We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
161
74
38
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
74
38
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones other guests evening meal set menu coast to coast lake district small bar drying room soup dinner gong tv lounge bakewell tart old fashioned home made pudding rum butter blast from the past
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This is very good value hotel and although there is no choice for the evening meal both breakfast and the 4 course evening meal are very good quality, plentiful and the food is wholesome. The staff are friendly, the location for walking in Borrowdale valley and areas is perfect and becauise the Royal Oak located next to the Scafell hotel you can use the riverside bar/pub there which is just next door. My only point would be that the décor is probably a little bit tired but besides that the rooms are clean and have good facilities and the beds are comfortbale. I will be back in future. Also a note its also on the coast to coast route.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Excellent location, really well run, very clean, nice food. Drying room for wet kit. Cosy residents bar, huge packed lunches. Traditional Lakeland hotel in the heart of Borrowdale. An ideal place to stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KatesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Stayed here with our teenage grandson for three nights.We loved the way this hotel retains a traditional Lakeland ambience,not a spa or fine dining in sight, although the food was home made and delicious.It was a delight to stay in this charming, old fashioned and historic place.We had a spacious and very comfortable family room across the courtyard with views of the river,great to return to after some quite wet days on the mountains.The staff were brilliant, friendly and hospitable, our every need catered for.The Royal Oak is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

This place is an efficient well oiled machine- our welcome was warm and brisk with our bags already waiting in our room. The accommodation was spacious enough and it had a bath - a definite bonus. The decor is in keeping with the age and style of the building a sort of Sanderson meets Cath Kidston but comfortable and i suppose genuine shabby chic. There is good attention to detail eg you can get a jug of fresh milk from the bar and milk is left in a cool boxes on the landing at night so none of your little plastic sachets with chemical milk substitute. Dinner is a set menu with a veggie alternative. It may not be to everyones liking but each course was excellent quality. Roast pork with all the trimmings, generous vegetables and a cheese course was welcome as a change from the usual pub style fare. The dessert of Bakewell tart was delicious and very filling. Breakfast was not so good- no fresh fruit and weak coffee. The tea was real leaf though and potato cakes made a nice addition to the cooked breakfast. Packed lunch disappointing - poor quality bread and cheese, after the cheese at dinner time had raised expectations. It was a nice touch to print out the weather forecast for the benefit of walkers.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GlinysW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuala D, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay but glad that you enjoyed it overall. We do often have fresh fruit like melon for breakfast and I am sorry it was not available when you stayed. We have improved the brown bread in the packed lunches but when we changed to similar white bread we were told it was too thick so changed back again! As you can imagine it is very difficult to please everyone all of the time!
If you pass through again you can always ask for a cafetiere of coffee so it can be made stronger.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a comfortable stay here- a welcome relief after a day of walking. There isn't really anything in Rosthwaite beyond it's 3 hotels, so you are limited to your accommodation. We had a friendly welcome and were shown our room which had a shower ensuite and a comfortable bed. The decor across the hotel is dated, a very traditional style. As part of the room booking, we were obliged to order the 3 course set dinner option charged at £16 per head. All the guests were shown to the dining room for a tasty roast beef dinner. This was quite a formal occasion! The hotel had a bar and large communal sitting room. Breakfast the next morning was enjoyable but lacked the variety of some of the other B&Bs- excellent coffee though!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews