We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
145
71
36
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
71
36
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesother guestsevening mealcoast to coastlake districtdrying roomset menusmall bardinner gongsouppuddingtv loungeold fashionedrum butterhome madeblast from the pastfixed menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here recently whilst doing the Coast to Coast walk. We were a little bit apprehensive with regards to the set meal but in fact it was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and couldn't be faulted. The staff were very helpful towards the guests, nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We're here to help and enjoy running a friendly informal hotel - so we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned back from 3 night stay at this lovely hotel and reading those 2 poor ratings I have to have my go. Whoever doesn't like it doesn't have to come back! It is a lovely place where good people will always find their way! We recharged our batteries here and LOVED the food! Every evening I felt like my grandmother cooked for me! Maybe they don't do Michelin food but that's not what they advertise! It's simple, honest home made food! Thank you everybody working here for your hospitality and just keep up your good work and be proud of it, you'll always find customers! Helena and Vincent with our two border terriers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks Guys... our faith in humanity ( and more importantly in ourselves ) restored!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

They say location is everything, and certainly there aren't many alternatives if you are in Rosthwaite on the Coat to Coast or Cumbria Way. But the Royal Oak needs competition! The room was fine, the breakfast lovely, the hosts friendly, but let down by a very poor dinner. Others reviews that give only 1 or 2 stars mention the lack of option, in fact I didn't mind that too much, but I haven't eaten food like that since school dinners in the 1960s. Sorry, it has to be said. Just a little more effort on dinner and the customers would be much happier.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stravaiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Manager at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal you had here and compared it with 1960s school dinners. I never had roast turkey with all the trimmings and fresh fruit salad full of fresh berries when I was at school!
Two poor reviews one after the other certainly worries us but after checking with our guests who have been staying this last week we have had lovely comments and a hotel full of happy guests so although we do not want to dismiss your comments we are still confident of our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Whilst walking the coast to coast walk I had the misfortune to stay at the Royal Oak Hotel.
Having had a lovely days walk Iarrived at the hotel at 7.00 to be told the evening meal was at 7.30 and it was chicken and broccoli bake. We expressed surprise there was no choice and said we would like to freshen up so could we be a bit later. We were told dinner is at 7.30 "effectively take it or leave it" We had a shower and got to dinner at 7.35. First we had THIN vegetable soup (consomme with a few bits in ) Apparently home made certainly no self respecting food company would put this in a tin and expect to get any sales). Then the main course - chicken and broccoli bake- grey chicken with joint bits and ribs, no sign of any breast meat, glutenous wall paper paste like sauce, over cooked broccoli, frozen corn, watery overcooked courgette and unseasoned new potatoes. The sweet followed, meringues(dried out but apparently home cooked - I recommend they buy from Marks and Spencer next time) whipped cream and tinned or frozen raspberries. There was then cheese and biscuits which even they could not mess up.
When we complained in the morning about the meal I was told everyone else thought the meal was good and it was aimed at walkers. ( We are walkers by the way who have walked 1200 miles on national trails and the Royal Oak is one of the worst places we have ever stayed)

Then there was the room - complete with 1970's avocado bathroom suite and rusty mirror.
To be fair the breakfast was OK.
These people have no idea about customer service and are only in business because there is nowhere else to stay AVOID if possible

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tearoomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We are obviously very disappointed with your opinion of the Royal Oak but I would like to address a few points. Firstly you booked your accommodation through an agency and we know that they inform all guests that we provide a set meal which is served at 7.30pm and if people have special dietary requirements they should let us know in advance. Most walkers get here in plenty of time for dinner at 7.30 even if they have done the high route and those who are a little late appreciate that the food is freshly prepared to be eaten at 7.30pm. We have already changed our dinner time to 7.30pm during the coast to coast season to make it easier to get here in time.
I listened to your comments about the food when you checked out and disputed them with you then. A party of three other gentlemen had particularly sought me out that evening to tell me how much they had enjoyed their dinner and that they looked forward to visiting again perhaps with their wives so I accept that we were perhaps not what you were expecting but cannot agree with your comments......apart from the fact that Yes the sweetcorn was frozen! We had meringues again last night and was told that they were 'Meringues to die for' and when I told the guests about your comments they couldn't believe it!
We have been running a very successful hotel for many years with guests that return over and over again and how would that happen if we didn't have a high standard of customer service but we do realise that you can't please all of the people all of the time and are still disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the Royal Oak. As always we were given a warm and friendly welcome. They remembered that one of us does not like chicken and with a minimum of fuss provided an alternative, even producing a Cumberland sauce with little notice. They are dog friendly and don't mind muddy, wet gear. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: We like the annex rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixiesmum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews