price. To be recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WALMSLEYd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Bank Coun... B, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review....Donna and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Borrowdale, We are very proud of our house and its always pleasing to hear from satisfied guests ...We both look forward to seeing you both again.

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the Hazel Bank Country House with my friend who has been raving to me about this hotel after staying there with her husband. I was not disappointed. The rooms are beautiful but more importantly the bed might just be the best one I have ever slept on in a hotel. It goes without saying that it is set in one of the prettiest places in the Lake District and the views and scenery from both our room and the lounge were stunning. Gary and Donna, the owners made us feel like we were old friends rather than paying guests and gave us a tour of the rooms they have recently refurbished using local materials and craftsmen. I could not fault the food, both the dinner and the breakfast were home cooked and amazingly good and satisfying. Gary has an extensive knowledge of wine and his recommendations for both me and my friend (we have different tastes in wine) were spot on. The whole stay at Hazel Bank made me feel warm and satisfied and itching to return again with more family in tow!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Fantastic headline !! We believe we are all that is good about England...Traditional Country House,Traditional Food and a Traditional welcome all in Englands most beautiful Valley of Borrowdale.....Thank you for your review and we both hope to see you again ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My friend had never been to the Lake District and as I only had one night available to give her a memorable visit which would leave her wanting to return, I knew Gary and Donna's haven was the place to stay. The winter refurbishments are beautifully in keeping with the house, which is only to be expected as their standards are very high......still they took pity and let us stay!
From arrival to departure their unrivalled hospitality made us feel special. As with my last visit the stay was also enriched by our fellow guests who all seemed to be enjoying the magic of Hazel Bank as it leached away the cares and stress of life outside the valley. The local fare extended to pre-dinner Cumbrian Gin for the G and T's and post dinner Cumbrian Damson Gin which I'm not sure added to the quality of the words laid down in the hard fought game of Scrabble.
Dinner was sublime from first to last mouthful and my friend left vowing to return with walking boots and family. Objective achieved.
I cannot recommend this retreat highly enough, Gary and Donna are a world class double act, thank you both again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Was lovely to see you back at Hazel Bank ,Although just a short break this time.Having completed our first year here it is satisfying to see old guests rebooking !...It was also good to here that "The Magic continues " ....we look forward to seeing both again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A fantastic stay for my birthday, Gary is a fantastic host, and Donna (chef) a hidden gem!
The food and service fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, we felt thoroughly looked after and enjoyed it so much have already booked our return visit for my husband's birthday.
Thank you Gary and Donna for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynf196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review ......We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Donna`s cooking.We do work hard on buying and producing the freshest locally sourced produce as you know.

We look forward to seeing you both again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Borrowdale in this beautiful country house. The location in the stunning Borrowdale is outstanding with access to wonderful walks from the door – no need to use a car and there is a regular bus service through stunning scenery at the end of the drive. The reception and service were extremely friendly and very efficient with Donna and Gary being the perfect ever-attentive hosts. The food was stunning cooked by Donna and wonderfully presented by Gary. We would definitely recommend taking advantage of the evening dinner as the perfect conclusion after a day out in Borrowdale and the Lakes. The bedroom was very comfortable and relaxing with a very homely feel. The large lounge with log fire is a highlight of the hotel with dramatic views and wonderfully therapeutic ambiance. A great place to sit, relax and read. An added bonus is the regular visits of the red squirrels to the garden! We cannot recommend Hazel Bank Country House highly enough and would like to say thank you to Donna and Gary for making our 25th wedding anniversary so perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views but those facing into Borrowdale have exceptional and expansive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review ,We do try to make sure our guests enjoy their stay ,and as you rightly say the beautiful house and its location is a great help........Glad you enjoyed the Food and Wine and the Squirrels are always here !!

Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
1.7 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
13.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel Bank Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel Bank Country House Hotel

Property: Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
Address: Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hazel Bank Country House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Borrowdale Valley in the heart of the Lake District just 10 minutes from Keswick, this family-run country house offers stunning views, excellent food and free Wi-Fi and parking. Set in 4 acres of tranquil countryside, it commands a privileged position above the hamlet of Rosthwaite, providing some spectacular views of the surrounding fells. Originally built in 1840, the property is infused with the vibrancy of its historic past and it still retains many of its original period features. Whether it is an energetic day on the fells or a relaxing afternoon tea on the lawn, Hazel Bank is the perfect place to escape, relax and explore. There is a choice of 8 en-suite guestrooms available, all located within the main residence of the country house. Luxurious and elegantly furnished, every room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Superior and Deluxe options are available and the majority of rooms benefit from magnificent views of the grounds and the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hazel Bank Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing