We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food. Helpful and friendly staff”
Review of Scafell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scafell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit having stayed over night for our wedding anniversary previously which was lovely. This visit we took my parents for Mother's Day and the meal and service we 1st class. We will be eating and staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandyworsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Scafell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed two nights 19 and 20 July. Arrived just after lunch and were able to check into our room straight away. Room was reasonably sized and had been recently very tastefully decorated. Turn either left or right outside the gate and you have beautiful walks right in front of you (walking boots highly recommended). There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was served piping hot and enough to set you up for the days walking. Once you returned from your walk, evening meals are available either in the restaurant (expensive) or in the pub next door which were really nice and there was more than enough to fill your boots after your good walk.

Two other points worth mentioning - dogs are made welcome (£6 a night) and there was no internet or mobile phone access which suited us just fine for two full days of good walking, good food (and beer) and no annoying phones

Room Tip: Request room 17 which backs onto the river and you can hear it in the evening and during the night
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew_wyrobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Absolutely 'home from home'; scrumptious food; comfortable beds and very clean. In our experience, the staff are very friendly, helpful and approachable and we have been staying here for years and keep coming back for more!

Room Tip: If you bring your dog with you, choose the annexe because it is more convenient to take your dog out...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this marvellous country house hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are individually designed and are very comfortable, but they do vary in size.
I would recommend the dinner, bed and breakfast package so you dine in the restaurant where the food quality is outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_B1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Myself and husband have stayed in borrowdale for the last 6 years , the vally is the most welcoming local people are so helpful and friendly , the scarfell riverside bar has the best staff of all ages ,are very smart dressed well mannared and fun to be around.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked the hotel for a 2 night stay with friends to celebrate their first wedding anniversary. The photographs on the website looked great, the rooms looked a good size with stylish decor so we were looking forward to it a lot. To be honest, on arrival we thought we'd gone to the wrong hotel! Not all areas have been decorated to the high standard of the bedrooms - reception in particular which is really dated. We found this to be slightly surprising, first impressions etc. We stayed in room 26 one of the garden rooms. Nicely decorated and an OK size but the grout behind the shower needs a seriously good bleach! We could not fault the staff they were super friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were lovely, just what we needed before setting off into the hills. As the weather was awful during our stay we did appreciate the drying room facilities. The food in the bar was as others have described mediocre, we went elsewhere for our evening meal the second night. Overall we all felt the hotel was expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here without researching it at all. It is classed as a 3 star hotel I have stayed at 4 star hotels whose standards were not as good as this one. In particular the staff were excellent. I would stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who likes the country house style of hotel. Importantly it is very dog friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Thexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
988 reviews
13.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range: £108 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District's renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2010, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a 'Contemporary Twist' perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little 'nap' by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner's Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 44 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing