We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
161
74
38
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
74
38
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones other guests evening meal set menu coast to coast lake district small bar drying room soup dinner gong tv lounge bakewell tart old fashioned home made pudding rum butter blast from the past
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

My son and I stayed here on or coast to coast walk last week. First impressions were of faded elegance, but as we settled in we started to appreciate the charm of a place that seems to belong in another era. Having deposited our bags and hung our clothes in the drying room, we convened in the bar downstairs, where most of the other guests seemed to already be. At 7.30, the gong announced dinner, and we all filed through to the dining room, where we each were directed to our own table. There was no choice - we all had the same meal. Roast beef. The dining room had the feel of 'Fawlty Towers' (others have mentioned this in their reviews), but only to the extent that this illustrates the era that the hotel operates in, and definitely not the service, which was attentive and kind.
The wallpaper may be drooping in places, internet may not be available in every room, and TVs are not part of the bedroom furniture, but we loved this place as a reminder of how things used to be.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travellingdave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Me, my wife a friend and his wife stayed here for 2 nights during the bank holiday weekend. We checked in pretty late for the hotel standards around 8.45pm. The only place where we can get food is the bar next door (The Riverside Inn). We had our dinner there.

The hotel is pretty old, but it has preserved its country side qualities and thats what makes the stay very nice. The rooms are pretty cozy. The owner of the place stays just behind the property and is very friendly. She was very helpful thru out the stay, from suggestions of things to do to helping us with stuff for the room. Apparently this hotel sells out most of the time. We were pretty lucky to get this booking.

The hotel serves their traditional dinner at 7pm every night. It was a pretty good meal and we were all stuffed by the end of it. It is also very close to a number of hikes and we thoroughly enjoyed our hikes on 3 days. WiFi is available only in the TV room and there is no mobile network available here as well.

Very good stay if you are looking for a hotel with very little access to civilization. Good get away type place to stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms without a toilet, so you'll have to share a toilet. So make sure you are booking the right room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shakirmeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This is an older establishment in need of a renovation. Our room was clean, but needed a little updating. It was average size. The bathroom was large and had a tub for soaking or a shower. Although wifi was available , you had to walk outside the back door of the hotel and enter a "TV room" to get it.
The owner and staff were nice and helpful. The breakfast was good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vernon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is a hotel, not a pub (as the name Royal Oak suggests).
It is pleasantly quirky. Might not suit everyone. We arrived literally soaked through to the skin, having walked from Ennerdale Bridge on day 2 of the coast to coast. There was a drying room (which had its work cut out it was so full).
The decor throughout the hotel was very 70s (turquoise bathroom suite), but we had a bath, which was very welcome. The whole hotel is badly in need of a refurb.
Wifi was a problem - you have to exit the rear of the hotel and enter a games room to connect. There is a small bar, which was nice and it was a good opportunity to meet some of our fellow coast to coasters.
Summoned by the gong to the 7.30 set-menu dinner (soup, followed by cooked ham, potatoes dauphinoise and veg, then pudding and cheese - no choice but that was fine - vegetarians were catered for).
Very substantial packed lunch provided for the next day. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I was one of a party of 6 booked in for one night. We were well received by the staff, tea and cake on arrival. I was expecting to share a twin room but had to go into a three-bed room. That was fine. Hot bath was very welcome. Excellent three course dinner was well served. Breakfast was just right. The staff were interested in us but not overbearing. Met some interesting fellow guests.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grahamsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews