We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced...!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chwaka Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chwaka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chwaka
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way overpriced...!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very disappointing experience. Have been to Zanzibar twice before but CHWAKA area was no good. Disappointing beach because of the tide the Walter was gone for 7-8 hours during daytime so absolutely no chance of swimming nor snorkelling. Furthermore the sand was full of debris and broken tiles so watch out!!! Food was no good especiallly the breakfast was bad. Waiters very nice but sooooo inexperienced and untrained - didnt have a clue. Except Noah in the bar - he was a true gem :-) Very poor selection of food and beverages - every night the waiter started out telling us what wasnt available and that was quite a lot. Pool was disgusting and wasnt fixed and cleaned for the first 3-4 days of our stay. Poolbar NOT existing so dont judge from the photos. Nice boattrip to nearby Paradise Beach but the lunch was inedible. We had to wait 3 days to have the doorlock changed. Manager Ajay was nice and serviceminded but needs help to run the resort...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindacj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aj_yadav, Owner at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback. We would sincerely like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay. We are looking on the points mentioned by you and improving ourselves.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    78
    40
    27
    19
See reviews for
34
119
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed with my husband 3 nights before Christmas. There are no beach, only swimming pool. Fortunately we have option to go for swimming to opposite beach - "Paradise island". It was great place and also food ( grilled meat) was excellent. It was by extra money.
Main issue in this resort is communication between management and employees. Employees are not trained at all - they don't understand English, they have problems with calculations. Service in restaurant took too many hours, but food was almost OK, but anything special.
But there were palmtrees, what we didn't see in any other places in different beaches of Zanzibar. The personal was very keen, but as they didn't have got any training, they couldn't serve you very well.
The price and service are not in accordance.

Room Tip: Choose seaside room, not bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aj_yadav, Manager at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Ivi S

Thank you for the feedback. We do understand your concern and are working on the training of the staff.

Once again we would like to thank you for the visit to the resort.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bissau, Guinea-Bissau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I spent four nights in this hotel just a few days ago. It was a big disappointment. There is no beach, it is a dirty place including rooms. I would classify it more as backpacker place rather than 300 usd per night per room, this is what it costed. Swimming pool is very small, restaurant nothing special. It looks so different in reality than on management pictures, to come so far to Zanzibar and stay in this kind of place that you have to escape during the day is a huge disappointment. There are so many good paces on Zanzibar that it is important to choose well and not to be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aj_yadav, Owner at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Wawka

Thank you for the feedback. But you had no problems until the time of departure and rate was confirmed at the time of check-in. You never highlighted anything during your stay only at the point of check-out while settling the bill.
Also your friends were appreciative of the place whom you came to join later.
The rate was high to you because we had requested a minimum of 10 nights for the period. However as you were staying for 5 nights only, so your rate was doubled for the each day. Eventually you checked-out early as you wanted to stay in Stone Town for the last night and we didn't charged you for the same.
Also you got a bunch of your friends for the wonderful new year eve party, which was not charged at all for an entrance fee of USD 100 per person( you had 4 friends).

Also you joined your friends who had no issues at all.

Regards

Ajay Yadav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chwaka hotels

Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I hoped to spend a relaxing 3 nights after hiking and walking safaris in Tanzania.
Didn't happen!
No beach, the bay is tidal so sea swimming not an option even when tide in.
In view of this thought we'd try the "paradise" boat trip to another beach, but transport didn't show up and duty manager suggested we could walk the couple of miles to the village to catch the boat (tide was out). Didn't happen!
Rubbish lying around everywhere, including broken tiles/construction debris in sanded areas.
For almost a full day a stack of used glasses, empty bottles and used linen were left stacked outside our room, none of which were from our room, and only removed when I complained to reception. When house keeping went around in morning the left a trail of rubbish/plastic in flower beds. No hot or even warm water in our room at any time during stay.
Dinner time was a game of " tell me what you don't have first" with the waiters. Waiters although friendly seemed to have no training and were unable to describe items on the menu. When we inquired what one item was the waiter disappeared into the kitchen for ten minutes to consult with "chef" on return he read back to us exactly what was written on the menu with no further explanation. At breakfast we pointed out the coffee pot was empty, the waiter dissagreed and proceeded to show us how to pour the coffee. i.e. depressing the button on top and pouring the coffee through his fingers into my wifes cup. He seemed surprised that she didn't want to drink it.
The place is generally run down, badly positioned, and very badly run.
A total rip-off for $250+ per night.
We had booked for three nights but bailed out after two and returned to Stone town so our last experience in Tanzania/Zanzibar would at least be a happy one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aj_yadav, Owner at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear David C

At the onset i would sincerely like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Thank you for highlighting the issues, we are already working on the same.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I together with our two daughters ( age 5 and 10) spent seven nights at Chwaka. The infrastructure and the resort itself is beautiful, however there are areas that need improvement. For seven nights we were shown the same menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner, there is no co ordination between the waiters and the kitchen.You would order a chicken curry rice and salad, the curry will come first ten minutes later the rice another ten minutes the salad, the food takes far too long to be brought to the table more than an hour at times. The wrong order would be brought to the table and sending it back would mean waiting for another hour for the correct order. We would have appreciated at least a sea food night to experience the variety of sea food available in the area it is Zanzibar after all.The resort doesn't offer any activities, it's eat, drink, sleep and swim at the pool since this beach is not suitable for swimming, really there's no beach here, it's better to go outside the resort for excursions such as the spice farm otherwise you will die of boredom. Thank you to Noah and Lucky who excelled in customer service they really entertained the children and thank you to the house keeping ladies who kept our rooms spic and span. We will be returning to Zanzibar with friends in the near future but not at this resort, there are many areas that need attention.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noksy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aj_yadav, Owner at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Noksy2013

We would like to thank you for choosing Chwaka Bay Resort for your stay.
At onset i would like to thank you for appreciating the resort as such. We have taken your concern regarding the service of the food very seriously. However the delay in your food order happened twice during your stay when the order the not taken correctly by our staff, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused and are already working on the same that it is not repeated.
Our restaurant has a ala-carte menu with choices from Local, curries, indian, continental and seafood. During your stay due to the less occupancy, breakfast was served ala-carte with options of eggs, cornflakes, fruits, juices(option of 2 changed daily), pancakes , potatoes, beans, vegetables, mushrooms etc...
We do understand that during low tides the water recedes for 2 kms from here, however this is a phenomenon throughout zanzibar (except for 2 places Stone Town & Kendwa). Also when the tide is high, the water is warm and good for swimming. We also offer a boat trip to paradise beach which is white sand at a surcharge of USD 25 per person including lunch. The same was offered to you.
The resort aims to provide the guest with serene and peaceful atmosphere where they can relax and we have an excursion desk which can arrange for your any trips at a very competitive price.
Thank you once again for highlighting the efficiency of our staff (Noah & Lucky), the compliments have been already passed onto them.
We would like to once again thank you for the valuable feedback.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I'm a young mom with a stressful job and just needed to get away from the daily bustle of everyday life. Chwaka bay resort was the perfect place to do just that. The resort was stunning! The rooms clean,service was above board. Ajay has really done an excellent job with his staff. The food was good and a good variety to choose from,my fav dish was the chicken pilau!
If you are looking to get away,choose this resort. I travelled alone and initially was very cautious but staying at this resort has allowed me to experience the real Zanzibar,from the staff,to the clean rooms and the beautiful peace and serenity I so needed

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aj_yadav, Owner at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you once again for choosing chwaka bay resort for your stay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the friendliness of the staff and peacefulness around the resort.
We would look forward to welcoming you to Chwaka Bay Resort again in the future.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dodoma, Tanzania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

The location was beautiful and in a peaceful location. Our room looked out on to the ocean and was only a few meters from the beach. The room was clean and well maintained (it had a queen bed, chairs and a fridge). The staff were very helpful and attentive. An excellent breakfast was included in the price of the room. The food for lunch and dinner was good quality and there was lots of choices but we felt it was a little overpriced for what it was compared with what we would pay on the mainland. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jontymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aj_yadav, Owner at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Jontymorgan

Thank you once again for choosing Chwaka Bay Resort for your stay. We are glad that your enjoyed the stay with us especially the view from the rooms and spaciousness in them as each room is 36 square meter with a private balcony.
We do take concern of the prices in the restaurant, however very difficult to control them as the supplies in Zanzibar comes majorly from Dar which adds to the purchasing cost of the same.
However we are still trying our level best to reduce the cost of logistics and pass on the same to the guest.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we would look forward to welcoming you back to the chwaka bay resort.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chwaka
15.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
15.3 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
14.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chwaka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chwaka Bay Resort

Property: Chwaka Bay Resort
Address: Village Chwaka, Chwaka, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Chwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chwaka Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene & Peaceful Chwaka Bay Resort(Chwaka Beach Resort) is located on the central east coast of Zanzibar on the Chwaka Beach near the fishing village of Chwaka and next to the Jozani National Park.Here under the Gentle sways of Coconut palms towering over immaculate garden Zanzibar influence reigns supreme. It offers everything from palm-fringed, white-sand beaches and clear waters to gentle winds and an abundance of sunshine. Elevate your senses with a refreshing swim in the sea, hunt for the sea shells on the beach, soak up nurturing sunshine or enjoy one of many water sports activities. The resort seeks to provide with outstanding services in a warm and friendly manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chwaka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chwaka Bay Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing