We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect getaway from reality”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned back from 3 night stay at this lovely hotel and reading those 2 poor ratings I have to have my go. Whoever doesn't like it doesn't have to come back! It is a lovely place where good people will always find their way! We recharged our batteries here and LOVED the food! Every evening I felt like my grandmother cooked for me! Maybe they don't do Michelin food but that's not what they advertise! It's simple, honest home made food! Thank you everybody working here for your hospitality and just keep up your good work and be proud of it, you'll always find customers! Helena and Vincent with our two border terriers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks Guys... our faith in humanity ( and more importantly in ourselves ) restored!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

They say location is everything, and certainly there aren't many alternatives if you are in Rosthwaite on the Coat to Coast or Cumbria Way. But the Royal Oak needs competition! The room was fine, the breakfast lovely, the hosts friendly, but let down by a very poor dinner. Others reviews that give only 1 or 2 stars mention the lack of option, in fact I didn't mind that too much, but I haven't eaten food like that since school dinners in the 1960s. Sorry, it has to be said. Just a little more effort on dinner and the customers would be much happier.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stravaiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Manager at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal you had here and compared it with 1960s school dinners. I never had roast turkey with all the trimmings and fresh fruit salad full of fresh berries when I was at school!
Two poor reviews one after the other certainly worries us but after checking with our guests who have been staying this last week we have had lovely comments and a hotel full of happy guests so although we do not want to dismiss your comments we are still confident of our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Whilst walking the coast to coast walk I had the misfortune to stay at the Royal Oak Hotel.
Having had a lovely days walk Iarrived at the hotel at 7.00 to be told the evening meal was at 7.30 and it was chicken and broccoli bake. We expressed surprise there was no choice and said we would like to freshen up so could we be a bit later. We were told dinner is at 7.30 "effectively take it or leave it" We had a shower and got to dinner at 7.35. First we had THIN vegetable soup (consomme with a few bits in ) Apparently home made certainly no self respecting food company would put this in a tin and expect to get any sales). Then the main course - chicken and broccoli bake- grey chicken with joint bits and ribs, no sign of any breast meat, glutenous wall paper paste like sauce, over cooked broccoli, frozen corn, watery overcooked courgette and unseasoned new potatoes. The sweet followed, meringues(dried out but apparently home cooked - I recommend they buy from Marks and Spencer next time) whipped cream and tinned or frozen raspberries. There was then cheese and biscuits which even they could not mess up.
When we complained in the morning about the meal I was told everyone else thought the meal was good and it was aimed at walkers. ( We are walkers by the way who have walked 1200 miles on national trails and the Royal Oak is one of the worst places we have ever stayed)

Then there was the room - complete with 1970's avocado bathroom suite and rusty mirror.
To be fair the breakfast was OK.
These people have no idea about customer service and are only in business because there is nowhere else to stay AVOID if possible

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tearoomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We are obviously very disappointed with your opinion of the Royal Oak but I would like to address a few points. Firstly you booked your accommodation through an agency and we know that they inform all guests that we provide a set meal which is served at 7.30pm and if people have special dietary requirements they should let us know in advance. Most walkers get here in plenty of time for dinner at 7.30 even if they have done the high route and those who are a little late appreciate that the food is freshly prepared to be eaten at 7.30pm. We have already changed our dinner time to 7.30pm during the coast to coast season to make it easier to get here in time.
I listened to your comments about the food when you checked out and disputed them with you then. A party of three other gentlemen had particularly sought me out that evening to tell me how much they had enjoyed their dinner and that they looked forward to visiting again perhaps with their wives so I accept that we were perhaps not what you were expecting but cannot agree with your comments......apart from the fact that Yes the sweetcorn was frozen! We had meringues again last night and was told that they were 'Meringues to die for' and when I told the guests about your comments they couldn't believe it!
We have been running a very successful hotel for many years with guests that return over and over again and how would that happen if we didn't have a high standard of customer service but we do realise that you can't please all of the people all of the time and are still disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the Royal Oak. As always we were given a warm and friendly welcome. They remembered that one of us does not like chicken and with a minimum of fuss provided an alternative, even producing a Cumberland sauce with little notice. They are dog friendly and don't mind muddy, wet gear. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: We like the annex rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixiesmum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you want a 5 star hotel do not visit this Hotel.
However if you want a homely relaxing hotel this is it.
So what if the rooms are dated with no TV but who needs it when your in such a beautiful location.
The staff were very friendly an welcoming- the meals were real value for Money the rooms were clean.
The bar and snug were had a real relaxing vibe.
We had dog who was also made welcome
I shall certainly be returning to this hotel, have stayed in many hotels in the lake district this was certainly our best experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanddancerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we certainly have no thoughts of being a five star hotel but homely and comfortable is our aim. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband describes this hotel as a 1970's throw back. It does seem to have got caught in a time warp, with pink bedroom decor, and a separate TV room. But it's clean friendly and warm, a welcoming tea and scone and value for money for set (no choice) evening meal.
The owner is a bit scary in terms of laying down house rules but the rest of the staff are friendly and helpful. The shower room is tiny but the shower is very good.

Room Tip: As everyone goes to bed early sleeping is not really a problem. We had the room over the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearltherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We found both the staff and the guests are extremely friendly at the Royal Oak. Very good location for walking the hills - arguably the centre of the the lake district. It is certainly worth booking the set meal - good value and makes life very easy after a long day.
The negatives are that the rooms are a bit well used, our shower room very small and we found it slightly less luxurious than other lakes hotels we stayed in during the same week at similar price.
But overall, if you are looking for a family run hotel, rather than an identikit room, where you can happily walk in dripping wet after a typical lakeland day out, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felixhfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
832 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
998 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
455 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Rosthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range: £107 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing