We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly and cosy heaven after a day's walk on the fells”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ely
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A friendly and cosy heaven after a day's walk on the fells”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Lovely and homely. The home cooked food was really good. Although there is a fixed menu the meals were well balanced. (We stayed three nights). I really appreciated the trouble taken over the vegetarian option. The mint chocolates provided with coffee were a nice touch. Our room was very comfortable, the ensuite bathroom was brand new. The packed lunches included a savoury and a sweet filing plus fruit and a piece of home made cake leaving just enough room for tea and scones after a day's walk. There are two lounges and a bar so it is possible to find a quiet corner for a read in the evening. Susan and her staff were extremely helpful and will accommodate any reasonable requests. It was good to note that dogs were made welcome. A thoughrouly enjoyable three days!

Annie & Bob, Ely.

Room Tip: Rooms riverside are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    60
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
38
125
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Lancashire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A superb welcome with tea and scones, followed by a dinner designed to refuel walkers whether they went for day walks to return to the hotel or on a stage of a linear walk; it is on both the coast to coast and the Cumbria Way. The breakfast set us up for the following day and the packed lunch gave us ample energy to complete our walk to our next destination.

We were allocated the same room as on our previous visit, which is comfortable and well appointed. We had a good night’s sleep in this tranquil setting. There is a television room for those addicts who are unable to do without their fix. However the lack of them in the bedrooms means that there is not the pervasive sound of them soiling the tranquillity of the location.

We shall definitely return, probably for a holiday of day walks in and around Borrowdale as well as on linear walks. This hotel meets the needs of walkers completely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinsonofOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-le-Willows
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Friendly welcome on arrival and then had a refreshing drink on the lawn. This friendliness was in striking comparison to the rudeness and indifference we experienced at the "posher" Scafell Hotel" when we tried to get a drink there.
The room was confortable and had a bath with lashings of hot water that we insist on after a walk in the hills.
You have to eat at 7pm from a set menu but this causes us no problems. The food is traditional English. One gets a starter, main meal, sweet and then help yourself to cheese and biscuits.
The early meal means there is plenty of time to sit in the bar for coffee and drinks and able to chat to the other guests. While there we chatted with the owner who was most informative and helpful when we tried to track down the source of one of her decorative vases which was on display. She even went to the trouble of sending us a postcard with further information after we had arrived home. Rcommended to all middle of the road true English.

Room Tip: For a bath and a shower you need a room in the hotel not the river annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

good food ,friendly staff, and a wonderful mien host, nothing too much trouble, the royal oak is value for money without doubt, and does what it says on the tin, repeat bookings reflect Neil and Susan are doing it right,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbrookes128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

it was a delight to find we had a bath......the first we had managed to find on the C2C so far. As it was meat pie for dinner which I do not like I was instantly offered several alternatives. Although dinner was served at 7pm which is a bit late for us, We found that service was swift and food seemed to appear out of nowhere, the same happened at breakfast!
We were also delighted to find there was no television in the room. Our room was large as was the bathroom. There was also a drying room and fresh milk was provided for tea in the room instead of the plastic pots we usually find. Many people will say this hotel is dated and old fashioned but we found it to be a delightful place with helpful and friendly staff. The packed lunch we had next day delighted my husband as the sweet sandwich was homemade lemon curd which he loved

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel has received mixed reviews and this may help. For walkers this is not ideal. The hotel is run on very fixed lines - meal times are absolutely fixed and there is no menu choice. For walkers after a long days walk in the wet - a dinner of cheese soup ( we had to ask what it was), cold salmon and salads ( one of which was either cous cous or quinea - a no no for mass catering because of the food hygiene risks) and only hot potatoes for a main course this is not ideal. The plum crumble was hot but unimaginative and the cheese board ( although very welcome as extra food) was very picked over. We did get an early breakfast but only toast ( which we had to make in the kitchen ourselves) and cold cereal. Not sustaining enough for C2C walkers. The rooms were comfortable, if dated and somewhat dark, but warm. We could however see its appeal for regulars who perhaps are not that active. So nothing really wrong per se - just a question of target market.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We have visited the Royal Oak several times over the years with our most recent stay being for 3 nights in June. We always book one of the Riverside rooms which are very comfortable and more spacious than those in the main hotel.

This is a family run hotel with a high number of repeat guests and is an excellent option for staying in Borrowdale and walking in the area. Dinner is home-cooked, plentiful and very good quality and although there is no choice on the day you can request a vegetarian option in advance. It is, as other reviewers have said, served promptly at 7pm but the staff were very accommodating when we were late back one evening after our walk took longer than expected.

If you want TV and Wifi and flexibility over meal times maybe this is not for you, but if you like traditional accommodation, a friendly atmosphere and good home cooked food, we feel that the Royal Oak provides very good value for money. We are just sorry we are too far away to visit more frequently!

Room Tip: The Riverside rooms provide the most comfortable accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiepDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing