We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, well located, homely hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, well located, homely hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We found both the staff and the guests are extremely friendly at the Royal Oak. Very good location for walking the hills - arguably the centre of the the lake district. It is certainly worth booking the set meal - good value and makes life very easy after a long day.
The negatives are that the rooms are a bit well used, our shower room very small and we found it slightly less luxurious than other lakes hotels we stayed in during the same week at similar price.
But overall, if you are looking for a family run hotel, rather than an identikit room, where you can happily walk in dripping wet after a typical lakeland day out, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felixhfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    60
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
37
125
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My partner booked this as a surprise weekend away and what a wonderful surprise it was. The hotel is cosy, really comfortable and when sitting in one of the lounges after a long day of walking I felt like I was at an old friend's house sitting in their living room. There were other like minded people in the living room so it was really interesting to hear about their day of adventures as well as sharing our own. Dinner was included and this was excellent and really good value for money. Both nights we had soup to start with which was warming and tasty and the main courses were chicken one night and roast pork the next. The chocolate and walnut pudding we had on the second night was absolutely delicious! Our room was in the annex, it was really spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The room and bathroom were both really clean and the shower was great. Just what you need after a long day walking. We had our dog with us and she was made incredibly welcome. She was allowed everywhere except the dining room and I think she enjoyed it as much as we did! Overall a fantastic place to stay, the staff are all really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it and hope to be able to return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: We were in the annex which was great. Would request room 24 again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMojoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. As you will see from other reviews we don't suit everyone but we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time you are back in the area. Let us know in advance if you come to stay again and we will try and put chocolate walnut pudding on the menu for you again......unless you want to try something new.
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
252 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a night at the Royal Oak while doing the Coast to Coast. Overall I'd give it an "average" score. The location is convenient, right along the C2C. The staff that we encountered were generally very friendly and helpful. It is one of those very old buildings where nothing is quite level or meeting at right angles anymore, which can be off-putting or charming depending on your perspective. (My 6'3" frame did need to duck in a few places.) They do offer free wi-fi, which worked fine, though you do need to be in a specific lounge room downstairs in order to use it. The dinner and breakfast were both OK, although we did find the cheese course after dinner to be quite good. The rooms are a bit tight with two people and some baggage, though our bathroom was surprisingly spacious and had a full bathtub. The bed was reasonably comfortable. Overall it's a reasonable place to spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were wondering what the Royal Oak would be like, with some low ratings despite an overall good performance on Tripadvisor. As many have said, it does what it says on the tin. I don't think we've ever been to a place with friendlier or more helpful staff. The rooms are fine - we had the Merrybreeches annexe for the 8 of us in the 4 rooms there - very peaceful, comfortable and cosy, with the babbling river outside the windows, and the quiet courtyard to the front.

The main lounges are also snug, and the dining room is fine too. The inn is an old-fashioned and simple one, reflected in the price - we paid a bill of £319 for 2 for the weekend (2 nights) dinner, bed, breakfast and wine. It was the birthday of one of our group and a cake was made at minimum notice for the celebration - it was excellent! The menu is set, and the food was wholesome and nothing fancy. Service was lightning fast and nothing too much trouble. The bar is small and only has one beer on, but there is a lively bar next door as part of the Scafell Hotel, so that makes it an option and a pleasant one too.

The village is very small, but the inn does packed lunches which can just be ordered at breakfast time, so there's no problems at all.

Room Tip: Choose the annex for a lovely quiet room and more modern feel (Merrybreeches).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

be prepared for a trip back to the old days, not the good old days. old chairs ,old beds outdated menu, but each to his own, it is cheap, staff are pleasant and there is a good bar next door where you will find a wonderful range of whiskey

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

For anyone who enjoys the fantastic fell walking within Borrowdale or perhaps just wishing to chill out for a while in this fantastic valley there can be no better place to stay than the Royal Oak Hotel Rosthwaite. No need to use the car during your stay as there are fantastic walks to explore from the doorstep in every direction, The hotel itself feels like home from home to all age groups and is run by friendly and efficient staff who have the knack of knowing exactly what you need just before you do ! The Hotel is warm and welcoming, great food, wine and beers, and the all important drying room for wet walking gear, plus the joy of a real log fire to sit round with your coffee or after dinner tipple. Also great that the hotel is dog friendly ! Perfect place to stay - change nothing !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BloodyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. It is always a pleasure to have such happy guests.
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

As usual Susan, Neil and Meghan have got it right but what struck me this time was their attention to detail: without me asking they gave me an extra pillow because somebody had spotted I had used a small chair cushion to raise my pillow; I asked for fruit after dinner and also breakfast and after both meals there was always fruit for me.

The afternoon tea and home made scones was always particularly welcome after a day in the fells!

Very many thanks, see you in May!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we are pleased you appreciated our service. As you know we are very lucky with our staff many of whom have been here for a long time.
Regards
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing