We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wilson family visit to Hawkinge Battle of Britian Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kent Battle of Britain Museum

Kent Battle of Britain Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Hawkinge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wilson family visit to Hawkinge Battle of Britian Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great museum for a family visit - good value for money and many thousands of interesting items and displays linked to the Spitfire and Hurricanes used during the Battle of Britain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    88
    25
    4
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Well kept garden and model of airman reading the names of memorial. So grateful to all the brave men who fought for our freedon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just round the corner from where we live and I am ashamed to say never been till today.
What a truly hidden gem..
Does not look much from the front but behind the gate and drive lies a huge display of wartime memories, carefully displayed and very moving stories behind most of the items.
You slowly start to recognise names and items as you walk from hanger to hanger, to share in the stories of the men and women behind the heroics of the war.
There are many planes and vehicles on show but there is so much more, examples of uniforms, weapons from both sides, stories of lost souls, epic escapes and life in the war.
The place needs time spent to read the articles and to become lost in the amazing events attached to these recovered items.
This was part of Hawkinge Airfeild in WW11 and still feels part of that era...
Ok so must tell you there are a few rules, no cameras, no mobile phones, no notepads and they actually ask you to leave the phones with them, but they do store them uniquely and safely.
To some this may seem strange, but you know what, it actually means people stop and look, they read the boards and talk to each other. It was so lovely not to bump into some idiot walking along texting, or listen to someone's inane phone conversation, or even hear some stupid ringtone going off.
It actually helped to enhance the visit and make you feel part of the whole place, maybe many more places should be brave enough to do this, actually saw one couple turned away as they were not prepared to give up their phones for the few hours they would be there, so sad we are so attached to something so disruptive at times.
We were there a lot longer than expected, nearly 4 hours and it could have been much longer too.. This did include a 25 minute stop for a wonderful Churchill high tea , of sandwich, scone with homemade jam and cream, followed by homemade cake and a huge pot of tea, all on traditional china, very well priced and delicious too..
So I would say go, everyone, no matter wether you like the war, or thinks its lots of plane on display, or it's a guy thing, I think you will be surprised, it's a strangely appealing and heart warming look into what sacrifices were made for our very freedom to allow us to wander around with those damn mobile phones :-)
So much more than someone's dusty old collection we often see, you will be surprised, it's wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveemma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine tribute to The Few”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Anyone with an interest in WW2 aviation and the Battle of Britain in particular will find this Museum an amazing place to visit.
The rules about cameras are fair enough,although I think they are missing some good potential revenue by not selling a book detailing the exhibits.
Despite the small size of the site,there is an awful lot to see,and if you are really interested allow at least half a day.
The staff were pleasant and only someone with an attitude problem would have a problem with them.
Such a shame the whole airfield couldn't have been saved for the nation,if you want to see what it looked like before it was built on watch the film Battle of Britain as many scenes were filmed here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dedication to the commemoration of those who fought in the Battle of Britain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This museum is a must see for those interested in aviation in WW2 or specifically the B of B.

This was my forth vist in ten years. Every time I come here there is something new to see or I just find more that I missed on previous occasions. The guys are great to talk to and David has an incredible knowledge of the museum and the B of B.

Ths museum gets no government funding and still has displays of an incredibly high standard. The link between the displays and the men who had been a part of them is amazing in the detail. It is truly moving to read about those men.

The museum is evolving and hopefully the dreams of the volunteers and David for the museum will come true. These people deserve our support and I encourage you to make a small donation in addition to your entrance fee.

Do not be put off by some reviews you may see regarding cameras and other requirements that some may see as difficult. Please accept that these requirements are necessary and are no more ownerious than many other museums I have been in.

Robin Mawon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kent Battle of Britain Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kent Battle of Britain Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing