We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a stunning location”
Review of Scafell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scafell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the Scafell Hotel after a long, hot sunny stretch of the Coast to Coast walk from Ennerdale to Borrowdale. The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms are simply amazing. A large comfortable, double bed and a large, well equipped bathroom with bath and power shower. There's the option of eating in the restaurant or the bar. I opted for the bar and had the Cajun chicken burger with Lime Mayonnaise, which was absolutely lovely. Everything is home made and freshly prepared. There is a small, additional, beer garden at the back of the bar that sits directly on the edge of the river - a real gem. The breakfast was amazing with a great selection and first class service. The hotel also has immaculate gardens. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: I imagine they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoccaDiLupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Enjoyed dinner on the 30 May 14, four of us had dinner which was 5 course and had a very wide choice, all of us had the perfect meal. I cannot think of a better place to go and the price was very competitive, we usually go for Sunday lunch but we will be going again for dinner.

A great setting and the staff excellent, a special thanks to Laura for looking after us so well and of course to head chef Paul for one of the best meals I have had, could not fault anything. Nice to see the owner Miles, was good to catch up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and my partner recently stayed in this hotel for the weekend as a surprise birthday treat. The staff here were really welcoming throughout our stay here. The room itself was tastefully decorated with everything you could need (including proper mugs- a novelty in a hotel!), and the beds were really comfortable- perfect after walking round the lakes. The bathroom was a nice size and modern, and had a towel heater which meant the towels were lovely and warm! The only downsides to our stay were that I think our room (room 6) was above the bar so we could hear some of the noise during the evening- particularly during the football, and the TV bracket was loose so it had to be rested on a chair- only minor things really, everything else was great!

We stayed here on a B&B basis, and found the breakfast was great. There was a good selection of both hot and cold breakfast items, and the staff were friendly and efficient, and were on hand to give recommendations on where to go in the area. We unfortunately didn't get to eat dinner at the Riverside Bar, as due to it being the bank holiday weekend it was very busy which was a shame.

The hotel was around a 15 min drive from Keswick, which is a lovely place to walk around, as well as being close to Derwent water which is a beautiful scenic area to explore. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a break away in the Lake District.

Room Tip: Try and avoid staying over the bar if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Me and my hubby had an amazing stay at the scafell hotel. We enjoyed the beautiful views lovely food and comforts. Would highly recommend if looking for a quiet scenic break !! We enjoyed a lovely walk through the centre of Keswick which is only a ten minute drive from the scafell hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomcalbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has awful ethics. I booked a room here on 14th May via booking.com. I enquiries as to the possibility of a late check out which was agreed until midday but not until the following day did i hear. This was no long enough so I cancelled and booked an alternative hotel for the same night. I then received an e mail from booking.com to say that they were charging me the full £140 for the room as I had cancelled with 14 days of arrival. Horrified to realise I was paying to stay in two different hotels the same night, I asked them to reinstate the booking as they still had the room available and were now advertising it for £20 less. Although still available and although I had paid for it already they now want me to pay for the room a second time. I'm taking legal advice regarding this hotels money grabbing behaviour. Be very careful booking this hotel, they shall have your trousers down and their hand in your wallet if not careful

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
16  Thank JeremySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScafellHotel, General Manager at Scafell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear JeremySwan,

Thank you so much for your “review” of our cancellation policy, It makes a refreshing change for someone to take the time to point out their own mistakes and then blame an establishment like ourselves for their own error !.

For the sake of clarity I will point out the obvious.

1. JeremySwan booked a room via Booking.com (nothing wrong with this, they are a very good company) on the 14th May for an arrival on the 16th May.
2. JeremySwan accepted the terms & conditions, these being; If cancelled up to 14 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled later or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
3. JeremySwan cancelled the booking the next day (15th May) & was duly charged as per the cancellation policy!.

Booking.com did indeed contact us on the 15th May to enquire on JeremySwan’s behalf about a late checkout, why it took them nearly 24 hrs to do this is a mystery. If a late checkout was of such great importance, why did you not contact us directly before booking ? – it should be noted that we do not advertise late checkouts, but sometimes we can oblige ….. please contact our reception !

In the subsequent phone call to the hotels reception, you managed to threaten legal action, negative Trip Advisor & Facebook reviews and stated that you had a degree in hospitality management and that you knew some mumbo jumbo reason why you should not be charged !– all because you did not read the Terms & Conditions when making the booking.

People, I will no doubt be repeating myself when I say “please read the T&C’s” – we are no different to any other hotel.

Yours in exasperation and with a touch of sarcasm,

Jason Angus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Scafell Hotel is such a warm and welcoming hotel, well run and friendly. My partner and I have stayed there 2 or 3 times a year for about 12 years and each time we look forward to it so much. The hotel itself has a timeless elegance. It has a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and the meals are unbeatable. Breakfasts are delicious with many choices, hot and cold. Evening meals are 5 courses served by polite and helpful staff who make every effort to please finished off with coffee served in the beautiful lounge. The Borrowdale valley itself is such a picturesque and stunning area with lots of high and low walks. Walks up the fells, in the valleys, up the passes and along the river provide many hours of awesome beauty and pleasure with local places of interest to visit too. To return to the hotel is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Scafell Hotel was the second stop on our coast to coast walk. Rosthwaite is a picturesque village in one of the Lakes’ most beautiful valleys. Wainwright thought a walk in Borrowdale to be a walk in heaven. The hotel is an imposing building, possibly Victorian. The setting is terrific with marvellous views of the fells. It appeals to fly-fishing anglers, walkers and those just looking for somewhere scenic and peaceful. We found the service efficient and friendly. The rooms are extremely comfortable and are they are tastefully decorated. They refer to a “warm and rich country house style with a contemporary twist”, which is a fair description. They blend the modern with refurbished antique furniture and the result is pleasing. There are all the usual amenities in the rooms: digital LCD TV, radio, telephone, tea and coffee, hairdryer, toiletries, and mineral water. There are designer en-suite bathrooms. The beds and quality bedding guarantee a good night’s sleep. There was a hearty, well-cooked, breakfast served in the very pleasant restaurant, which set us up for the entire day.
There are two possibilities for dinner, a smart restaurant with white tablecloths etc and the bar. They were advertising dinner at £35 per head in the restaurant. The hotel’s Riverside bar offers bar food with main dishes between £9 and £11. There is an adjoining patio where you can sit next to the beck. We went to the bar. I ordered steak pudding and chips and my wife had local trout. We shared a dessert of apple pie and ice cream. The food was superior to the usual pub fare and the portions were enough to satisfy hunger walkers. With washed this down with glasses of Malbec and Pinot Grigio. The wine selection is small but decent, far better than the average pub. My steak pudding was first class. The staff were excellent – efficient and professional yet friendly and ready with a joke. The cost of our meal and drinks was £45. We thought this excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
498 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range: £115 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District's renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2010, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a 'Contemporary Twist' perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little 'nap' by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner's Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 44 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing