We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay”
Review of Scafell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scafell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed the weekend before Christmas for three nights. We were a party of ten and had 2 twin1 double and a family room. As expected we had a great stay and a great opportunity to recharge our batteries before the Christmas madness. The staff are friendly, professional and always helpful. The rooms we had were all lovely and all individually decorated to a high standard with beautiful soft furnishings and furniture. The food as always is divine and I can't recommend this highly enough. We have booked for next year at the same time and hopefully we will be visiting in between too. Highly recommended for a great stay in one of the most beautiful valleys in Britain.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebebeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    191
    47
    27
    22
See reviews for
105
457
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helmshore, Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Having stayed at this hotel on several occasions, at different times of the year, and always using the separate bar whenever we do stay as well as when we walk with our club in Borrowdale, I find it hard to believe that complaints are made. We always find the staff courteous and helpful, regardless of whether in the hotel or in the separate bar. Yes, the bar can get busy and sometimes there may not be enough seating space when eating, but what do people expect - if something popular and in limited supply, you tolerate it.

The hotel itself is perfect: yes, there are different standards of rooms but, for the most part, you know that in advance. We've always found the level of service excellent and the staff at reception and in the restauarant, very helpful.

The whole idea of staying at the hotel, is to get away from it all. You're are staying in an area that is remote from a large town and, nestled where it is, sometimes mobile phone reception can be intermittent. As for Wi-Fi connectivity, as I see some comments have been made on this, getting away from it all means just that - you tolerate it until you're closer to mainstream population, e.g. Keswick.

We can't wait to stay again, and are planning to as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had another lovely stay, this time for longer. The position is great, the surroundings beautiful.
Excellent food, high quality ingredients used.

The staff are generally great, helpful and friendly. Some attention to detail required re making up the rooms, etc.

Avoid the New Year if you want some peace, however, as the delicious meal on New Year's Eve was affected by regular New Year's Eve holiday makers blasting their horns/whistles (provided by the hotel) repeatedly during dinner, (even when asked by staff to stop, who were equally disenchanted about it from their comments). A number of guests complained.
Followed by a spectacular and most memorable firework display, stunning.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie50302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to this amazing little gem in the lakes. Rooms stunning very clean and lovely furnishing. food amazing in the restaurant with the 5 course menu surpassing all expectations, and staff very friendly and helpful. The ideal couples retreat.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyworsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at Scafell at the end of November to recharge our batteries before the madness of December and to try and get a bit of decent walking in before the weather gets too tricky. Whilst we love our walking, we also love our creature comforts and a touch of luxury so we definitely came to the right place.

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, the people at Scafell could not do enough for us. The welcome at reception was great with just enough interaction to make you feel at home straight away without feeling overwhelmed. The manager came to say hello in the bar to see if we'd settled ok which was a lovely personal touch. ALL the staff, throughout the stay and without exception, were friendly, helpful and determined to make sure we enjoyed our stay, not that we're very demanding but there was a definite sense that nothing seemed like too much trouble! A lovely relaxed and cosy atmosphere with an "everyone welcome" feel prevails... a few quietly giggling children playing hide and seek and some lovely well behaved canine visitors dogs to befriend added to the slightly idyllic feel .... the Borrowdale valley is truly sublime and this hotel provides the perfect nest from which to appreciate it!

We were lucky enough to stay in the Barnes Wallis suite; spacious, beautiful views from beautiful windows, lovely lighting, comfortable cosy bed and a great bathroom... enough said (a slightly better selection of teas would be my only improvement).
The restaurant was inviting from the outside and again beautifully lit and ambient inside; we enjoyed a wonderful menu of well cooked delicious food and wine, with very attentive service at both dinner and breakfast which although the hotel as a whole is great, this was especially note-worthy... this is not an average hotel menu; everything was beautifully cooked, beautifully presented, delicious and therefore deserves special recognition!

Being proper (albeit amateur) foodies who spend all our spare cash on great restaurants, we're slightly confused as to why this doesn't have more recognition but suspect they're well on the way. Our advice to you foodies out there would be to book in soon before the prices go up and you can't get in for months ahead... because this little piece of heaven is just waiting to be discovered.

Ps We did do Scafell Pike as well as eat! :o)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed over a long weekend using the winter walkers deal and were amazed to find how lovely this place is.

We had a lovely room, which accommodated our Springer which was a bonus. The staff are great, very friendly and bouncy, they couldn't do enough to make us feel at home.

There's a large sitting room with a big roaring fire to relax/read, which is adjacent to the residents bar which we used before dinner. Breakfast and dinner was excellent, top class food with service to match.

The only down side was breakfast on remembrance day, they wouldn't start early to accommodate anyone who wished to attend Great Gable, so we went with Miles to Castle Crag with many others.

Overall the place is great, good modern rooms, good spacious and clean rooms with dining being top notch.

Well worth a visit if you can.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camplike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel and was blown away with how friendly and efficient all the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble and they genuinely wanted my wife and I to have a relaxing stay. The hotel is in a superb location giving access to the north lakes. We stayed in the Barnes Wallis Suite which was beautifully decorated with its own lounge, bathroom was very clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable.
I would certainly recommend the food in the hotel, our evening meal was exceptional, and the Chef even came to our table to ensure we were happy, now that’s service.
My job requires me to stay in hotels frequently in the UK and abroad and not one of these hotels, Radisson , Hilton etc. got anywhere near the quality of the Scafell Hotel. I will be booking again for the New Year and will be taking friends with us so they can enjoy as well. I thoroughly recommend this Hotel.
Robert B

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
958 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
389 reviews
13.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Property: Scafell Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District's renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2010, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a 'Contemporary Twist' perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little 'nap' by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner's Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 44 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing