We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!!”
Review of Scafell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scafell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great getaway!!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here as a weekend getaway for valentines and enjoyed every minute of it. We had the dog with us, everyone was very welcoming the food was amazing. The location is perfect for going for long walks and it is close to Keswick. I definitely recommend going here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    191
    47
    27
    22
See reviews for
105
457
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The two nights were bought for us as a anniversary present by our children & their partners. From the moment we walked through the door we felt the warm welcome extended by the reception staff. Our room was well decorated with a extremely large & comfortable bed. The evening meals were exceptional with a good selection each night. The waiting staff were very helpful and would go out of their way to make your evening go without a hitch. There was also a good selection of food for breakfast and very filling - just the thing to set you up for your days activities. A very quiet relaxing time was had, especially as there was no mobile phone reception at the hotel. We will certainly be returning to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATB240355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A very warm welcome, quite late at night, greeted by friendly staff, beautiful comfortable room with everything you need. Breakfast was wonderful, and as a lone traveller, I was made to feel very at home and welcome by staff. Definitely planning to go back, a wonderful value for money hotel in the picturesque Borrowdale Valley. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyjamagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

we spent the night at the Scafell hotel for our break in the lake district with friends and family.
We were made most welcome upon arrival by the lovely receptionist who showed us to our room. The room was really nice with a fantastic view of the mountains.
Returning from Keswick we enjoyed a nice meal in the riverside restaurant then spent a few happy hours in the hotel bar with a number of other guests being royally entertained by a group of Walkers playing guitars and ukeleles.
A brilliant night had by all.

The nights activities were supplemented by a filling breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Booked in with another couple on a deal for 2 nights bed & 5 course evening meal. What can I say everything was excellent. Our rooms were large,well appointed & clean, bathroom looked new & very modern. The staff couldn't have been more friendly & nothing was too much trouble. Both our evening meals were superb. Canapes were served whilst we perused the menu, with 5 choices for starters, mains & desserts. Coffee & mints served in the lounge afterwards.There is plenty of parking for cars & lots of local walks. There is also a bus stop near with buses in to Keswick every hour. We will definitely come & stay again.

Room Tip: Our friends had room 14 very large room with 2 washbasins in bathroom & a jacuzzi bath which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroxLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Well we have been going to the Scafell hotel twice a year for over ten years so I think I am very well qualified to write a comprehensive, balanced review which can be trusted.
Location - The location is second to none with ample parking and breath taking views. You can park your car up at the start of your stay and not touch it again until its time to go. Too many walks to describe here but you can walk flat or high and never get tired of the views.
Staff - We have grown very fond of the staff at the Scafell. We know them all by name and nothing is too much trouble. There is consistency with staff which means year after year you see the same faces. Thank you to loo, jack, Laura, rob, Ange and Fiona for looking after us this weekend. They assisted us with our great escape.
Food - Excellent restaurant food which we have enjoyed year on year. I am not a huge fan of the bar food if I didn't know different I would think it had come from a different kitchen. However it is fine but not a patch on the restaurant.
Rooms - We have stayed in most rooms in this hotel and in the main they are of a good quality. They are clean and modern and well appointed. Some are looking tired and some showers are less than enthusiastic but we cope.
Atmosphere - Most of our stays have been in winter so the atmosphere of log fires and relaxing settees are brill. We are a musical group so we make our own atmosphere so I think it has stacks of feeling but we have rarely gone on our own.
So to sum up. For a hotel with access to some of the best views in the country, with good food, warm atmosphere and staff you can have a laugh with this is the place to go. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmshore, Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having used the public bar at the rear of the hotel on many occasions when fell walking in the area, staying in the hotel for a few days was very welcome and relaxing. The charm of the place is to relax in front of a well made roaring fire in one of the many rooms, enjoying both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, and just chilling out.

As we'd made a last minute booking, our room was a twin room but was perfect for us - overlooking the fells and right on the river's edge; very comfortable (Room 5) and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms vary from in the main hotel, to a small annexe. Having stayed in both, we prefer the main hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
958 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
389 reviews
13.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Property: Scafell Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District's renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2010, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a 'Contemporary Twist' perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little 'nap' by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner's Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 44 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing