We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had a twin room for two nights b&b in perfect weather so could make the most of the fabulous walking on the doorstep. The room itself was very clean, quiet and quite comfortable, good wardrobe space, but my mattress sagged a biit, the shower was hard to control and there was no TV in the room. The service was excellent however. We were welcomed with a complimentary cuppa and our host took extra trouble to provide a salad instead of bread in our packed lunches each day. Breakfast was well-cooked and low-fat but the portions could have been bigger. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We met some great people during our 3 day stay in this friendly, comfy inn. It's classy in an understated way that has obviously been lost on some. Selfishly that's a good thing, as they won't be back! Food was fab - best Bakewell Tart ever. We will be back with Annie & Wilf - thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColWil55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It's always interesting when there are discrepancies on Tripadvisor. Sometimes it's down to the hotel being inconsistent. Sometimes it's that you get a guest who's always hard to please. Sometimes it's simply that a person hasn't done their research and has booked the wrong place.

As one of the many, many 'regulars' at the Royal Oak, I actually felt personally upset at the two negative reviews posted recently, and feel they must be in the third category. To our family, and plenty of others, it's a very special place where there is always a friendly welcome, and to which we return again and again.

You won't find a 'corporate' experience here, though. There are elements that at first sight seem old-fashioned; quaint, even. The dinner gong. That set menu. The banishment of internet access to a back room, so that in the main lounges guests actually sit and talk to each other about their days on the fells.

Yet it isn't naively or unthinkingly time-warped. The Royal Oak knows what it is doing. It makes subtle changes when appropriate. It's a perfect place for people who love walking and can appreciate simple pleasures. It's friendly and laid-back, yet incredibly efficient, and totally fit for purpose. Most guests return year after year. It's almost a community.

Those regulars understand that in a small establishment, a set meal time and a set menu mean that good food can be cooked freshly. I've always found it wholesome and plentiful, and consider the lack of choice a small price to pay for avoiding mass-market cook-chill fare, which would be the gruesome alternative. It's not radical or nouvelle cuisine; go elsewhere if that's your only style of eating. Staff do adjust for individual allergies and preferences without any problem.

Helena B is completely right when she says that "Whoever doesn't like it doesn't have to come back!" The Royal Oak does have an idiosyncratic classiness, but perhaps it isn't for everyone. You have to 'get it'; you have to buy in to what is different and distinctive. Don't book if you want to choose from fifteen options direct from the depths of a freezer. Do your research, and understand and appreciate what you're experiencing.

In my opinion, the Royal Oak is a gem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilipASJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I cannot believe the negative reviews from a tiny handful of people. We have been staying at the Royal Oak since 1976 and love the place. It is not a boutique hotel, but a family run business in a fabulous valley. It caters for walkers (or retired walkers in our case!). It is completely honest in the way it describes itself and does not pretend to be anything different. It is friendly, comfortable and welcoming and the food is exactly what you need after a day outdoors. We have stayed in all kinds of hotels and enjoy the different experiences they offer, but the one that holds our heart is this one

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here recently whilst doing the Coast to Coast walk. We were a little bit apprehensive with regards to the set meal but in fact it was excellent. Our room was very comfortable and couldn't be faulted. The staff were very helpful towards the guests, nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We're here to help and enjoy running a friendly informal hotel - so we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned back from 3 night stay at this lovely hotel and reading those 2 poor ratings I have to have my go. Whoever doesn't like it doesn't have to come back! It is a lovely place where good people will always find their way! We recharged our batteries here and LOVED the food! Every evening I felt like my grandmother cooked for me! Maybe they don't do Michelin food but that's not what they advertise! It's simple, honest home made food! Thank you everybody working here for your hospitality and just keep up your good work and be proud of it, you'll always find customers! Helena and Vincent with our two border terriers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thanks Guys... our faith in humanity ( and more importantly in ourselves ) restored!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

They say location is everything, and certainly there aren't many alternatives if you are in Rosthwaite on the Coat to Coast or Cumbria Way. But the Royal Oak needs competition! The room was fine, the breakfast lovely, the hosts friendly, but let down by a very poor dinner. Others reviews that give only 1 or 2 stars mention the lack of option, in fact I didn't mind that too much, but I haven't eaten food like that since school dinners in the 1960s. Sorry, it has to be said. Just a little more effort on dinner and the customers would be much happier.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stravaiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N D, Manager at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal you had here and compared it with 1960s school dinners. I never had roast turkey with all the trimmings and fresh fruit salad full of fresh berries when I was at school!
Two poor reviews one after the other certainly worries us but after checking with our guests who have been staying this last week we have had lovely comments and a hotel full of happy guests so although we do not want to dismiss your comments we are still confident of our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosthwaite
0.0 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
832 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
999 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
455 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Rosthwaite, Keswick CA12 5XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range: £108 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Oak Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing