We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class as always”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First Class as always”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This has to be one of the most friendly and welcoming places you could ever wish to find. The food is home-cooked and freshly made and scrummy. MENU - No two days are the same and even breakfast brings a little daily surprise. The dinner choice arrangement is perfect. Time appears to have almost stood still but subtle improvements have been made each year to further enhance the homely experience. If it were possible to bottle the old world charm and save it forever, this is the place. It is a special gem in the heart of the Lake District. An excellent location to explore the surrounding natural beauty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peeneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back next year. It is always pleasing that guests take the time to let us know how much they enjoyed their visit and to let others know.
Best wishes
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    65
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
40
128
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I enjoyed a lovely stay at the Royal Oak an excellent centre for fell walking in the heart of Borrowdale at Rosthwaite; you could easily leave the car in the car park and not move it for a week so extensive are the walks; a short drive to Seathwaite Farm would enable far more walks in your itinerary.
If you are the type of person who requires entertainment and all the trappings of the 21st Century laid on for you then maybe this hotel isn't for you however if you appreciate a certain old world charm, peace and quiet, great service and good food including afternoon tea then then this establishment could well be for you.
Will I go again? I have already booked a week in 2014 for more masochistic fell walking.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a single room and a twin room, both were fine; don't expect television however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
regards
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Royal Oak provides an ideal base for exploring Borrowdale. It has an old world charm rarely found in today's hotels. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and the staff are charming, engaging and hospitable. Meal times demand a certain degree of punctuality, so would not suit those who like late breakfasts or dinners. But if you can manage to turn up at the appropriate time, the food is excellent and the set menu varies from day to day. The vegetarian option was particularly imaginative and delicious. There is also a varied selection of reasonably priced wines available.
Rosthwaite is not a place to head for if you feel a need for hi-tec communications with the outside world; mobile phone signals seem unable to penetrate the low lands in this area and we could only get connected to the hotel's wifi in one corner of the bar. But this was a great relief for those of us who wanted a few days escape from cyber mayhem. Rosthwaite is as good as it gets in this beautiful corner of England and also less "touristy" than many other places in the Lake District. There are some excellent circular walks of varying distance and challenge which start from the village so you can leave your car in the hotel carpark and get around on foot. Our party of friends and various dogs spent a most enjoyable long weekend at the Royal Oak and we are very pleased to have discovered it.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and some en-suites have baths as well as showers, so it's best to ask what is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocDoubleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your group enjoyed your stay with us recently. We are often commended on our vegetarian food which we take as much care with as our set menu and try and introduce a few interesting vegetables etc.
Hopefully you will book to come again next year.
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My brother and I were on a walking holiday in the Lakes. We found this a thoroughly relaxing place to stay. The rooms were good; the food excellent; the staff very helpful. I don't really understand the negative reviews that people have posted. It seems to concern the lack of choice at evening meal. You are made aware of this when the booking is taken. Choice is not always a good thing; give people a choice and you end up with prats like David Cameron, Ian Gove and Boris Johnson running the country.

A great place to stay in sublime surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Oh Good! someone that read what it says on the tin.

Brilliant, your review made us laugh... but as any good publican will tell you - some subjects should always be avoided - sex, religion and politics. We choose to welcome all that might enjoy our style - irrespective of sex, creed, race or..... political orientation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here during the Coast to Coast walk. As everyone has pointed out it's not a Holiday Inn but hooray! And there is wifi in a room out the back, which worked fine, and I think there's even a telly out there if you're desperate. It's brilliant being held back in the bar then gonged through for dinner where you sit down and eat what you're given. We honestly loved this. So, clearly, did other people, some of whom we gathered had been coming here for holidays literally for generations.

It was nice retiring to a proper living room for coffee after dinner - terribly homely and friendly.

Our bedroom was comfortable and very pleasant and breakfast the next morning was impressive and cheerfully delivered. We'd be very happy to stay again one day, It is an experience you should not deny yourself!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vogel421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
It is so reassuring to get feed back from guests like you who appreciate the traditions we are proud to retain. Thank you for such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Royal Oak and were well received. We were walking the Coast to Coast hike and came in tired and wet and were met with hot tea and fresh scones, cream, and jam!

The room was very nice and had a very comfortable bed.
Dinner was included in our price (this used to be called half pension) and everyone sat down at the same time and had the same meal. Vegetarian options were offered if desired. The meal was well prepared and quite enjoyable, even if it is impossible not to overcook roasted Leg of Lamb when serving so many.
We also had a very nice packed lunch prepared for us for the next day's hike.

We are fortunate to have been able to stay at the Royal Oak.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a traditional style locally owned and run small hotel in the beautiful English Lake District. The staff are friendly; the owner is always ready to offer advice to walkers, suggesting routes etc. The other guests are likely to be mostly, but not exclusively, walkers, and as such will have plenty of tales to share over a drink in the bar after dinner. Comfortable, simple rooms, with the added benefit of no tv, no mobile phone signal (!) and no worries about what to choose for dinner or when to eat: that is already decided for you ! Of course, special dietary requests, such as vegetarian, are catered for, but the menu is determined for each day. The food is excellent, home cooked and wholesome. We will be visiting again !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillSEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your response. It's always so nice when people understand and like what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,099 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
396 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing