We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
329
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
329
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade biscuitsred squirrelsdecanter of sherrylake districtbeautiful houseattention to detailperfect hostsborrowdale valleyowners garyset menulittle touchesgreat skillexcellent wine listoutstanding viewsfront lawncountry housefabulous break
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I wish I could live at the Hazel bank Country House! The setting, the meals, the ambience, the room, the views were all spectacular. Gary and Donna meet and exceed a guest's every need and wish. So elegant, yet so comfortable! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The view from the Dalehead Room is spectacular.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our lovely Country House...We are very proud of it and our valley .....and as Local owners are pleased to be able to look after our guests ...We look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had three nights here in May and we will book for longer next time. The location, scenery, food, people, red squirrels just outside the dining room windows, all wonderful, can't wait to go back. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this place - can't recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: We had Scafell, what a very comfortable room, fantastic views. Nice big bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely reviews ....although when you are situated in such a beautiful valley and in such a beautiful historic country house the job is made so much easier ,also lovely guests that appreciate the surroundings also add to the package.......Squirrels come as standard :) ....all the best ..Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is a gem; the quality of everything on offer is beyond excellent. The generosity and hospitality of Gary and Donna reflect the superb and effortless combination of first class accommodation, food and company. Impossible not to revisit.

Room Tip: Castle Crag has a walk-in shower, others have showers over a bath.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandlizhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely Country House, Castle Crag is a lovely room which we have recently refurbished ,and we are delighted you enjoyed it ..We look forward to seeing you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have been regular visitors to Borrowdale for nearly 30 years now, and view it as our get away from it all place. We had previously made regular use of the Leathes Head Hotel just by Grange, because the then owner/proprietors Roy and Janice Smith, ran a wonderfully warm and welcoming establishment, and chef David Jackson provided excellent quality and variety of food.

When Roy and Janice retired 3 years the new owners changed the style of the hotel ago we looked around for alternatives and this year finally hit upon the Hazel Bank, run by Gary and Donna. The only way I can describe the experience is that it feels like we've come back home. Gary is incredibly welcoming, making everybody feel valued and at ease, and helping with all queries, from what wine to have, to where the best local walks are to be found. The atmosphere encourages all residents to relax and enjoy their stay, and to mingle with the other residents if they so choose, or to enjoy the experience on their own terms.

Donna spends most of her time behind the scenes running an outstanding kitchen, but is happy to help out on any matters whenever the need arises. The menu is different each night and every element of the meal is prepared to exacting standards.

Both Donna and Gary clearly have a passion for providing an excellent break from the hurly burly of the modern world, and they achieve this with consummate ease.

The hotel itself is situated in very well maintained ground, with stunning views across to the fells.

The rooms are prepared to a very high standard, and there is a programme under way to refresh all the rooms, showing again that nothing is assumed by the owners.

Delighted to have stumbled across this special hotel, and one I recommend whole heartedly, and any reluctance is because I don't want to run the risk of not being able to go whenever I'd like to due to full occupancy!

We will be frequent repeat visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review,As a couple born and Bred in the valley we do find ourselves in a unique situation of being the only locally owned and personally run establishment in the Valley,as a result of which we like to be able to share this with our guests ,Donna loves her attention to detail and i enjoy making people feel at home ....as i always say 'we are small enough to care' ...We are delighted to continue where Roy and Janice left off ... We look forward to seeing you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This family run hotel is superb! The decor, welcome and attention to detail is excellent and the food is superb. Our evening meals were beautifully cooked by Donna and were very well presented. We felt extremely well looked after - nothing was too much trouble and Gary was a great host. His knowledge of the local area is extensive and we felt thoroughly relaxed - a great way to recharge the batteries!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

So kind of you to take time to review us here and so pleased we were able to make your break a good one.We do like to think that we are local enough to know and small enough to care !!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews