We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is a family run hotel. Having stayed at this hotel in Rosthwaite 6 times in the last 5 years and found most of the residents like my wife and I are regulars at the place, staying once or twice a year there clearly is something very positive about it. The rooms are clean, the food is excellent and quite adeqauate, The staff are very friendly and helpful, The location for walking in Borrowdale is superb and cannot be bettered. We like many other people will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms vary some have bath and shower others only a shower. There is ample off the road car parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englandlancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    60
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
37
125
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PETERBOROUGH
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very welcoming but more like a retirement home. That said all the guests were very entertaining. Food portions are a little on the small side for a hungry man that has been out all day. Room very clean and big and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterboroughSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We are really delighted to have found this hotel.For years we have looked for a comfortable base for our regular Lake District trip and now we are happy to return to the Royal Oak.It is in Rosthwaite village , the heart of Borrowdale but it is not simply the location but the whole experience.
The decor has a hint of the 50's but we think the ambiance is fine.We are less interested in this than in a thoughtful and unobtrusive service There is a friendly spirit among the staff and the food is plentiful and well cooked. There is a lot of local knowledge and lots of Lake District books . Coffee, mints and chat in the lounge with a real fire but internet access in the back lounge if you need it. If you want to go to the theatre in Keswick, you are simply served early without fuss so this is also recommended
I even had a comfortable bed!(If you read my other reviews you will understand that this issue has ruined other places for me) Our room was spacious with noise of stream
I note the comment about an insecure drying room and do not think I have seen a secure one.. Surely the point is that there is somewhere to dry your wet things which you the guest can access.There is a sense ot trust here and all are here to enjoy the often wet Lakeland so why would they steal your boots etc when they must have their own?
There are loyal customers who keep returning, we will join them.

Room Tip: the annexe may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I've never been anywhere that sounds a gong for dinner and some of the furniture belonged in 1950.....hmmm...and as for the floral wallpaper! This place is very dated, certainly not suitable for walkers who can't guarantee when they will be back. Dinner is 7PM prompt! The staff were helpful and friendly enough and the location is A1. Some of the group complained about overly soft beds.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWP479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury, bucks
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed here after 3rd day on Cumbria Way. Recd a warm welcome. Room was fine with good sized bathroom, WITH A WELCOME BATH! Nice to have the quiet of no TV in rooms. But, as it was Wimbledon, went to TV room and watched in the company of a couple who have been staying here for many years. A great recommendation.
Dinner was served to all at 7.00 Good home cooked meal efficiently served. No choice as such but very good roast beef. Same for breakfast.
Coffee and mints served in cosy lounges. Village a delight for a stroll after dinner. It is the sort of place we would return to. You will get to know the other guests if you stay for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

A less than warm welcome awaited here, although that may have been because we were wet and smelly after a lengthy days walk on the coast to coast. The drying room was totally inadequate and relatively insecure. With large amounts of clothing and boots, very little got dry. The rooms were very small and barely able to fit the two bags, the "en-suite" was even cosier!! The dinner package which we were obliged to take was poor value for money and while tasty enough was relatively plain. One nice aspect was the nice lounge by the fire for coffee afterwards and a nice chat with other guests. The inflexibility with the ability to have an early breakfast was also frustraing.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Lovely and homely. The home cooked food was really good. Although there is a fixed menu the meals were well balanced. (We stayed three nights). I really appreciated the trouble taken over the vegetarian option. The mint chocolates provided with coffee were a nice touch. Our room was very comfortable, the ensuite bathroom was brand new. The packed lunches included a savoury and a sweet filing plus fruit and a piece of home made cake leaving just enough room for tea and scones after a day's walk. There are two lounges and a bar so it is possible to find a quiet corner for a read in the evening. Susan and her staff were extremely helpful and will accommodate any reasonable requests. It was good to note that dogs were made welcome. A thoughrouly enjoyable three days!

Annie & Bob, Ely.

Room Tip: Rooms riverside are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing