We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in Cumbria!”
Review of Scafell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scafell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Cumbria!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was yet another excellent stay at this friendly local hotel. It pitches way above its class when it comes to the accommodation, food and service. The quality of food and wine served by the restaurant and the pleasant and helpful waiting staff make the whole stay very memorable.

We only live around the corner, but keep coming back here each year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    193
    48
    28
    22
See reviews for
106
465
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Super location, great welcome, fantastic food and very friendly staff. We shall return to experience it all very soon. The walks and views in the valley are the best in the Lake District.
You will not be disappointed from this little corner of the country.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peppebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

stayed here for two nights. bought for us as a treat and boy what a treat!
lovely clean hotel. With very friendly welcoming staff. dog friendly to and our springer enjoyed his 5 star treatment.
lovely food both on our first night in the hotel restaurant of 5 course Al la carte and our second night spent in the riverside bar. loved the roaring fires
special mention should go to the staff though as I find these make a memorable stay from fiona in the restaurant and Angela. also the lovely blonde lady on reception who went the extra mile with our dog making sure he had water and the best position in front of the fire !! one spoilt little boy
highly recommend and we will be back

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank herethereeverywere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked the hotel months ago as found a great deal, the drive took longer than expected as the road was closed off so we had to go round the lake which took us half an hour longer and give the car a run for its money very steep narrow and winding roads.Once we arrived we were meet by a warm welcome and shown to our lovely rooms,the food in the restaurant was really nice a five course of which we couldn't find fault as with the breakfast beautifully cooked.The bar did close at twelve and everyone disappeared quite quickly but you carnt really fault the hotel for that would go back maybe in the summer and take my walking boots very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryll s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Probably the friendliest hotel in the lakes for dogs and people alike. All staff are both courteous and efficient in the main hotel and the Riverside pub next door. New menu is a little limiting if staying more than 2 or 3 days but the food is excellent - both dinner and breakfast. Riverside pub is ideal for walkers and dogs with a warm welcome for both with an open fire. The ability to have your dog (s) with you in the bar and large lounge makes for a great holiday as our dogs are part of the family. Even though it is a dog friendly hotel everywhere is very clean and non dog owners need not be concerned. We dog owners have standards as well you know. 100% recommend the hotel and cannot wait to go back - when the weather improves!

Room Tip: for dogs use the annex - no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We wanted to stay in the Borrowdale Valley and there were multiple hotels to choose from but we felt this was great for us and we will go back again.

The atmosphere was relaxed and hotel had kept it's features with modern bedrooms - lovely warming fires and a place to dry wet clothes after walking.

Really enjoyed our break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visunitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Once again, we have had the good fortune to stay at this Lakeland retreat. Upon arrival we were met with a genuine welcome from friendly staff, it really is like visiting friends. We stayed for 4 days and left much relaxed and pampered. The service, food and atmosphere make this one of the most welcoming hotels we have visited, all the staff are to be commended, both in the hotel and the Riversdie bar, you really do feel as though they will (and do) go that extra mile to make sure you have a happy stay. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the lounge, with log fires, making acquaintances with new and regular guests- both human and canine- our Golden Retrievers also enjoyed their holiday, what more could we ask for? Thank you Team Scafell.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caninecompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
2.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,098 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
972 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
396 reviews
13.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Property: Scafell Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District's renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2010, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a 'Contemporary Twist' perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little 'nap' by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner's Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 44 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing