We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Views, magnificent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views, magnificent service!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I wish I could live at the Hazel bank Country House! The setting, the meals, the ambience, the room, the views were all spectacular. Gary and Donna meet and exceed a guest's every need and wish. So elegant, yet so comfortable! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The view from the Dalehead Room is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our lovely Country House...We are very proud of it and our valley .....and as Local owners are pleased to be able to look after our guests ...We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
228
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had three nights here in May and we will book for longer next time. The location, scenery, food, people, red squirrels just outside the dining room windows, all wonderful, can't wait to go back. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this place - can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: We had Scafell, what a very comfortable room, fantastic views. Nice big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely reviews ....although when you are situated in such a beautiful valley and in such a beautiful historic country house the job is made so much easier ,also lovely guests that appreciate the surroundings also add to the package.......Squirrels come as standard :) ....all the best ..Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is a gem; the quality of everything on offer is beyond excellent. The generosity and hospitality of Gary and Donna reflect the superb and effortless combination of first class accommodation, food and company. Impossible not to revisit.

Room Tip: Castle Crag has a walk-in shower, others have showers over a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philandlizhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely Country House, Castle Crag is a lovely room which we have recently refurbished ,and we are delighted you enjoyed it ..We look forward to seeing you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have been regular visitors to Borrowdale for nearly 30 years now, and view it as our get away from it all place. We had previously made regular use of the Leathes Head Hotel just by Grange, because the then owner/proprietors Roy and Janice Smith, ran a wonderfully warm and welcoming establishment, and chef David Jackson provided excellent quality and variety of food.

When Roy and Janice retired 3 years the new owners changed the style of the hotel ago we looked around for alternatives and this year finally hit upon the Hazel Bank, run by Gary and Donna. The only way I can describe the experience is that it feels like we've come back home. Gary is incredibly welcoming, making everybody feel valued and at ease, and helping with all queries, from what wine to have, to where the best local walks are to be found. The atmosphere encourages all residents to relax and enjoy their stay, and to mingle with the other residents if they so choose, or to enjoy the experience on their own terms.

Donna spends most of her time behind the scenes running an outstanding kitchen, but is happy to help out on any matters whenever the need arises. The menu is different each night and every element of the meal is prepared to exacting standards.

Both Donna and Gary clearly have a passion for providing an excellent break from the hurly burly of the modern world, and they achieve this with consummate ease.

The hotel itself is situated in very well maintained ground, with stunning views across to the fells.

The rooms are prepared to a very high standard, and there is a programme under way to refresh all the rooms, showing again that nothing is assumed by the owners.

Delighted to have stumbled across this special hotel, and one I recommend whole heartedly, and any reluctance is because I don't want to run the risk of not being able to go whenever I'd like to due to full occupancy!

We will be frequent repeat visitors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review,As a couple born and Bred in the valley we do find ourselves in a unique situation of being the only locally owned and personally run establishment in the Valley,as a result of which we like to be able to share this with our guests ,Donna loves her attention to detail and i enjoy making people feel at home ....as i always say 'we are small enough to care' ...We are delighted to continue where Roy and Janice left off ... We look forward to seeing you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This family run hotel is superb! The decor, welcome and attention to detail is excellent and the food is superb. Our evening meals were beautifully cooked by Donna and were very well presented. We felt extremely well looked after - nothing was too much trouble and Gary was a great host. His knowledge of the local area is extensive and we felt thoroughly relaxed - a great way to recharge the batteries!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
So kind of you to take time to review us here and so pleased we were able to make your break a good one.We do like to think that we are local enough to know and small enough to care !!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel was everything I had hoped for ... and more! The location is spectacular, nestled in the valley with stunning views from every window. Gary, the host, welcomed us at the front door and offered to carry our bags before showing us to our room - Great Gable. I am very fussy about cleanliness and the room and bathroom were spotless. The room has recently been refurbished and has been done to a very high standard. The bed is extremely comfortable, even the pillows were perfect. There were two yummy speciality chocolates, a carafe of complimentary sherry, biscuits and all the normal facilities to make drinks. Breakfast and supper were served in the dining room and both were of a very high standard. The supper was amazing - Goats cheese tart with the most perfect of pastry, a taster of wild mushroom soup, duck breast main, lemon meringue tart, tea/coffee. All delicous! Gary is the perfect host - full of warmth, helpfulness, care & local knowledge. A really perfect break - I could do with one a month!

Room Tip: Great Gable was perfect. It overlooks the front garden so has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you both for your wonderful review .We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our newly refurbished "Great Gable" four poster room ,the only rooms in Borrowdale that look onto Great Gable.!
It was also good to see guests making the most o their stay in Borrowdale...You do the walking and let us look after the rest !! Sounds like a slogan coming on ;)..We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

In great need of a relaxing break, we recently spent four fabulous nights at Hazel Bank. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home by Gary and Donna. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A beautiful hotel with extremely comfortable rooms, stunning views and many unexpected touches. Gary's front of house hospitality was first class and Donna's cooking was not only exceptional but inspirational. We were very sorry to leave Hazel Bank but will most definitely be back. Thank you Gary and Donna for a marvellous few days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham1200247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review ,as a local born couple it is always a pleasure to greet guests and show them the very best of what Borrowdale has to offer, It is always satisfying to know that our visitors have enjoyed our Country house and we look forward to welcoming both again soon ...Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
1.7 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
389 reviews
13.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel Bank Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel Bank Country House Hotel

Property: Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
Address: Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hazel Bank Country House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Borrowdale Valley in the heart of the Lake District just 10 minutes from Keswick, this family-run country house offers stunning views, excellent food and free Wi-Fi and parking. Set in 4 acres of tranquil countryside, it commands a privileged position above the hamlet of Rosthwaite, providing some spectacular views of the surrounding fells. Originally built in 1840, the property is infused with the vibrancy of its historic past and it still retains many of its original period features. Whether it is an energetic day on the fells or a relaxing afternoon tea on the lawn, Hazel Bank is the perfect place to escape, relax and explore. There is a choice of 8 en-suite guestrooms available, all located within the main residence of the country house. Luxurious and elegantly furnished, every room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Superior and Deluxe options are available and the majority of rooms benefit from magnificent views of the grounds and the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hazel Bank Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing