We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and service, shame about the room and charges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scafell Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Scafell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food and service, shame about the room and charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Latest of several stays for walking weekends with friends. Positives - excellent food in the restaurant, a great location with lots of options for low and high level walks, and efficient and really friendly service in the restaurant, with Laura and Fiona making us feel particularly welcome. On the downside, whilst the rooms are well appointed, ours (number 26) was scarcely big enough for a double bed, with a cramped ensuite (toilet rolls piled up next to toilet with no holder, toiletries in fixed bottles Premier Inn style), a stain on the bedcover, paper thin walls, and several niggling things that didn't work as we'd expect when paying £85 per person per night for B&b. On the subject of price, one tip - make sure you book directly with the hotel and make it very clear if you want the dinner, bed and breakfast rate, otherwise dinner will be charged separately costing you £11 per person per night more. One of our group booked the rooms online via a hotels website but had to ring the hotel separately to book dinner as they couldn't do this online. Even though they did this well in advance and within a day or two of the room booking, the hotel insisted on charging us the full separate rates, without a hint of goodwill, in spite of the several thousand pounds business we have given them over the past few years

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    181
    43
    25
    21
See reviews for
98
424
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from our second Easter Break at this hotel. I am pleased to say this break equalled last years stay. The rooms are great, beds very comfortable (much needed after climbing Scarfell Pike), the water pressure is poor, but you are in the middle of nowhere :) Very tranquil, an excellent place to escape to from the city.

Breakfast is great, the packed lunch was brilliant and the dinner delicious.

Thank you for another great Easter break.

Room Tip: Last year we were in the annexe and did not hear any noise, this year we were above the bar so was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BG_Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I booked to stay at the Scafell Hotel for Easter weekend and it was one of our most ever memorable weekends, for all the wrong reasons!

When we checked in at the hotel reception, we were given a room in the annexe, which as adjacent to the main hotel.

When we got to the room, with high expectations for the £170 per night room we had paid. It was barely large enough to fit the small, double bed and the TV was no larger than a PC monitor. The curtains and pelmets were also threadbare and shabby and it had a general look of being in dire need of a refurbishment.

When my wife checked in she was asked if we wanted to dine in the restaurant that evening for a reduction in price on the menu from £39.95 to something in the region of £27. She was told that she would have to make a decision in the next 2 minutes but at no point did he explain why. As we had just arrived we wanted to compare the menu in the bar next door, she declined and we went into the pub to look at the menu, which didn't look very appealing and we opted to take a table in the restaurant.

On arrival in the restaurant; this is where the absurdity commenced!

The menu and food combinations were bizarre and the quality and portions did not reflect the price. For starters, I ordered the prosciutto and pea mousse and my wife ordered the salmon with avocado and cheese croute.

When they arrived, the prosciutto was literally two slices and two strange tasting items; which I assume were meant to be the pea mousse; I didn’t eat them.

You can’t really go wrong with smoked salmon and avocado but it was served with a pool of vile hot melted cheese sauce; my wife didn’t eat it.

For main, I ordered steak and chips. When it arrived, the steak was small and swimming in sun dried tomato butter. The ‘steak’ was mostly gristle and fat and the edible parts were chewy and tough. I ate 2 mouthfuls and left the third that was left.

When the waitress came to clear the mains, we expressed our dissatisfaction with the quality of food and declined dessert as we didn’t want to risk another horrible course of food. We raised with the waitress that the price of the menu did not reflect the quality of food we would expect for nearly £40 each. She immediately turned white and said that we had to take it up with the ‘hotel manager’.

We were asked to wait in the bar area. After waiting more than fifteen minutes and being made to feel like we were naughty little schoolchildren waiting for the headmaster, we opted to go to the reception to ask for him.

There were two men behind the reception, we asked to speak with the manager and one of them said that he was indeed the manager.

We said that we would like to make a complaint about the food and that’s when his behaviour and mannerisms changed. As is our right as a customer, we tried to explain what was wrong with the food and while doing so, he continually talked over us in a condescending and patronising manner and basically refused to listen to anything we were trying to tell him.

He claimed that we’d eaten all of our food and completely stonewalled us.

We queried the price of the food and he then went on to say that because we didn’t take the ‘one time only offer’ on check that it would be full price. He then relented and offered it to us at the slightly discounted, but still over inflated, price.

As he became more agitated and aggressive, he tried to claim that we’d used bad language; which then resulted in a woeful attempt to take the moral high ground to deflect our complaint.
He then went on to threaten to ‘personally throw me out of the hotel’.

We both found this to be massively intimating and it’s the first time in my life that I’ve ever been physically threatened by someone, let alone someone in a hotel!

We then asked for our money back for the 2nd night as we did not want to stay in the hotel due to our treatment. He told us with great satisfaction that it had already been paid for and no refunds were available.

Feeling massively aggrieved and nervous about the aggressive hotel manager, we went back to our tired little hotel room and went to sleep.

At breakfast my wife ordered boiled eggs, she was asked how she would like them cooked. She responded “soft boiled please” and was then asked how long she want them cooked for. Confused she asked why she needed to specify the time and the waitress responded to say “if it isn’t cooked to your liking it is not our fault”! This sums the food up; the chef doesn’t even know how to boil an egg and they spend more time protecting themselves so they can blame the customer rather than caring about the ‘customer experience’.

After breakfast we opted to leave and vowed never to return…..

I have never in my whole life stayed in such an overpriced, overinflated hotel that has ideas of grandeur and falls woefully short of the mark.

The hotel manager has confused ‘Fawlty Towers’ for a hotel management training video, rather than a farcical comedy. Staying at the hotel was literally like a reality TV version of the programme, except without the comedy.

I would write a letter of complaint to the Managing Director of the hotel, but after reading previous reviews, he doesn't appear to care about his customers either.

If you’re looking for a nice place to stay that is value for money and where your experiences matter’s to management, then don’t stay here…!

Spend your hard earned money at one of the better hotels up the road like The Derwent Water and Lodore Fall’s Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Manclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited for 2 nights as family of 5 (including our chocolate lab, the only real kid among us!), and were lucky to hit on possibly the best Sunday's weather since last summer, and this made the scenery of Borrowdale even more breath-taking than we had expected. This lovely hotel just added to it. Have stayed in many hotels including 5 star around the world and surely my opinion counts! We have no criticism - nicely refurbished, the rooms were perfect being modern but sympathetic to the style of hotel (loads of storage); really relaxing lounge/bar area (total fireside relaxation experienced); grand restaurant with attention to detail-tables perfectly laid, well cooked and presented food, and service to a high standard though not stuffy. All in all the staff gave the hotel the plus/plus factor - from initial check-in, through bar and restaurant to check out, they were fully professional and did everything to help us relax --- they didn't just address our needs, they anticipated them. Great to have the option of having a drink in the attached 'public' bar, with no real alternative available in the village, being entirely styled differently it gave us the feel of being away from the hotel. The main concern had been Logan's first stay in a hotel and from start to finish he never stopped wagging his tail..
Just to mention the entrance area seems a little scrappy on first view but on reflection this is practical - after all a lot of people are there to walk and since that often involves mud it will not make hikers feel uncomfortable as other hotels can do.. there's even an ornate wooden box to put your dirty boots in and they will dry them for you... now that's nice. Also importantly after checking out, thanking and praising the hotel, we witnessed others at reception seemingly unhappy - it is not my role to comment as we did not know why exactly - however my wife and sons thought they were extremely rude to the receptionist who was fully professional and it seemed to revolve around them loudly demanding a refund... again to emphasise we found all the staff brilliant.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking river where the mountains are also in view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelluverCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, england
Level Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Firstly let me comment that the previous reviewer who complained about cancellation clauses was completely out of order and should instead read the small print of what was being signed up to.

We stayed here after a very wet day 3 of our coast to coast walk. Drying facilities were immediately made available and reception upgraded us to a room with a deep bath " because we obviously needed it". And much appreciated it was. Indeed the room and the friendly service were the high points of the hotel. The negatives include the absence of in room wifi, the failure to have an a la carte menu in the restaurant (not everyone wants to fork out £35 for a fixed price 5 course menu even on a Saturday night!) and the relatively poor breakfast (over grilled "boil in the bag" kippers and one boiled egg, much smaller than the egg cup for my wife who had ordered something clearly described as "boiled eggs" (plural). So, a mixed bag for a place that could be so much better.

Incidentally we went to the Riverside Bar, a pub attached to the hotel, for dinner. Great beer, very middling food.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared good. The problem lies in the rest of what you expect from a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The rooms are clean and modern and comfortable (Although you will need binoculars to watch the small tv in bed!)
We had a problem with hot water and I had to wait 30mins for the water to get hot but it never did and was told by management that the water tanks are being changed as it does not store enough hot water. Disappointing when you have spent a day in the mountains and want a hot shower and can't get one but the free pint helped me recover nicely!
We opted to have the 3 course meal and the starter was ok but the 3 of us had steaks and all were full of grizzle and really gnarly and not enjoyable what so ever. However they were cooked well. My girlfriend had the chicken and it was just bland. Just feels like the hotel has tried too hard with the set menu.
If it had not been for the food in the evening & hot water we would have given the hotel 4 stars as the rooms are modern but for £100 a night and £36.95 for the food you expect those things to be there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_globtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Due to ill health I tried to cancel my booking but found to my cost that I was one day outside the cancellation policy and immediately the hotel took the cost of 2 rooms from my credit card. Tried to reason with them on the phone but they would not listen. Would not even change the date to another time or even reinstate the room after I found out that they had debited my card. No friendly help at all would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Beware about cancellation policy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Lrp676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScafellHotel, General Manager at Scafell Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear lrp676,

Thank you for your “review”.

As a hotelier it is always difficult to respond to a “review” such as this without sounding negative, but here goes.

You booked 2 rooms via a third party booking website (Booking.com), you agreed to our terms & conditions when making this booking. You subsequently cancelled the entire booking with Booking.com directly, within the stated cancellation period. Your card was debited automatically with the cost of the booking as per the agreed terms when the cancellation was received via booking.com.

When you called the hotel after already cancelling your booking, you were advised that any changes to your already cancelled booking would have to be done through booking.com.

The Scafell Hotel, like most other hotels / accommodation providers has a cancellation policy and Terms & Conditions, I would advise anyone booking any form of accommodation to read these and take out suitable travel insurance to cover unforeseen problems.

It is disappointing to have to respond to a “review” like this in light of the hotel not being at fault in any way.

Jason Angus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
13.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Property: Scafell Hotel
Address: Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District's renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2010, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a 'Contemporary Twist' perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little 'nap' by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner's Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 44 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing